We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mix of tastes and value”
Review of Japonessa Sushi

Japonessa Sushi
Reserve with OpenTable
Japonessa Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 4,110 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $41
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Union
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great mix of tastes and value”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This spring a business colleague took a group of eight of us to this restaurant for dinner. The dinner was a great success, largely because of the food, location, and great service we received. When so many restaurants in downtown Seattle are out of reach because of high prices we really appreciated an affordable, yet delicious and comfortable venue. The chef here must have great fun mixing spicy, Latin flavors with sushi rolls; I know I had fun eating them. The restaurant had a great sake list and a knowledgeable server who was able to walk me through the various offerings and make a recommendation that perfectly matched my tastes. The servers accommodated our long, rambling group dinner with smiles. I will definitely make this a stop on my next trip to Seattle.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vikingtraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    193
    48
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, MA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It didn't knock me out.”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I chose this based on Open Table recommendation and proximity to our hotel. I wouldn't recommend it or return. The food was okay. Everything was sort of the same (spicy sushi). The plates came on top of one another without a break. The noodle dish we ordered as a main dish was just noodles with a smoky flavor, nothing special. The bill was well over $100 for 2 people and not worth it. The atmosphere was dark but not romantic at all. The Open Table reviews in my view were not accurate and the restaurant did not meet our expectations.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank judyzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
177 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing sushi and amazing price”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I love the sushi here, particularly the Spicy rolls and the value for money is excellent. Good local beer and the buzz in this place is terrific. Always my first stop after landing at SeaTac on a Sunday afternoon.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FussyDave12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Happy with Recommendation”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I asked a business man downtown what he would suggest for a happy hour and he
immediately suggested this and gave us walking directions. We were pleased to be
able to sit outside being that it was sunny out. My husband asked the man next to us
what sushi he was eating and was told the 'Skin On Skin'. We ordered that, the Calamari
and the Side Salad. A Sopporo and a glass of Pinio Grigio with those created a WOW moment!
Would have given a 5 rating, but had to wait for chopsticks and napkins after the food was
served.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharleneLP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok rolls, not inventive”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've been to Japonessa a couple times. The rolls are pretty good, but if you look at the ingredients they are just a remix of the same items over and over. At least half of the rolls include cilantro, which I do not like so it limited my options. Another time we had a voucher for a set dinner menu. The entrees were bland and over cooked. My suggestion is to stick with the sushi and rolls.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K2843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japonessa Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Japonessa Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing