We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sushi and amazing price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Japonessa Sushi

Japonessa Sushi
Reserve with OpenTable
Japonessa Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 4,062 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $41
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Union
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
167 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing sushi and amazing price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I love the sushi here, particularly the Spicy rolls and the value for money is excellent. Good local beer and the buzz in this place is terrific. Always my first stop after landing at SeaTac on a Sunday afternoon.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FussyDave12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    187
    44
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Happy with Recommendation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I asked a business man downtown what he would suggest for a happy hour and he
immediately suggested this and gave us walking directions. We were pleased to be
able to sit outside being that it was sunny out. My husband asked the man next to us
what sushi he was eating and was told the 'Skin On Skin'. We ordered that, the Calamari
and the Side Salad. A Sopporo and a glass of Pinio Grigio with those created a WOW moment!
Would have given a 5 rating, but had to wait for chopsticks and napkins after the food was
served.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharleneLP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok rolls, not inventive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've been to Japonessa a couple times. The rolls are pretty good, but if you look at the ingredients they are just a remix of the same items over and over. At least half of the rolls include cilantro, which I do not like so it limited my options. Another time we had a voucher for a set dinner menu. The entrees were bland and over cooked. My suggestion is to stick with the sushi and rolls.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K2843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Sushi Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

While visiting in Seattle we walked in to this restaurant shortly after noon on a Sunday, without a reservation. We were surprised to see that it was already almost full, so were happy that a table was found for our party of 6. (The table was reserved for 2 pm so they offered it to us on the condition that we had to leave by then . . . no problem.) We ordered several dishes with a variety of sashimi and sushi. The sashimi was excellent - fresh, fresh, fresh! Not only was presentation awesome, but the rolls were all absolutely delicious. Our daughter is vegetarian, and she too was delighted with her veggie and tofu selections. Because we were able to order from the Happy Hour menu, the prices were extremely reasonable. This is one of the best sushi restaurants we've eaten at, and we are definitely going to make this a regular stop on our future Seattle trips!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IamLindyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Good Ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

My husband and I dined here while on vacation in Seattle. I was nervous about whether we would like it or not based on the fact that it is on OpenTable. However, we had a dynamite dinner here and have since recommended the restaurant to some of our local friends. We had an assortment of sashimi and signature rolls and we enjoyed each of our choices. The Eight Spice Tuna Tataki was especially delicious and we ended up with a second order. The rolls may seem expensive at first glance, but they are enormous (probably twice the size of what I would consider a typical roll). I have been to Seattle several times and am very happy that I ventured to a new location and hope to be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marasis111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japonessa Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Japonessa Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing