We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE most delicious brats!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Uli's Famous Sausage

Uli's Famous Sausage
Ranked #189 of 4,057 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
320 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“THE most delicious brats!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We have had brats from one end of the country to the other.......Uli's has the most delicious brats EVER!! If you are in Seattle or visiting Seattle - DO NOT MISS htese delicious brats!!
Holy Cow!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kbamomofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    30
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
284 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Best sausage in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

These were our staples for cook-in breakfasts at The Maple (also a Seattle pick for vacation rentals). We brought two kinds of sausages home (to Spokane), after eating Uli’s sausage for five days straight. Their sausages are incredible, with lots of varieties.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokompton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you want to be a restaurant, act like one.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I'm going to keep this short, namely because we never got a chance to try the food.

Dropped into Uli's for the first time last weekend after reading some good reviews here and elsewhere. At the time, a young man was helping the occasional customer at the sausage case; the pub/restaurant area had 10-12 people in it, half of whom were already served. The Market itself was packed as usual, so I understand that waitstaff can be stretched thin; however, we sat for fifteen minutes while two female servers offered neither a "Hello" nor an acknowledgement of our presence.

In the restaurant world, margins are far thinner than those of other businesses. Apparently the eatery-side of Uli's is doing well enough that they want me to go the extra mile (or fifteen feet) to give them my money for their sausages and bier. Unfortunately, things don't usually work that way...but then again, Seattle/Meattle is sorely lacking in decent German food eateries (both Vancouver & Portland put this town to shame). Thus, maybe poor customer service is tolerated in this particular situation because there isn't anybody else down the street offering the same quality AND decent customer service.

Perhaps Uli and his staff ought to visit Germany again soon and see how restaurant hospitality is properly done (and I know, I'm married to a Kraut).

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank UberTravelBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
196 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Meh.... Nothing special....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Tried this restaurant based on the reviews here. Maybe we are blessed in Vancouver when it comes to gourmet sausages, but we found these to be nothing really special. Service was spotty (the young lady was great but the older gentlemen was a tad grumpy). Considering that it is located in a tourist trap (ie. Pikes Place Market), $18.95 for 5 links with a couple of small sides is fair value though...

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattiasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious sausage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

I got to try a sausage sampler as part of a food tour. The different sausages were all delicious with distinct flavors. The mustards on the table are a nice addition, and the sauerkraut was great on the side.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank aggiedoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uli's Famous Sausage also viewed

 

Been to Uli's Famous Sausage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing