We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Green Space with Art Installations & Firemen Memorial” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Park

Occidental Park
Ranked #131 of 435 things to do in Seattle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This urban park is best known for its four totem poles carved by local artist Duane Pasco.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
890 reviews
320 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Lovely Green Space with Art Installations & Firemen Memorial”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a beautiful place this could be if only the homeless & those on drugs/grog were cared for.
Even though it was midday I did not stay for long. I would never visit after 4 pm. I'd feel unsafe. Such a shame.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    13
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Save the park-take a derelict home”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

If you look at the web site PioneerSquare.org, you'll notice several of the outdoor pictures, particularly in Occidental Park, are looking up. That's because the ground has a generous covering of derelicts. Not everywhere, just at the base or on top of the statues, totems, or buildings you might want to take a picture of. Having been to Seattle Center earlier in the day (Space Needle, museums, parks, imax theater) it seems to me the City has signed a treaty with the bums, giving them Pioneer Square, especially Occidental Park, with the agreement they stay out of Seattle Center. It's a shame, because there are some neat historical places and art work. I would have taken a better picture of the statues of individual fireman, at work fighting a fire, but what do you say, "Could you please get off the back of this statue so I can take a picture,....and could you move your shopping cart with all your earthly possessions, and could you pick up that bags that wouldn't fit in the shopping cart,.....and could you take your friends out of the shot too,....and could you hose off the crud that's growing around you",.....??? We just left. I'd leave it to reading about the area on a website.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Onceinawhile720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The flavor of Pioneer Square centers around Occidental Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you want to see a variety of people, art, and international shops and restaurants, this is the place to go. Only a few short blocks fromSeattle's waterfront, a great place to launch the cultural walks through the Pioneer Square area. I like the art and furniture galleries, music scene, and foods found here best.

Helpful?
Thank BothellPhotoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very pretty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a very pretty park in a beautiful area. They have a life-size chess set that you can move around; it was fun.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Francine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dirty and dangerous”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Occidental Park could and should be beautiful. The buildings that line one side of it are lovely. It's who hangs out there that's the problem. It's a gathering place for the homeless, the mentally ill, and the creepy. Don't go, and if you do, don't let your kids run around--I've seen syringes lying on the ground there. Seattle is generally a beautiful city, but this is not a good part of it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Occidental Park also viewed

 

Been to Occidental Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing