We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupid”

Starbucks 1st & Pike
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Pre-Cruise Seattle Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$65.98*
and up
Seattle City Tour
Ranked #1 of 216 Nightlife in Seattle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See where it all started: America's most popular coffeehouse is Seattle's biggest claim to fame.
Quarryville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stupid”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Take a picture of the outside of the store and move on. I only went in because Piroshky Piroshky (delicious!) doesn't have coffee and it wasn't too busy. It's the same mccoffee as the starbucks in the rest areas on the nj turnpike (and everywhere else) with the added benefit of large groups of midwestern tourists taking in the "experience". The service was slow, and it was the only place that I visited on my entire trip that I was itching to leave. Go to one of the legit coffee shops instead.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Weegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    611
    619
    594
    118
    47
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best employees of any coffee shop”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

OK, so you've read the other reviews. It's true: this original Starbucks serves the same coffee as all the other Starbucks stores, and there are no pastries. Fine.

Here's what they've got: unique for-sale items with the original logo on them.
And, even better, the friendliest and most competent Starbucks employees EVER. Seriously. The best. Sure there was a line, but it moved super-quickly. The banjo-player outside the front door had us toe-tapping right along. It was a lovely way to start the day!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmama15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Just another Starbucks.”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We walked by and took a picture, but it really wasn't any different from any of the many Starbucks a block away (sidenote - why so many Starbucks in this city? Do you really need one every block?). If you're in the area (right across the street from Pike Place Market) then I'd stop by, but I wouldn't go out of my way to see it.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank stefnicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Walk by and take a picture.”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

I love my morning Starbucks as much as the next girl, but the orignal site isn't worth the hassle. The line comes out the door and wraps around the corner. There is another Starbucks a block away, buy your coffee there and walk by the original and take a picture.

If you absolutely must go inside, the line seem to die down around late lunchtime.

Helpful?
Thank Jillap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not that great!”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Not a must see. They don't even have snacks at this one. =) If you're in the area at Pike's and such, couldn't hurt to see but this wouldn't be on my high list!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank smartlabelprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starbucks 1st & Pike also viewed

 

Been to Starbucks 1st & Pike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing