We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Dining Experience”
Review of Sutra - CLOSED

Sutra
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Highly regarded new addition to the Seattle dining scene: http://www.seattlepi.com/food/383564_rest17.html
Dupont, Washington
Level Contributor
133 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was a special anniversary dinner. We arrived late (which is probably not the way to go to a restaurant with one seating a night). We were led outside, around the block, to an old house with a surfboard on the porch. Next time we will arrive early we thought. Inside the house were five groups seated around three tables. They called it the romantic section, and it was certainly quieter and romantic, but next time I would like to try sitting in the main room where the cooking is being done. I think they have recently switched from two seatings a night to one and have just opened up a second room to allow for more guests. When Colin came in and explained some of the history of the house and that his kids were born here, it made everything right.

Clearly, this place is about more than food. Colin is the reason that the experience is so special. He came in a number of times, including at the beginning and end, to explain the courses and to bring a sense of welcoming and thanks. There are five courses and we included the wine pairings. The food is a work of art. It is beautifully presented. The combinations of ingredients and sauces is sensational. The courses included a beet soup, cauliflower with pesto, tamale with mole sauce, coconut ice-cream with cacao and black lava salt. It is fantastic food whether you are vegetarian or not. As a reviewer said earlier, you are filled, but not overly stuffed as can be the case at many restaurants.

Calling this a restaurant does not seem accurate. You have a chef friend that has invited a group of friends over for dinner. Colin puts his heart and soul into the food. Enjoy the experience. We will return again (on time).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ProfLonghair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    5
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Vegetarian fine dining!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Heard great things about Sutra and was not disappointed! We got a seat at the bar, which was great because we got to see the chef at work, and he really takes a passion in what he does. Set seating time, and unique dinner experience. The Chef explains the ingredients at the beginning of the meal, and everyone eats at the same time. Very unique experience. Food was very creative, fresh and well timed. Great flavour and balance, perfectly cooked. Fine dining but a casual and laid back vibe, so ppl in jeans were mixing with those in fancy clothing and it all seemed fine. Staff were friendly. Only thing that could be improved upon is a bit better drink service as we had to ask to order more each time, although the meals can be done with wine or non alcohol pairings which it seemed most people were doing so the servers were busy getting the pairings out and also probably didn't really realise we were just ordering off of the menu. Will definitely go back next time we are in Seattle and highly recommend it to anyone interested in vegetarian or vegan food, unique experiences and fresh, local foods! Make sure to make a reservation as it fills up!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBugger83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
166 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and a Unique Dining Experience”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

If you're open to new food sensations where the food is literally SENSATIONAL, then you really need to experience SUTRA. Vegan or not, great food appeals to everyone. I loved the set meal time, the communal seating with fellow diners and the way the chef explains everything he prepared for the evenings event. Five courses for a fairly reasonable fee. We didn't do the drink pairings, but another couple at our table did and said it was well worth adding either the alcohol or non-alcoholic beverages they serve with each course. We loved every minute of it. Who knew stinging nettle miso soup could be eaten and would be so good? It's a foodie's ultimate adventure in the unusual. Not big on glam and atmosphere, but small and cozy with such a friendly vibe is really refreshing in itself.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 10sChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
608 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“#2 heading to #1”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

If I could eat this way every day I would be vegan! My 2nd time here and it only gets better.

You would never know the food was vegan. From cheese to ice cream. What a selection!

Not sure wich is better the wine pairing or non alcoholic pairing.

This is still one of the best meals I have had

Helpful?
2 Thank dan459us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
169 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“a bit like eating in a friend's home”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

if that friend is a terrific cook. Four friends enjoyed a multicourse Saturday early seating dinner, starting with soup and salad, moving on to polenta, then risotto, and then a pear/ice cream dessert. Everything was complex, with interesting local ingredients and lovely presentations. Wine was reasonably priced (we shared a bottle of $36 Washington red, described by our server as having an "uplift" at the end, like a Canadian accent). Servings were generous, service was friendly. I wish I lived in Seattle so I could go back often.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abcpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing