We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vegan farm-to-table so good that you don't know it's vegan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sutra - CLOSED

Sutra
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Highly regarded new addition to the Seattle dining scene: http://www.seattlepi.com/food/383564_rest17.html
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Vegan farm-to-table so good that you don't know it's vegan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The creativity behind the food at Sutra is amazing. With only 1 seating per night (2 on weekends) and no menu, you get whatever the chef feels like making. But you don't even care that you don't get a selection. The food is extremely fresh and full of varied flavors. You also have the choice of an wine pairing or a nonalcoholic drink pairing (which I had). Whether you are vegan or carnivore, the food is so good you will be coming back for more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    5
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of a kind dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I coaxed my significant other, who is adamantly non-vegetarian to eat here. I knew I would love it but he wasn't so sure and figured he would be hungry after the meal. Not so! We were both pleasantly satiated, but not FULL. This is a good thing. Portion sizes are ridiculous in restaurants normally. Everything was beautifully presented, incredibly creative, and tasty. I got the alcoholic pairing and he got the non-alcoholic paring. I might actually recommend the non-alcoholic pairing because it's so inventive! I tried all his drinks and they were so good. We sat at the kitchen bar and I'm so glad we did. We got to chat with the staff and was able to see all the plates being prepared. I even got a recipe for one of their soups. The only negative, this place is pricey.. But you get what you pay for. Locally sourced, organic foods are expensive to procure; they have to pass that cost on & make a little profit ya know?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank quidrivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Vegan Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Food was very eclectic and the presentation was fantastic. My only reason in giving a 3 star to this restaurant was the portion size. It was a five course meal and I was hungry at the end of dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranju K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puget Sound
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Loved this little unexpected find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Sitting at the bar, with a view into the kitchen and the chef to entertain us with explanations of all the divine dishes we were going to have that evening was not only delightful but made the meal even more enjoyable. This was an anniversary dinner, and I was expecting to be disappointed when we were sat at the bar rather than a table, but the venue is so small that every table was needed for larger parties, and, as it turned out, the evening would have lost a great deal of its sparkle without the kitchen view experience. That said, the food was out of this world, and it's actually a fabulous break to have someone else decide the menu and take that little bit of confusion out of ones hands when the food is so good. Will return again and again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ZGSkiGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Farm to Table”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Sutra makes no excuses. It doesn't need to. The Vegan cuisine can compete with any carnivore restaurant. Don't expect to find any fake anything. The owners know that inspired, fresh food holds the interest of the most avid food lover.

The restaurant does seatings, so plan to work around their schedule. The non-alcoholic pairings were delightful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AzTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing