We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“vegan delish!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sutra - CLOSED

Sutra
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Highly regarded new addition to the Seattle dining scene: http://www.seattlepi.com/food/383564_rest17.html
washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“vegan delish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

creative, delicious food, 2nd visit and once again superb! sat at the bar and watched the food being made amazing! this pace is very small and they make it work and work well!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sis0876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    5
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent vegan restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Although I am non- vegan, I love the vegan food prepared by the chef of this restaurant. The food is fresh, very tasty. The service is warm. The owner has spent time to answer our questions regarding what makes him to have this fantastic idea to open this vegan restaurant, etc.

I highly commend this restaurant

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank montrealvivianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great idea,nice folks,interesting food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I ate at Sutra recently. The people who work there are all lovely,friendly and warm. They invite questions about their food,preparation,sourcing etc... I sat at the counter and really enjoyed watching them prepare each course. We all ate at the same time,and had 5 small courses but at the end of the meal,I was entirely stuffed. A wee bit uncomfortable actually,possibly from some unusual food combinations my body isn't accustomed to. It all looked quite beautiful,and tasted interesting. They go so far as to offer non alcoholic accompaniments with each course. The total meal was $40 plus the n-a drinks $13. I think it was a great value and all locally sourced produce creatively prepared. They change their menu every 2 weeks to allow for different foraged items to ignite the chef's creativity and to keep everyone fresh I suppose. SUTRA is on N.45th ave. On a major transit line so easy to get there from just about anywhere in Seattle if you don't drive. Do go,it's quite fun if you sit by the counter and watch them prepare it all! The Sutra folks operate a yoga studio attached to the restaurant and I hear the classes are really good too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Foodyguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Have gone here twice and just loved it. Everything about it is one of kind. Totally worth the money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My first fine dinning experience - amazing food, cozy atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Small place, feels like a private gathering the way they handle the service from start to end with the opening prayer and describing every course. Very cozy. If you are a small party you could be seated with others on a big table so if that's a problem make sure you point it out while making reservation.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCuri0usOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing