We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel on a beautiful property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talaris Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talaris Conference Center
Ranked #9 of 29 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
1 review
“Great hotel on a beautiful property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Found Talaris and booked it on a whim on a personal trip. The staff was very hospitable – even when arriving late at night the night manager walked me across the property to my building. The property was beautiful and it was great waking up, stepping outside and seeing the lake. Breakfast was delicious as well!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    57
    19
    14
    4
See reviews for
76
40
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

3.5 stars, actually. The pros do outweigh the cons. The setting is just beautiful; if you have a car and your purpose in Seattle doesn't revolve around being downtown it will feel more homey than a hotel. It is super-close to U Village, Seattle's best shopping. Also, I arrived late at night and was welcomed by the friendliest desk clerk ever.
But I did have trouble finding the entrance in pitch black and the website didn't help (fyi: SE corner of the property, on 41st St!). I also wished for better walkway lighting. The room was really clean but apart from new linens, it did feel dated and a little rustic. Smelled stale, too. If I was on a group retreat I would be thrilled with these accommodations, but it felt strange staying here by myself. Despite a down comforter and full carpeting, I just could not feel cozy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srs-seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a really beautiful property - and I would really like to give it a higher score - it is older but really very nice -EXCEPT for the mattress! I think this was the original mattress from when the place was constructed - perhaps it was their way of making sure my wife and I were intimate - yes we kept rolling together all night - nice the first time - but at some point you want to get some sleep. Really how much does it cost to purchase a new mattress? Other than that - grounds are great - staff friendly - very cool to have a pair of eagles nesting above the pond - breakfast was great - but for god sake - buy some new mattresses - especially in B-2

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlawrence53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is the second time that I stayed at the Talaris . The first time was about a year ago in September when I needed a place to stay for the weekend while assisting my daughter and fellow UDUB roommates move into a house near campus. I found the Talaris while searching through your site . The grounds are gorgeous and the conference center Is built on 18 acres land nestled in a beautiful neighborhood minutes walk away from husky stadium . I had a great time then and recently (nov8-nov11,2013) I again stayed at Talaris for a weekend visit with my daughter . This time I was with my wife and son . We were promised a room with with two double beds for the three of us however when we checked in , we were advised that we were being upgraded to a suite since we were three people. What we got was nothing short of amazing ! not only a double room with two double beds - clean , lots of closet space, TV, strong internet ,great size bathroom with all the usual amenities , but we also opened Into a nice size dining room ,huge sunken lounge with fire place and TV and provided wood logs, large kitchen with microwave, all cutlery and crockery,dishwasher and new Keurig coffee brewer. The lounge also had a couch with a pull out bed . My daughter who we went to visit was so impressed that she stayed over one night since we had so much space! The autumn colors were spectacular and the setting for breakfast overlooking the pond,fountain and grounds was amazing not to mention that there is a bald eagle family living in one of the huge trees. It felt like we were visiting a national park lodge . Sure the building is not new (built 40 odd years ago ) but the space , setting and amenities make it so special and unique , not to mention exactly 4 minutes drive to the UDUB campus ,Greek and student housing and homes.We absolutely loved the Talaris and I was hesitant to post this review because it is THE BEST KEPT SECRET IN SEATTLE and U-village area but felt it only fair to share .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I came to Seattle for business, but did not want to stay in the bustle of downtown. The Talaris Conference Center is a lush and beautiful property nestled in a residential area. Autumn was such an awesome time there and I enjoyed the vibrant colors and views of the pond. Ideal for jogging and enjoying a cozy room and relaxing if you are away for business. The staff was SO nice and helpful, both upon arrival and checkout. There are restaurants and shops within walking distance, which is great. The breakfast buffet is absolutely awesome - many options with great presentation and staffing AND 'feel' with music and a nice view.

I stayed in the 'Lodge' building and had a great experience. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Lodge, and it was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willow927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed for one week, and were very happy with the Talaris. - the competent & warm staff, the room and the gorgeous setting. The website pictures almost do justice, but there's more to this large property, when you walk the paths.

The lighting in the rooms is adequate, but dim. If you need to prep for photos, bring your own make-up light. Or, just forget it, and enjoy your stay here. The rooms are basic, understated, in concert with the woodsy theme. Very quiet at night, comfortable bed, good water pressure and heat in the shower, intelligent concierges, delightful breakfast lady.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PasaPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalarisCC, Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear guest-

Sounds like a restful week-long "nesting" indeed!

Thanks for being our guest and for your very well written review--direct, matter of fact, and very much appreciated!

You are welcome back to the nest anytime.

Regards,

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

For a tranquil stay in Seattle, 30 mins from the City center but in beautiful surroundings at very reasonable rates with a great breakfast included,Talaris would be hard to beat. The rooms are large and comfortable but due to the wooded setting they are in the shade and adequate lighting is difficult.

The ground are well kept and a joy to be in and nearby is the urban horticulture research garden of the University of Washington and the wildness and swamp area around Lake Union also forms a wonderful area for walks.

The staff are universally helpful and friendly - especially the breakfast room host, Norma for whom nothing is too much trouble and her morning waffles will be much missed by any departing guest.

Room Tip: Most rooms are accessed by stairs and the chalets are on slopes but disabled access is possible to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalarisCC, Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest-

Wow! We need to hire you on our Marketing team!!

We really appreciate all the wonderful things you had to say about us.

Norma's is a valued team member and a wonderful face to greet our guests every morning--and she makes some great waffles! Thanks for recognizing her.

Regards,

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#60 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University District
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talaris Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talaris Conference Center

Property: Talaris Conference Center
Address: 4000 NE 41st St, Seattle, WA 98105-5428
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Talaris Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talaris Conference Center is a retreat, event and meeting destination that combines a distinctively Northwest environment with metropolitan technology and amenities, is located on 18-acres in a natural, park-like setting near the University of Washington in Seattle. Talaris is just four blocks from University Village and within walking distance of neighborhood restaurants, cafes and jogging trails. With 33 guestrooms, two large conference rooms, multiple breakout rooms for meetings and events. This wooded oasis is an ideal destination for intimate training workshops, meetings, retreats and other events for up to 150 people. And if business or personal travel brings you to the University District, we are the perfect alternative to a traditional hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Talaris Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talaris Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing