We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the middle of town madness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Talaris Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 27 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Talaris Conference Centre last week. Let me tell you about our experience! Very well situated with a central location neighbour to the University of Washington.

Not only the room was nice, well decorated and comfortable but the landscape on the premises was very impressive. The breakfast were so completed and well organized every mornings. An "oasis" is seriously an understatement!!!

And what to say about the staff?!?!? They were so nice, always willing to help out in anyway possible. So knowledgeable about the city and how to go about to visit the town! Always smiling when we would go in to ask questions.

Hopefully there will be room again for my next Seattle visit!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalarisCC, Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear guest-

All I can write is "WOW"!!

You did an amazing job of capturing why Talaris is such a special place. Thank you for telling the world and for sharing your time with us. We welcome you back any time.

Regards,

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 226 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel was very clean and well kept, the rooms were quiet. The Keurig in the rooms was a treat. The property is absolutely beautiful; we saw an eagle's nest while we walked the grounds. The view from the breakfast room is gorgeous and relaxing and the breakfast was delicious; a very wide spread for a Continental breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was very affordable for the area. Very close to Seattle Children's if you are wondering. I was very pleased with what I received for my $.

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking, be sure to let them know when you book a room; because some of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atcfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalarisCC, Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear guest-

Thank you very much for your kind review! I am so glad you got to enjoy our resident eagles while relaxing at breakfast on the waterfront!

Please come see us again.

Regards,

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Needed a hotel to stay at for my son's upcoming surgery at Children's Hospital. This place was so utterly gross, we left after one night at went elsewhere. Huge spider on wall, gnats all over, the tiny room we were in only had 2 double beds, and there were 4 of us. Our bed was 3' from the door. The a/c was weak, buttons missing on the thermostat, the bathroom had bacteria growing in the grout, weird towel bar in an inconvenient spot in the shower, no microwave, only 1 K-cup of regular coffee (for 4 people?), no directional signage in parking lot to show where to park or check in, not enough electrical outlets to plug in phone chargers, bathroom door wouldn't even latch closed, cobwebs around door hinges, ripped carpet....should I go on? This place needed remodeling a long time ago. Never coming back. They required a 72 hour cancellation policy, and by the time we arrived it was too late for us...We travel quite a lot, and have stayed in many hotels....this was just creepy. Two of us got flea bites on our ankles within a few minutes of arriving in our room.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Cleanliness
Thank Starbuckaroogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalarisCC, Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest-

I am very sorry to hear of your experience at Talaris. I apologize that your room was not up to our standard in terms of cleanliness and appearance.

Clearly we could have and should have done better. I would love to speak with you directly to attempt to resolve your concerns if possible-please see my contact information below.

Thank you for your feedback, it only helps us improve.

Regards,

Alan
206-268-7000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

In the midst of a hectic family event, we were able to retreat to our room in the midst of huge, old trees, vast expanses of lawn, ponds with fountains as if we were miles away from the traffic and noise of the city. The calm and serenity was so appreciated as well as the courtesy and genuine hospitality of the staff. Talaris has more the feel of a B&B than a conference center. Although if I were hosting a multi-day meeting, workshop etc, this would be "the Place"!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Laurel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalarisCC, Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear guest-

Thank you for your amazing review!

I'm sorry to hear about your hectic family event-but glad we could be part of the solution!

Come back anytime-for an event or just for some overnight relaxation. We hope to see you soon!

Regards,

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

As some other reviewers have already mentioned, I almost don't want to tell anyone about this place and instead keep it as my little secret. Upon arrival, we couldn't believe how gorgeous the property was - acres of greenery just a couple of minutes drive from downtown Seattle. Something like 31 units on 18 acres of land - with fountains and trees everywhere. They allow dogs (and only charge a flat fee instead of a nightly fee) which was great. The place was clean; staff were friendly; and surroundings were unmatched - and the price was very reasonable as well. Far cheaper than anywhere downtown where they'll also charge you at least 30 bucks a night to park your car (Talaris has free parking). Anyway, I can't say enough good things about this place - we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 00Amber00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalarisCC, Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear guest-

Thank you so much for telling everyone about your secret!

Free parking, low-priced dog friendly, and free breakfast? That's us!

Thanks for your kind words-we can't wait to have you back.

Regards,

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This place was exceptional and a gem to find. I would stay again in a heartbeat. We went for a couples vacation but this is the perfent place for a conference, course and many people stay while they are having treatment at the university or childrens hospitals.
Breakfast was wonderful and the grounds are so peaceful. The staff is fab.

Room Tip: Check in advance as they do not have king rooms, only queens and two beds in the rooms. We booked wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovetotravel1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalarisCC, Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear guest-

Thank you so much for your recent visit and review.

I am glad you were able to enjoy the serenity of the grounds and feel like you've escaped even though your right in town!

We look forward to having you back with us.

Regards,

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Talaris is a clean, well-equipped, very cost effective property on a beautiful 18-acre campus. This conference center hotel is perfect for a business traveler, unless you are a literal or figurative prince or princess.

I had business in West Seattle, where hotel space is extremely limited. An associate lives near Laurelhurst by the UW campus. I had no need to stay downtown, nor could I find anything that didn’t look immediately questionable for under $300 per night. Talaris had good reviews, and it was under $150 so I booked and decided to car pool with him across the city.

The staff was always very friendly. The room was slightly out of date, but VERY clean. I am picky about gross rooms, missed vacuum spots, questionable bedding, etc. Talaris had none of that. The continental breakfast was appropriate. Realistically, this is a very clean 2-star hotel. I gave them 5-stars because they did it right, all-around, and I intend to stay here next time I visit our office.

The campus reminds me of a high-end summer camp, kind of on a hill with a handful of numbered buildings, each with 6-8 rooms. I did not use the conference center rooms at all, but there does appear to be some large meeting spaces. The buildings surround a few ponds, there are giant trees on site, and a big grassy lawn. One morning I walked 5 minutes and cut through a nature trail to the UW campus, where the new track was open so I took a few laps. In the evening, I walked 20 yards just past the Talaris entrance to a string of restaurants and shops. Talaris negotiated day passes with a gym that is right next door as well. I did not have a car, and did not have any problems getting what I needed due to the location of nearby businesses.

My only hesitation with giving a five-star review is 100% selfish. I don’t want others to know the secret and bomb this place, because I’m coming back and I want to pay the same rates.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WindAndClouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalarisCC, Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear guest-

Thank you so much for your over-the-top review of Talaris!

We love the "high end summer camp"--I think that's going to be our next Marketing strategy!

Thanks so much for being our guest and being so complimentary to the team here. It is very much appreciated!

Regards,

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University District
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 104 in Seattle
1,387 reviews
Broadway / Capitol Hill
Bacon Mansion
Bacon Mansion
#12 of 27 in Seattle
145 reviews
Greenlake Guest House
#1 of 27 in Seattle
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talaris Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talaris Conference Center

Address: 4000 NE 41st St, Seattle, WA 98105-5428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range: $130 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Talaris Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talaris Conference Center is a retreat, event and meeting destination that combines a distinctively Northwest environment with metropolitan technology and amenities, is located on 18-acres in a natural, park-like setting near the University of Washington in Seattle. Talaris is just four blocks from University Village and within walking distance of neighborhood restaurants, cafes and jogging trails. With 33 guestrooms, two large conference rooms, multiple breakout rooms for meetings and events. This wooded oasis is an ideal destination for intimate training workshops, meetings, retreats and other events for up to 150 people. And if business or personal travel brings you to the University District, we are the perfect alternative to a traditional hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Talaris Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talaris Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing