We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Urban Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Talaris Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Relaxing Urban Oasis”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Both of my children graduated from UW, but I never knew this place existed!. It is a great alternative to the expense, parking challenges, and congestion of staying downtown. And you can be in the heart of south Lake Union in 10 minutes (traffic dependent, of course) via 45th St to Roosevelt Way to Eastlake Ave.

The grounds are absolutely beautiful. 10+ acres of typical northwest parklike surroundings with a beautiful lawn, huge mature trees, pond, fountain, and picnic tables. Checkin was a little difficult to find, but spotted it at the main conference building on the second drive-round. The concierge, Bob was very welcoming. My room was small but vaulted ceiling made it fee spacious. Nicely updated and decorated. No frills, yet very nice and comfortable. Spotlessly clean, comfy bed, nice linens, brand-new shower curtain, Keurig coffee maker. The rooms could use a little more light for those dreary northwest winter/spring days; maybe putting higher wattage florescent bulbs in the fixtures would help. The continental breakfast was basic, but had a good variety of selections. Served in the lovely dining room with large picture windows overlooking the pond and fountain.

The location is across the street from Children's Hospital and within walking distance of some nice restaurants. I will definately stay here again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilouSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalarisCC, Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest-

Thank you so much for your kind review! I am glad you enjoyed the park-like setting, picnic tables, and relaxing by the ponds at breakfast.

Thank you for your feedback as well--we appreciate it as it only helps us improve.

Looking forward to your return.

Regards,

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    58
    19
    16
    7
See reviews for
80
41
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My company is business partners with the children's hospital and many of my trips to Seattle I've just stayed in the city. I was informed about the Talaris by a staff member at the hospital and won't stay anywhere else when in town. After working all day and being able to come back to their beautiful campus with no hassle parking, delightful staff, and all the sounds and sights of nature helped me unwind so quickly. A walk around their serene grounds and I almost forgot I was there on business. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSsss68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalarisCC, Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear guest-

I'm so glad you enjoyed your retreat in the city!

Even if you've had a hard day, a walk around our 18 acres of paradise can set your mind at ease...

We look forward to having you back--thanks so much for your kind words on our property and our team!

Regards,

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stopped here for one night and highly recommend it as a wonderful alternative to an expensive downtown Seattle hotel room + $45 parking rate. The Talaris Conference Center is hidden in a residential neighborhood, near UW and Childrens Hospital. It's an oasis of calm with lovely grounds and walking paths. The Concierge, Bob, set the tone, with his warm smile and welcoming words when we checked-in. It's a Conference Center, so if you don't expect large rooms and big hotel amenities, you will be happy here. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Parking is free and the buffet breakfast a nice bonus, served in a lovely dining hall. There's even a Keurig coffeemaker in your room. The price is extremely reasonable for the quality. All the staff we encountered were very pleasant and helpful. I'd be happy to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ORsightseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

For a budget motel this place can not be beat. Bed was very comfortable. I prefer a stronger shower. The rain style shower had reasonable pressure. Refrigerator in room was good to have. They could have used a better mirror for putting on make-up, but this is Seattle after all and how many people wear make-up? The grounds are gorgeous and very low keyed, Northwest style definitely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalarisCC, Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear guest-

Thank you so much for being our guest and giving us such useful feedback. I am so glad that you found great value in our property--we welcome you back anytime!

Regards,

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Being close to the UW Medical Center, we often schedule this location for our conferences. The Operations Manger is always hands on, and really goes the extra mile to accommadate our every request. It's scenic outside, and tastefuly decorated inside as well. The staff are always attention and really pay attention to detail.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctorveg_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalarisCC, Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest-

Thank you very much for your kind words about our team and our property. I am so glad to hear that we took good care of you while you were with us. Please come again!

Regards,

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach Peninsula, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great location, close to UW Medical Center, shopping, restaurants. Location is quiet and calming. Staff was very helpful and kind. The grounds are great for taking our terrier pup on walks. We've stayed there twice. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSMatriarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalarisCC, Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear guest-

Thank you for being our guest and taking advantage of all that Talaris has to offer. I am so glad that our motto of "minutes from the city, miles from distraction" made your stay so great.

We look forward to having you and your puppy back with us again!

Regards,

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacific northwest
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at Talaris Center during a short trip for a performance at the University of Washington. The location of the facility is terrific if you want to be near the university and the rooms are very well-priced. We found the room to be very acceptable, if nothing truly special. The breakfast is fine much better than at many hotels. The environment is spectacular, with a duck pond, and very spacious wooded grounds. If your focus is downtown Seattle, there might be better options, but for near the U, this is great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodi489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalarisCC, General Manager at Talaris Conference Center, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest-

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review and description of our 18 acres of paradise near University of Washington!

It was a pleasure to have you-we look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#62 of 101 in Seattle
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
University Motel Suites
#71 of 101 in Seattle
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talaris Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talaris Conference Center

Property: Talaris Conference Center
Address: 4000 NE 41st St, Seattle, WA 98105-5428
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Talaris Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talaris Conference Center is a retreat, event and meeting destination that combines a distinctively Northwest environment with metropolitan technology and amenities, is located on 18-acres in a natural, park-like setting near the University of Washington in Seattle. Talaris is just four blocks from University Village and within walking distance of neighborhood restaurants, cafes and jogging trails. With 33 guestrooms, two large conference rooms, multiple breakout rooms for meetings and events. This wooded oasis is an ideal destination for intimate training workshops, meetings, retreats and other events for up to 150 people. And if business or personal travel brings you to the University District, we are the perfect alternative to a traditional hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Talaris Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talaris Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing