We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret in Seattle! Do not miss this place HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Talaris Conference Center
Ranked #9 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret in Seattle! Do not miss this place HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed at Talaris for our son's UW graduation. Here are the positive experiences and reasons we selected Talaris.
- able to reserve for just 1 night
- proximity to UW
- gorgeous grounds!
- VALUE! You will not find a larger, cleaner, nicer room in Seattle unless you stay at a $$$$ property
- continental breakfast plus
- comfortable linens and bed
- SUPER QUIET locale! No freeway or university noise

We are travelers on a budget and appreciated everything this great place offered.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer area of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nwLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    58
    19
    16
    7
See reviews for
79
41
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We travelled with our dog and loved having beautiful open green spaces for him to exercise in, as Seattle seems to be a very fenced in dog friendly type of city. It was right near the conference we were attending and minutes from the university. The city was 15 minutes away, but I5 made it easy for us to be dropped off in which every part of the city we preferred. for a country landscape and setting admist a city, this is a nice spot

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIobal_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We had family that came to Seattle for the Husky/Husker Game in September. I looked for accommodations where they would be comfortable, the price would be reasonable and they would be close to the stadium. At the end of their stay I asked what they thought about the lodging. These were their comments:

- How did we get so lucky? This place is fabulous

¨ I love the way the rooms all open up and you can go from one to the other – not at
all like a regular hotel where you are stuck in one room

¨ When you are in a hotel one room becomes the “party room” – isn’t it great that they
have the common area for visiting and hanging out

¨ Mom – why haven’t we ever stayed here before? This is awesome!

¨ I’m never telling my friends about this place – it will always be full (They actually will
brag about it when they get back so no worriesJ)

¨ I can’t believe the open space outside it’s just like a park

¨ The walk to the stadium was perfect – we could have fun and not drive

¨ I don’t want to leave!!!!

¨ That Andrew is so wonderful – do you know that he actually walked us to the
location and then came back to check a couple of times to see if we had everything
we needed – what hotel would do that??

¨ Bob was so nice when we went to set up the welcome basket – he just seemed
like family right off the bat

Once this place is discovered you're going to have a hard tim getting in!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaM35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Talaris is like an oasis in the middle of a huge city. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful. The staff was excellent. Kevin the front desk person went out of his way to find us a taxi when the taxi couldn't find us. The continental breakfast was superb and the General Manager went out of his way to make us feel at home. The staff at Talaris are a fine example of the high standards shown at Columbia Hospitality Properties.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dijaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

My stay at Talaris over Labor Day was due to an unusua situation.

Imagine this: you've planned your vacation/holiday to the letter, you think. All letters of confirmation, printed. All flight details, sorted out.

Then, the day before you're due in Seattle (after a few idyllic days on San Juan Island), you get a voice mail message from a rather odd-sounding B&B manager, saying she's canceling your reservation because she didn't receive a check (huh?). She had your legit credit card number.

So, it's Labor Day weekend in Seattle. Bumbershoot. You're SOL.

I was at Lakedale's lodge desk, and they were present for my freakout.

So they kindly said, you know we actually have a sister property in Seattle? It's a conference center, so I think they may be able to accommodate you."

It wasn't walking distance to downtown Seattle. There were closed-off roads which made it tougher to get around. It wasn't the neighborhood I wanted to be in...but....

It worked out and I can't say enough about how lovely I was treated by the staff that weekend. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emm_Dash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Our group traveled there for a business meeting. Some guests stayed overnight. Many of them had trouble with bugs (flying and crawling) in their room, moldy smell due to lack of use, and toilets that were not functioning properly (leaking &, overflowing).

The grounds are absolutley beatifully lanscaped and nesteled in a wood area, hence the bugs.

Meeting rooms offered the most amazing views and the catered lunches and dinner were awesome.

I would recommend this again for a business meeting or day retreat. Not for overnight or long term stay.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 100 in Seattle
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
University Motel Suites
#72 of 100 in Seattle
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talaris Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talaris Conference Center

Property: Talaris Conference Center
Address: 4000 NE 41st St, Seattle, WA 98105-5428
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Talaris Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talaris Conference Center is a retreat, event and meeting destination that combines a distinctively Northwest environment with metropolitan technology and amenities, is located on 18-acres in a natural, park-like setting near the University of Washington in Seattle. Talaris is just four blocks from University Village and within walking distance of neighborhood restaurants, cafes and jogging trails. With 33 guestrooms, two large conference rooms, multiple breakout rooms for meetings and events. This wooded oasis is an ideal destination for intimate training workshops, meetings, retreats and other events for up to 150 people. And if business or personal travel brings you to the University District, we are the perfect alternative to a traditional hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Talaris Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talaris Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing