We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New hotel...decent price...ok value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
West USA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“New hotel...decent price...ok value”
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The Hyatt opened in June. The room rates are reasonable for Seattle. We paid $179 a night. The hotel is new, and as a result is clean and modern. The breakfast in the morning was fine. Many kinds of juice including orange, vegetable, tomato and several others. Basic continental breakfast with cereal, toast and fruit. Location is good near many good restaurants. Close to Space Needle and a 30 minute walk to Pike's market. Lot's of families stay there. The front desk had a very young staff. Never saw a manager the four days we were there. The staff ranged from helpful and welcoming to cold and indifferent. We were on the 4th floor so there was some street noise especially Saturday night when there we people partying loudly below our window. If you can get a higher floor I would recommend it. The rooms are extremely functional with desks, refrigerators, comfortable beds, a divider between the bed and sectional and a large flat screen tv that swiveled between the bed area and sectional. Toiletries consisted of shampoo, conditioner and soap. No body lotion was available...we asked. This was pretty limited for this type of hotel. Maid service was very good...room was cleaned in the am so no issues there. Overall a decent value...that could be improved with more dedicated management and a few upgrades.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Western View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    463
    139
    37
    24
See reviews for
548
411
63
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

The hotel was very nice. Almost brand new, great rooms-very clean and modern. Service (what there was of it) was very good & helpful. Elena at the front desk was spectacular with recommendations for restaurants and shopping. While they say they are "downtown", it is a hike to get to Nordstrom and my other favorite shopping stores. Also, had to walk through some rather sketchy areas to get to the Monorail or take taxis to restaurants and other areas.
The continental breakfast was very poorly done. Few choices and they couldn't keep up with the demand, especially on the weekend. Ran out of silverware and food.
It is a good value place for families, but for those who are used to more upscale travel options, it was just ok.
I would recommend it (based on the rooms and service) to friends who are not as fussy as we are.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bri_nate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceSEA, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
I'd like to thank you for taking the time to review our property and for giving us the opportunity to host you as a guest. I would also like to address the two issues with which you were not satisfied: the location and the breakfast. With regards to our breakfast, this has been a learning experience. We opened at the height of the season and staffing levels were unpredictable for the first 3 months. I apologize for any inconvenience and I think if you returned, you would see a definite improvement. Our location is centralized, and while not in the downtown financial corridor, it is considered "downtown" by most standards. We have a shuttle that travels in a one mile radius, and the monorail is not only a fun, but efficient way to get to the shopping area you described. If you do get the opportunity to return, try out our shopping package available October through December! Thanks again for you time and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Ohio
Level Contributor
222 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

I was totally ignored when I walked into this property. Three younger couples who walked in after me were shown how to check in at the Kiosk - I was invisible even though I was trying to get attention - Apparently old people are unwanted at this property. The staff gravitates toward younger clientele.


Coffee was scarce at breakfast. Furniture was dusty. Noisy both nights. Could not use the kiosk to get a parking permit. Felt ignored again at the bar trying to get a drink. Large trash bins were left at the elevators on my floor. Carpet was peeling off the wall near the floor in the hallway. Feel I could have received far greater value at even a Best Western! I was glad to check out and be on my way.

This property is fairly new, but with all its apparent problems I wonder how long it will remain open.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWOhioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2010

As a retired Travel agent who has stayed in hotels all overy the world, I'd say the hotel itself is nice, the view & location to Space Needle very nice and close. However, the indoor pool was COLD, dark and stuff was floating on the bottom of it-dirty.
The rooms were small, the bathroom lighting was very poor-dark and the bathroom door barely cleared the bed when opened. This hotel just opened this summer and has some quirks for sure. One of the elevators was broke, the a.m. breakfast was chaotic, no clean plates, silverware, or tables. Had to ask for them. Then paid cash upon check out for the room and parking, then to find out that they charged my card the same day for the $10 parking!! I had to call the hotel to have the charge taken off. So be careful of being double-charged!!! Not a very family friendly hotel. Would be great for a business traveler.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel201017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR, USA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I'm a Hyatt fan - many happy stays at many Hyatts over many years. Stayed at a Hyatt Place in Boise recently and had a great stay. This Seattle stay was one of my few significant Hyatt disappointments. Part of the problem is the location: it is apparently a hot spot for large family gatherings headed to the Seattle Center, so there are mobs of people and lots of noise. (Room noise was not a problem, however.) One of two elevators was out, so most rides were with a full crew of people who had to wait too long and weren't happy. The complimentary breakfast was a complete disaster: we arrived 30 minutes before it ended and there was, literally, no food except for a few grapefruit slices (the other two fruits bowls were empty), half a bowl of cereal (the other five cereal dispensers were completely empty), and some milk. Bagels appeared after about five minutes. Dirty dishes on lots of tables because the area for leaving them was full. I then talked to someone who appeared to be in charge who gave me a list of reasons why the situation was such a mess ("things get really busy in the last half hour" and "we only opened a month ago" etc.) , but nothing changed except that he filled some cereal dispensers. Parking is incredibly confusing: guests end up in the parking garage explaining to each other how to get in and out. And the room closet is a complete mystery: it is tiny, you can't really reach half of it, and it is not even as deep as a normal hanger, so you can't slide the door closed without turning the hanging clothes sideways. (No exaggeration.) The air conditioner is about 1 1/2 feet from the bottom end of the bed and you can't divert the air flow. (Good luck figuring out the thermostat, too.) We highly recommend the Hyatt Regency Bellevue -- not downtown Seattle, but always excellent service and comfort with prices comparable to this Hyatt Place and lower than the other two Seattle Hyatts. .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hcajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

What a nice place! Nice clean. bright rooms, good internet and breakfast. We walked to Pikes Place Market and Capitol Hill easily. A great location. Secure $10 a night parking. We definitely will return!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yachtchefKeyLargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We decided to stay at Hyatt Place because it was a lot cheaper the the other 2 hyatt hotels. We knew right away why it was so cheap, because it automaticly gives you 1 king bed but we needed 2 queen so we emailed them and asked for a room with 2 queen beds like a month before! Then when we checked in the lady told us that you have a 1 king and a pull out bed then we showed here the email printed out and she said that there was no 2 queen beds left!!!So we took the 1 king room!!!The lady gave us FREE parking because of what happened and when we got to our room you could totaly see the Space Needle!!! The night's sleep was sooooo nosie the fire engines all night long!!! The comp. breakfast was ok not to much to choose from if you wanted some eggs or bacon you had to pay!!!! Well it was very close to the Space Needle plus it hade a FREE computer center plus a snack bar but you had to pay there!!!! Over all it was a pretty good for a 1 night's stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canada024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House Seattle/Downtown
0.1 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Seattle Downtown
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
0.2 mi away
Hotel FIVE - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Address: 110 6th Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-5002
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Lake Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#25 Family Hotel in Seattle
#35 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing