We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Modern Convenience for a Great Stay in Seattle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Ranked #25 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Modern Convenience for a Great Stay in Seattle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown was our stay for the night before catching a shuttle to Vancouver at a nearby hotel. The check-in was quick and easy and the service very friendly. We utilized the free shuttle bus to take us to our dinner location and loved the night views of the Space Needle outside the front entrance. The room was spacious with modern amenities including a nice sitting area to log-in and watch tv. There are quick items available for purchase or take a walk across the street to Walgreens. The complimentary breakfast was well-rounded and a great start to our day. Overall, a great stay!

Room Tip: Request a high-level room to get away from street traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tskinn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    400
    116
    31
    16
See reviews for
487
340
50
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We did a lot of research before selecting Hyatt Place. Our first thought was the water front but so glad we chose this location. It was more quiet and so close to the Space Needle, Museums the Duck tour and walking distance to Jazz Alley for a show. The free shuttle within a mile was fantastic. We even got in one last early morning trip down to Pikes Place Market before our flight. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was great. Hot, freshly cooked eggs and sausage etc. Impressed with the dining ware. Most free breakfast is served on foam plates with plastic forks and spoons. Coffee and other hots drinks were available in several locations through out the lobby area. Rooms were large and comfortable and very clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Be sure to visit the Chihuly Glass Museum. Best of Seattle sites.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debmike83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Hyatt Place Seattle is a modern hotel located downtown Seattle, five blocks from the Space Needle and Seattle Center. Great location, friendly staff, impeccably clean throughout and has alot to offer. The room was very comfortable with modern decor, soft bedding and a oh-so-comfortable bed. Complimentary breakfast is self-service in the breakfast room with a nice variety of hot/cold breakfast items. Plenty of seating and even an outdoor patio area. The small indoor pool was refreshing after a long day out and about in Seattle. A small workout area is right off the pool area. They even offer a computer room in the lobby with complimentary computers and printers. Here you will also find mini-restaurant cards, many with free appetizer coupons or the "gallery host" has sample menus and good recommendations.

They offer complimentary shuttle van pick-up/drop-off service within a one mile radius of the hotel. The shuttle was perfect and made our trip to Seattle even more pleasant. A simple phone call away when we wanted to return to the hotel after dinner or sightseeing. The one mile radius covers most popular areas in the downtown Seattle area, including Pikes Place Market, the original Starbucks, Seattle Center, shopping, and Space Needle to name a few. The hotel suggested having the shuttle drop us off at the "Light-Rail" terminal and taking the $2.50 train into the airport for our return home. As long as you can carry and manage your own luggage on the train, it was more pleasant and easier than any of our taxi rides. The Light-rail had many stops and was convenient (and affordable) to get anywhere outside the hotel shuttle parameters. Depending where you want to go, Seattle has a short Monorail train too. The hotel was very efficient in holding our luggage for us when we arrived very early prior to check-in. They simply gave us a baggage claim ticket for the number of bags we checked and we were off sight-seeing in this wonderful city! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Even on the top 9th floor we experienced traffic noise throughout the night. Nice view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IXLR842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Upon entering the hotel we were greeted by Clint. Clint was super helpful and very friendly. Our room was fabulous! Matt, who also works the front desk with Clint went out of his way to help us find a Starbucks. Both Matt and Clint made our stay even better due to their helpfulness.

On another note, the breakfast at Hyatt place was fantastic! Having celiacs disease, I usually eat cereal I bring with me. But at this hotel, they had "safe" real scrambled eggs and fabulous fresh fruit. For a person who can eat wheat, there was French toast, English muffins, pancakes, and much more.

The Hyatt Place hotel in Seattle is truly a home away from home!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dee dee l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Having stayed at plenty of Hyatt Places around the US, I wasn't all that wowed by this one. From the get go we were obviously not in the right place going on a cruise and staying around Seattle for a Post Cruise stay. Comments were abounding by the staff because of the number of bags we had. First off I thought this was a hotel and a hospitality business, not a place to be critical of your guests choice of number of bags. For the record the wife packs a lot!!!! She comes from a long long line of over packers!!! Ha Ha

The room was standard Hyatt Place room with small small bathroom. The AC works well froze us out of the room practically. The next day is where we had somewhat of a problem, again with the bags. I would like to point out though as a travel agency owner and agent, and a previous Bell Captain and Bellman for 600+ room hotels, I was disappointed in that this property had the bellman doing other duties besides being a bellman. When you hire a Bellman he's a person that is the first and last image of the hotel. When our first impression was that of Chaos checking in and the bellman was busy running off delivering towels and keys to guest rooms while we stood there waiting for him it was frustrating. When he finally showed up he seemed very overworked, again with other duties that should be handled by another staff member not a Bellman.

The food was good we ordered for lunch. The room was better than average and clean.

The next morning we called down explaining that we have a large number of bags and we needed a large vehicle for a taxi to go to the port. We didn't want to utilize the shuttle for our own personal reasons. Again no bellman but a houseman with no bellcarts because the bellman is off running keys and what not, rather than dealing with handling guest luggage. Isn't that after all what a bellman is for? They handle luggage and logistics for guests stay basically the ambassador of the hotel. This hotel lacks in management philosophies that foster a good guest impression. Seems they just want to get the guests in and out no matter how it's done. Anyways the bellman wasn't available. So a houseman shows up with a cart for bed linens to put our suitcases in and wheels that out to the front. Where Drum Roll please the following vehicle is waiting for our 6 bags and 2 people..... A TOYOTA PRIUS..... A freaking toyota prius with a very rude driver. I can fit all those bags in this car. Really? I would love to see that, he looked puzzled and said fine and got back in his car. Went inside and asked for a bigger cab. I was told and I will quote this. "They call a cab and request a Large Cab, but can't guarantee that a large one will show up. Two phone calls and 3 prius later finally a crown vic shows up and we are on our way.

Manager guy or someone who acted like he was a manager came out to explain that they have no control over cabs. Common sense will tell you that when spending 15 days in Seattle and 7 of those are on a Alaska Cruise and you have large number of bags you order a van or large vehicle. But I guess common sense isn't so common anymore......

This is a good hotel if you are just cruising in and cruising out and are only looking for an average hotel for your overnight stay pre cruise. They are sold out every Saturday and Sunday or so they say so competition is stiff for cabs and shuttle service. $7.00 per person for a shuttle is avg, and again we would have taken it but as I'm allergic to cigarette smoke and you can't possibly tell passengers not to reek of cigarette smoke we just prefered a private vehicle. Overall the staff was indifferent at best but accommodating to needs while inside the hotel.

I wouldn't stay here again simply because I wasn't really impressed with the hotel, and found that the bellman couldn't be a bellman. They need to invest in staff to deal with logistics but let the bellman deal with luggage and assisting guests, not running keys and other duties. Again a Bellman is a bellman not a houseman, housekeeper, key runner, baker, bathroom cleaner. If you wanted them to be that then hire someone to do those things. Can't blame the Bellman, just feel sorry for him cause he's going to starve unless the hotel management changes their position.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OCALAFLORIDATRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

What a pleasure to stay at this hotel, A real gem and great value. Staff at reception were outstanding- hello Kevin.Very close to Space Needle A good selection of restaurants/fast food in vicinity.
Rooms are quite large with a huge shower area.TV is large screen.
Room lacks info on hotel facilities. Great breakfast selection which is included in tariff.

One downside which may effect light sleepers is the street noise which is beyond control of hotel .Only way could be fixed is by double glazing. Would be back there again tomorrow if I could

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prowler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Loved the lo/cal , right in Seattle center , walking distance to the needle and monorail , free shuttle service 24/7 , breakfast , also free was Awesome !! Parking was$$ , but all in all everything together was a great value . I'll use the Hyatt again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abreeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt At Olive 8
#12 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,006 reviews
Lake Union
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Address: 110 6th Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-5002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Lake Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#25 Family Hotel in Seattle
#35 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing