We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sleeping Bulldog Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome B&B”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Looks are deceiving-- in a good way. From the street, Sleeping Bulldog looks like a very upscale, modern, 2-story home. From the inside, it's even more. It is super spacious with 3 floors, including the basement, short-term apartment, the main floor living and dining area, plus kitchen and inn keepers area; and the top floor offers 3 amazing guest rooms. We stayed in the Western Room, the smallest, but very adequate. Everything was perfect, from the highest quality linens to the organic shampoo. Innkeepers Korby and Randal designed the rooms and did much of the actual remodeling as well. Their care and thoughtfulness to detail is evident everywhere. They utilize every inch to make it environmentally friendly as well-- from their chicken coop for the 6 hens who provide your morning eggs, to a rain catch system for watering plants, to the wall of solar panels that dumps extra electricity into the grid. It is a model of design beauty and efficiency, and a great B&B.
Catch the #7 bus at the bottom of the hill and will take you within 1 block of Pike's Market. Returning, take the #14 at 3rd and Union St to the top of the hill a few blocks from the inn. All downhill!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korby K, Owner at Sleeping Bulldog Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, Linda! "Perfect" is just the kind of word we love to hear, and I'm happy you think we earned it. Thank you for staying with us and for this great review -- we can't wait to be your hosts again sometime soon!

Take care,
Korby K.-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
261
18
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Sleeping Bulldog is welcoming and beautifully decorated. Each breakfast was tastefully presented and delicious. The bed was very comfortable and the modern bathroom and rain shower were very relaxing. The heated tile floor in the bathroom was a real bonus. Location makes it easy to access public transit that connects with the whole city. Korby and Randle are friendly, helpful and gracious hosts. Their knowledge of the city and surrounding area was helpful to plan our time in Seattle. We will most certainly return for future visits.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be a good choice; they are all modern and comfortably furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BridgetOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korby K, Owner at Sleeping Bulldog Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thanks for this terrific review, folks! We're always happy when one of our guests has an enjoyable stay, and I'm glad we were able to make that happen for you. It sounds like you had a fantastic time, and we look forward to your next visit!

Take care,
Korby K.-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband, son and I recently stayed at Sleeping Bulldog B&B and had such a wonderful time! The B&B was lovely, clean and conveniently located. The view from the New Orleans room is spectacular. Korby and Randal were incredibly accommodating. Korby prepared gourmet vegan breakfasts for us each of the 4 mornings that we stayed there. Unlike other B&B's that only prepared hot cereal, Korby whipped up veggie scrambles with tofu, tempeh and field roast as well as starting each breakfast with a variety of fresh fruit. Korby and Randal provided thoughtful extras such as chocolates, cookies (special vegan ones for us), coffee, a large selection of movies, popcorn, yogurt (vegan options), and lots of little snacks.

The accommodations were beautiful and comfortable with extras such as hardwood floors, a jacuzzi tub and a DVD player. We enjoyed talking with both Korby and Randal and they were extremely helpful with suggestions about what to do and where to eat in Seattle and surrounding areas as well as providing directions. Korby made a point to scope out some vegan/vegetarian restaurant options for us ahead of time. We thoroughly enjoyed getting to know Mojo, Korby and Randal's English bulldog. He was absolutely adorable and charming!.

The location is conveniently located with easy access to bus transportation. Parking in front of the B&B is easy.

This was truly the best overall B&B experience I've ever had. I would highly recommend staying at the Sleeping Bulldog if you're in the area. We won't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcstars22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korby K, Owner at Sleeping Bulldog Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Sorry for the late reply, but I wanted to let you know how much we appreciate this wonderful review! We were more than happy to accommodate your family's food requirements, and I'm glad you enjoyed everything so much. Hearing things like "best overall B&B experience I've ever had" just makes our day, and we can't wait to host you folks again soon.

All the best,
Korby K.-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Everything we could wish for and more during our stay at the Sleeping Bulldog B&B. Scrumptious breakfasts everyday with fresh fruits and a rotating main course including pancakes, fennel and french toast. Stayed in the Western Room and what a beautiful space. Even the floors are heated! Korby & Randall have a treasure trove of knowledge to share on activities in and around Seattle. Thanks for the wonderful recommendation to visit Snoqualmie Falls. And Mojo, their bulldog, is totally irresistible. This was my husband's first stay at a B&B and his review was simply, "You did good!"

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korby K, Owner at Sleeping Bulldog Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
I'm so happy to hear you and your husband had such a great experience here, Deanna. It was our pleasure to host you both and to share our thoughts on seeing the Seattle sights! I know we all hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in town. We're all looking forward to seeing you again -- Mojo too!

Best,
Korby K. -Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elma, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2014

There really was not a single amenity overlooked. Friendly innkeepers. Cute dog. I would stay there again in a heartbeat! Delicious food. I really appreciated the consideration given my dietary needs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuevosFrescos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korby K, Owner at Sleeping Bulldog Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review! We're more than happy to take care of any of our guests' dietary needs -- we want everybody to be able to really enjoy their stay, and I'm so happy to hear that you did. I hope we see you again soon -- we're all looking forward to it, even Mojo!

All the best,
Korby K. -Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Breakfasts delicious and different each day made with fresh eggs from own chickens. Dog irresistible! Owners go above and beyond and being from Seattle provide excellent guidance. B&B run by solar power.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank virejsermeget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepingbulldog, Owner at Sleeping Bulldog Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We're all so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. We really try to do our best to make your stay as comfortable as possible, whether that means making you breakfast or answering your Seattle questions. Anything we can do, we're happy to do it. Hope we'll see you again soon! (So does Mojo!)

Take care,
Korby K. -Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My daughter (13) and I just spent 4 nights at the Sleeping Bulldog Bed and Breakfast and were delighted. Everything, and I mean everything, was perfect. From the common area downstairs to the room we had and the food.Oh my. The food. I could write a book about this place. The house itself is beautiful and cozy. The decor is modern yet warm. We loved our room. The sheets were soft, the bathroom with the warm tiles and towel rack a real welcome on chilly Seattle mornings. And the breakfast was out of this world. Even though this is a private residence, we heard nothing at night, no noise from other guests in other rooms. Nothing. What made this stay even more special was Korby, the innkeeper, who, with his partner, has truly made this place a labor of love. I didn't even feel like I was in a hotel. I almost felt guilty being served by Korby in the morning and wanted to help out in the kitchen, that's how comfortable I felt. My daughter got to go and get fresh laid eggs from the hens next to the house and Korby turned them into exquisite omelet dishes. The commute from the place is also easy. Up the street, down a hill and the bus takes you to Pike Market in 10 minutes. Finally Mojo the bulldog. He is the master of the house and an absolute joy. He greets guests and of course Korby tells him to go back to his place in the back part of the house but Mojo will come back to see who all the people in the house are. We even made friends at the inn, sitting down for breakfast in the morning.
This place is truly an oasis of relaxation and well-being. it starts when you climb up the steps to the entrance, past the little zen display and into a cozy living room with a crackling fire and soft music. I recommend this place to anyone, be it for a weekend in town, a romantic get away or just a way to reload one's batteries. It is a must for everyone traveling to Seattle. Seattle itself also surprised us with its diversity and we rented bikes on Bainbridge Island after we took the ferry over. WOW! We are SO coming back. Thank you again for everything. What an amazing place.
Malia and Leilani (Honolulu, Hawai'i)

Room Tip: We saw all 3 rooms available (and a 4th room ready next month for guests as well) and all rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaliaHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepingbulldog, Owner at Sleeping Bulldog Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hey there, Malia. Thanks so much for this great review! It was our pleasure to have you here, and we're all so glad you were happy with your stay. Hearing our B&B described as "perfect" will never get old, and we truly appreciate it. Mojo does too!

We hope you and Leilani will visit again soon.

Thanks again,
Korby K, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
2,648 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 101 in Seattle
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,020 reviews
Pioneer Square
Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeping Bulldog Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Bulldog Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sleeping Bulldog Bed and Breakfast
Address: 816 19th Ave S, Seattle, WA 98144-2918
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeping Bulldog Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleeping Bulldog is an intimate B&B located near downtown and Seattle's sports arenas. We offer one of Seattle's finest views. Our B&B can give you all the comforts of your own home. We offer flat screen TVs, blu-ray DVD players, iHome radios and Keurig coffee makers. Our guests enjoy a good night's sleep on our Tempur-pedic beds. Long and short term stays welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Sleeping Bulldog Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing