We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Soundview Cottage is one of my favorite...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Soundview Cottage

Sunset from the deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset from the deck
The king-size bed is famously comfortable, and the nautical decor reflects the water view. Totally private cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Sunset from the deck
The king-size bed is famously comfortable, and the nautical decor reflects the water view.
Totally private cottage
Eating Area
Private entrance, close to off-street parking
The view from the private deck is amazing.
New hot tub - ready any time of the year!
Spring flowers
The view from the deck
iPod Dock/Player
Complete kitchen
A small wedding on the deck
Guests say the cottage is like a private treehouse.
The comfy new sleeper sofa sleeps two extra guests.
The new washer and dryer are convenient for guests.
Complete kitchen lets you cook any meals you want, whenever you like.  Breakfast foods are included.
Off-road parking and a separate entrance
The garden is lush any time of year.
the new sleeper sofa sleeps two additional guests
Soundview is gay-friendly and peace-loving
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Seattle, Washington

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JonSeattl...
Seattle, WA
1 review
“The Soundview Cottage is one of my favorite places in the world!”
Reviewed October 29, 2009 for a stay in October 2009

This has to be one of those most romantic, relaxing, and rejuvenating places in the world! My wife and I have stayed there three times now - one of those times I actually proposed to her there, right on the deck overlooking the water at sunset :-) We had enjoyed our stay so much the first time that I knew it would be the perfect place to pop the question, and she loved it!

The hot tub overlooking Puget Sound is amazing, and inside you've got a cozy little cottage all to yourself. The kitchen is well stocked with all the essentials you need for your own private breakfast, which was perfect for us because we like to sleep in and didn't want to eat with a bunch of strangers like at regular B&B's. There's also a good selection of movies you can watch with your loved one if you want a quiet night in, or you can sit out on the deck and read a book in the serene outdoors. Oh, and the bed is heavenly!

Annie the innkeeper is so sweet, and she makes the whole experience completely wonderful. I'm sure my wife and I will be coming back to the Soundview Cottage for years and years to come!

Date of stay: October 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sche0547
Mpls, MN
1 review
“Nice 1B cottage view a view, breakfast, and a very kind innkeeper”
Reviewed October 19, 2009 for a stay in October 2009

We often stay in small cottages or houses for the benefit of a kitchen. This was the best stocked cottage we've ever stayed in, and Annie was very kind to cater to our food sensitivities in what she stocked (not to mention the fresh strawberries that showed up on day 3). She has well-organized information on local restaurants (complete with maps) and local attractions and helped us find the best way into the city without our car (light rail). Other perks: very comfortable bed and pillows (the best we've had at one of these places) and a respectable bookshelf (I'm used to seeing bad novels straight from goodwill; she had great nonfiction). In addition, the view is beautiful and this is extremely close to the airport (3 miles?), grocery store (2 miles), and lots of restaurants.

Date of stay: October 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tzubrock
Troy, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A B&B w/ everything: comfort, charm, view, privacy and the best innkeeper ever”
Reviewed August 18, 2009 for a stay in August 2009

When Innkeeper Annie offered her just-made chicken soup upon our late arrival, it was the first indication of just how well taken care of we would be at Soundview B&B. The kitchen was incredibly well-stocked with Trader Joe and organic fresh fruit, produce, and lots of other treats and was a welcome surprise to us weary travelers. Coffee and a generous variety of breakfast supplies were also provided. And what guest doesn’t appreciate a B&B equipped with a dishwasher?

The cottage has a fabulous view and, under the right conditions, offered a beautiful sunset as well. We particularly enjoyed the hot tub on the spacious deck which wrapped around the cottage and provided a panoramic view of Puget Sound and the Olympic Mountains. Sweet. And if you want a closer up view, there are binoculars in the living room for your use--- an example of the little touches that made our stay especially delightful.

The cottage itself was perfect for my family of three, including the luxury of a king-sized bed with fabulous bedding. The pullout sofa (which my son usually despises) sported an inflatable mattress which my 9-year old claimed was the most comfortable he’d ever slept in. The kitchen and eating area didn’t have room to spare, but were completely adequate for our needs.

The property is lovely inside and out---truly a gem---with an innkeeper to match. We discovered freshly baked cookies in the cottage upon our return from sight-seeing one afternoon. Another day, Annie delivered a dozen roses from the garden to our door. The B&B itself is reason enough to stay here---great view, comfortable digs, quiet, private, charming, and a hop-skip to the airport (we had a 6 a.m. flight). My only regret is that we didn’t plan a longer stay.

Date of stay: August 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanderlus...
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect location, Scenic, Romatic!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2009 for a stay in July 2009

This Cottage is the perfect spot for a getaway. Not only is the location ideal, (Puget Sound) but the cottage is in excellent condition. You have a well furnished kitchen, a bed that is so comfortable you will want to bring it home with you, dining set and grill on the deck, a private hot tub, and stunning views. Quiet, peaceful residential area south of Seattle, but still close enough for the short drive into Seattle. Everything you need is close by.
On a clear day from the cottage you can see Mt. Rainier to your left and the Olympic Peninsula on your right. Catch the sunset each night with your favorite glass of Washington State wine from your deck.
Anne Philips is your host and will provide you with a wonderful assortment of breakfast items along with any additional assistance you may need.

Date of stay: July 2009
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalloNeth...
Huizen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great place, good value for money”
Reviewed August 9, 2009 for a stay in July 2009

We just stayed 2 weeks at the Soundview B&B. We had a wonderfull time. The cottage has everything you need; kitchen, more than enough living space and a great kingsize bed. The inn-keeper is very friendly. She lives next door, so you have lot's of privicy. It was nice and quiet and we loved the jacuzzi. Especially when you are staying for a longer period it is nice to have the place for yourself and can even cook a meal if you want. You do need a car to get around, but then shopping is a few minutes away and downtown Seattle is just a 20 minute drive. Good value for money!

Date of stay: July 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nursenana
Murfreesboro, TN
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“SoundView B & B is a home away from home.”
Reviewed June 18, 2009 for a stay in June 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Location, location, location! This litte gem is in the perfect spot for a truly relaxing get away. The deck with the hot tub overlooks Puget Sound. The charming cottage home is a separate unit with many special ammenities. The bed is a comfortable king size. The kitchen is nicely stocked with groceries for breakfast meals. Nearby, Olde Burien has many excellent placs to eat and quaint places to shop. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to do so again.

Date of stay: June 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
122112
Portland
1 review
“Can you spell M-A-J-E-S-T-I-C B-E-A-U-T-Y ?”
Reviewed March 25, 2009 for a stay in March 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Soundview B&B. The scenery and privacy are too die for! I will never stay in a Seattle hotel again! We started our days with coffee and strawberries in the hot tub. We heard bald eagles frolicking in the trees above. And ended our days with cooking dinner in the kitchen and feasting by candlelight while watching the sun set across the Sound and over the snow covered mountains. Annie is a doll and very accommodating and her guesthouse is filled with an abundance of positive energy. We will be back again!
Susan
Portland, Oregon

Date of stay: March 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing