We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would Stay here again. Perfect location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Ranked #42 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I've stayed in Seattle many times and wasn't sure about the location of this hotel since it was just me (mom) and my 6 year old. Check was nice and smooth. I'm a Gold Marriott member and it would have been nice if there was an upgrade or free breakfast but oh well. Was also hoping for a concierge lounge but none was offered. The room was nice, large and clean. Elevators were fast. We walked from the hotel down to the waterfront, did the whole area and aquarium, walked up to Pike Place, walked all the way down to Nordstroms and the mall there. Saw a movie walked around that area and did some shopping then walked back to our hotel. It was time to eat dinner so we decided to eat at the Marriott Bistro. I didn't expect much food wise just wanted to fill our tummies before bed. WOW the cheese pizza was very large and tasted great! Service was great.
Oh, I forgot to mention my son and I had taken a train to Seattle so we had been traveling since the day before when arrived we did look very sloppy and it was nice that no one seemed to look at us like "What are you doing here?" LOL. Stay here its clean, safe and a perfect location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tululahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for your review of the Pioneer Square Courtyard! It seems that you were able to explore downtown to the fullest! We appreciate all our Marriott Reward Elite Members, and do try to provide complimentary upgraded when available, although we do not, unfortunately have a concierge lounge. We hope you stay with us on your next Seattle visit!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 750 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

Hotel is centrally located for walking in downtown. Just a short walk from Pike Place Market. Close to restaurants. We stayed 2 nights while visiting relatives in the area. Lobby was inviting, modern and upbeat, staff was friendly and helpful, a Bistro on premises is open for breakfast and dinner. Pretty good food too!
Must admit that the rooms are small, and unless you're staying in the upper floors and requests a view room, there is NO view. The bed was comfortable and the bedding and bathroom amenities were good.
Just remember that you're staying downtown so you'll get street noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you stay with us again!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

First time I've stayed at a Courtyard so a mixed review.
Not the 'poshest' hotel I've stayed at - somewhat tired and in need of a complete refurb.
View from our corner room not great but the size of the room was perfect.
Pool - too small for me to swim in but fine for children.
As with a recent review scaffolding currently covers the front of the building which we were unaware of until shortly before our departure to Seattle. It doesn't impede on your view as such and on the plus side makes the hotel easy to spot!!
The staff were very pleasant and rooms kept very clean.
We didn't bother with the bar or breakfast as it didn't look too appealing and there are plenty of places nearby.
In conclusion I'd say fine for a short stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSHUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us and welcome to the Courtyard brand! I’m happy to hear about your positive comments in regards to our staff and room cleanliness. We hope to see you again soon!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the station, so couldn't grumble that it was a fair walk from the main attractions! Staff gave 2 very good restaurant recommendations. Downside was that the hotel is currently wrapped in scaffolding. In fairness, the work did bot impinge on our sleep or comfort, but the bedroom view was not special!
The pool is OK, but not somewhere to spend much time other than taking a swim!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose us again for your next visit to Seattle.
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

This Marriott is located at 2nd Ave & Cherry St. It is .7 miles from Seahawks Century Link Stadium & Safeco Field. Several bars in the area, including FX McRory's, Sluggers, Elysian Fields, Sean O'Donnell's, Collin's, Owl & Thistle, Jimmy's on 1st, Pyramid Brewery & Henry's Pub. Within a 5-10 minute walk is the Ferry Boats, Underground Tour & Police Museum. Westlake Mall, City Centre Mall, Duck Tour, Pike's Fish Market are also a close walk or you can take a city bus on 3rd Ave. at 3rd Ave & Pine you can catch the monorail to the Space Needle on the 3rd Floor of Westlake Mall.

The staff at the Marriott were very nice & helpful. Their maps they give when you check in are awesome. The only one we used. The rooms were very clean & we recommend getting the breakfast included with the Bistro downstairs. Great gym & pool in the basement.

We highly recommend this Courtyard Marriott & will stay here again each time we come back to Seattle.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Mion6028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for your informative review of your recent stay at the Pioneer Square Courtyard! As you mentioned we are in a great location for restaurant/bars and popular Seattle attractions. Thank you for recommending the hotel to others and look forward to seeing you soon!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night before getting on our cruise to Alaska. We have stayed in many Courtyards over the years, but this one is in a great historic building, and is very comfortable as well. We enjoyed our stay very much. They also offered a shuttle for us to get to the pier, which was appreciated. Good service, friendly staff. Not as centrally located as it could be, but not in a bad area either.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueBirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on your next visit to Seattle!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was a special family trip to Seattle, the first for most of us. As other reviewers noted, it's in a beautiful historic building that is being restored and is covered in scaffolding. The restoration didn't appear to cause any disruption in service at all.

The hotel location could be good depending on what you want to see. It's close to the sports complex, public transportation, the ferry landing and some lovely neighborhoods worth exploring. It's also close to some sketchy parts you don't want to linger in, although walking through posed no problems.

The rooms were appointed typical Marriott Courtyard. The dining area was much better than any other Courtyards I've stayed in. The staff was super friendly and helpful. One of our party had a steak dinner that she thought was great, although pricey.

Pros:
- Rooms were quiet. Bed and linens were comfortable.
- Free internet.
- Dining staff and bell persons were all really friendly and helpful.
- Walking distance to the ferry, train stations and other public transportation.
- A bit of a walk to the Public Market but doable.
- Okay TV channel line up.
- Rooms were very clean, as was the whole hotel.
- Room had coffee makers.

Cons:
- No in-room safe.
- Amenities were the tiniest I have ever seen.
- Mixed experience at the front desk. Some were very helpful. Others were not and needed a refresher in customer service like helping us arrange for transportation the next morning to the train station.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel and for choosing us for your first trip to Seattle! I’m glad that you all enjoyed your meals in the Bistro. I would like to apologize for the inconsistency in service at the Front Desk; that is not something common to our property. I hope you stay with us again.
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 103 in Seattle
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square

Address: 612 2nd Ave, Seattle, WA 98104-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pioneer Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Seattle
#37 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#38 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $166 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing