We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service,location, but lacking amenities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Ranked #41 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for the Emerald City Comic Con. I work at another Marriott and let me say right away that my stay was overall was very good. The staff was wonderful and helpful. The hotel was very clean and looked great. The only thing that was lacking was the amenities. I was so used to the standard of our hotels I didn't think to check them before I arrived. I expected a microwave and DVD player in the room. And when we decided on something to eat they didn't even have room service, you had to go down to the restaurant to pick up your food. The market was very lacking as well with not many options to choose from. Other than those few things the hotel was a great experience and I would recommend it to anyone looking to be in a great downtown location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel, especially from a Marriott employee! I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Although we do not have room service (like most Courtyard hotels) you can order items to go at the Bistro for Breakfast and Dinner. If a guest would like a microwave for their stay, they only need to ask at check-in or before, however quantity is limited. There is also a microwave available in the lobby for guest use as well. We appreciate you recommending us to others and hope you stay with us again soon.
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (761)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 761 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

This review is of a one-night stay at this property. The location is great for anyone heading to Seattle to catch a game, or just to hang out and tour.

The hotel is currently undergoing some major repairs, so the outside is covered with scaffolding. It obstructed the view from our room a little bit but there was no noise from the workers as our stay was over the weekend.

Check-in was smooth and the front desk clerk was pleasant. Our room (409) was small but that's par for the course in a building that's over 100 years old. The room appeared clean - however there was a slight odor. We discovered the source of the odor as we were double-checking the room prior to departure to make sure we weren't leaving anything behind. We discovered a "very stinky" sock beneath the chair by the window that had been left by a previous occupant. My only other complaint was that someone had used all of the lotion in the complimentary bottle.

Everything else was clean and as it should be. Comfortable bed, nice television, good iron & ironing board, hot water, good water pressure, etc...

The food in the bistro restaurant on the first floor is pretty good and the staff were great! (Thanks Brittany!) We ate breakfast and dinner there and were not disappointed.

All-in-all this hotel is a good one to consider if you're going to be in the downtown Seattle area.

Room Tip: If staying at this hotel in 2014, inquire about which renovations are being done and ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuffemdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your review of the Pioneer Square Courtyard. I am very sorry about the item left in your room, as well as the used lotion bottle! That is not up to our normal housekeeping standards at all and I have already reported it to our housekeeping manager. However I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of the hotel. I will pass on to Brittany your nice comment! Thank you again and hope to see you again soon
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We got lucky they didn't wake us up at 8 AM doing renovations. They said oh looks like we upgraded you to the waterfront side. That really meant looks like we put you right where the construction is going at 8 AM in the morning and you really can't see the water because of the scaffolding. It ended up being great it rained the only day they would have done any work on the outside of the building. The customer service was o.k. and the room was clean. It was not the best service I have had and the one surprise was the elevator and the way it was handled. We were headed up to the 14th floor and all of a sudden the elevator started to shake. Now this was a new experience because all of a sudden it stopped 4 floors away from our floor on the 14th floor. It was shaking and making some crazy sounds. My wife about passed out and I hit the open door button and heard people talking outside the door. The inner door opened and when it did the outer door broke and was stuck. I ended up prying the outside door open even though the metal support was broken. My wife kept hitting the emergency button but no one called. We hurried out and called down and they acted like it was no bid deal. hahahaha it was to us but it made for a great future story. The elevator was down the rest of the day and we left so we never found out what had happened. Location for this hotel was perfect though and I would stay here again but would look for the seal on the elevator before getting on next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pixtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwenLeinbach, Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Pixonia, thank you for sharing your experience while at the hotel. Shaky elevators are never a planned occurrence and your good nature about the situation is most appreciated, yet the lack of perceived concern by our staff is not and has been addressed. Renovations are only being conducted on the weekdays so no noise interruption will be found on the weekends, which is what I hope our desk staff conveyed at your check in. Repairs to the elevator included replacing an aluminum brace with steel so it cannot be bent and should prevent any re-occurrence of this issue for you or other guests...again thank you for your business and decision to give us another try!

Owen Leinbach
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The location is decent if you don't mind a bit of a walk to get to Pike Place or downtown (about 10 blocks). We had family of five (3 kids 10,8,5) and inlaws. The kids didn't love the walk, but I enjoy it. There was outside construction, but didn't affect us on weekend stay. It was daunting driving up with all the scaffolding blocking the entrance - but no big deal. The front staff was very friendly and attentive, no wait. The valet is pricey $30ish. The front desk mentioned $12 closeby park yourself - but it was too late at that point as we already had the valet going. The hotel lobby has been updated and is modern looking. We checked in early, noon-ish and they had rooms ready to give us. He gave us corner rooms which are 'bigger', I'm not sure if this is because I am Gold elite. I would have liked high floor as requested, but can't complain since they let us in so early.
Room - Nice and modern. Has fridge. There were no sheets/extra pillows in room for sofa bed, but I called down and they delivered them in about 2 minutes flat - seriously! I always request extra towels and extra feather pillows in my room request - but this never seems to happen. I'm sure I can call down, I just wonder if they ever follow your request? Anyway, again we got checked in early, so who knows if that would have been taken care of.
Pool - this was small, but wasn't too cold and the kids enoy it regardless. about 3ft8" to 4ft"4 deep.
Elevators - safety function, as they require you to insert your key.

My only main complaint - and to me this is a biggie - is no free coffee in the lobby. The room coffee is always poor and I don't care to use the Bistro. I guess being in Starbucks capital, it would at least be nice to offer this as a perk for people staying at the hotel - or even 1 free cup to Gold members. Sorry, I really think that is to be expected.

Again the front desk was great in suggesting Planet Java for breakfast. This was great breakfast place. Kids loved it, they offer milkshakes all day.
We would stay here again -if I could convince my kids to enjoy the walking!

Room Tip: There are some high floors with a view. The Corner room is a little bit bigger. But the TV can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Pioneer Square Courtyard. I’m glad you and your family enjoyed your stay, even with the 10 minute walk to Pike Place Market! As you mentioned, we do not have the bedding in the rooms for our sofa beds, but we are more than happy to bring them to the rooms, along with any other requests. Courtyard recently changed their brand to no longer have complimentary coffee in the lobby. We still do have the complimentary coffee in the guest rooms and now offer Starbucks coffee and tea in the lobby for purchase, however I can see how it could be disappointing to no longer have the complimentary coffee available. Planet Java is a great option for breakfast, and only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We hope to see you again soon on your next Seattle visit!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was a really interesting place to stay. The building is an old heritage building and is currently going through an outside facelift. We stayed on a Saturday night, so it didn't affect us at all, since all the renos are taking place during business hours.

Rate
We got a package deal for $189 that included parking, breakfast for 4 and a 2pm checkout. That was a really good deal, considering parking downtown is around $30 and our breakfast was easily worth $50+.

Room
The room was clean and had all the amenities we needed. Beds were comfy. The only complaint I had was that we were facing 2nd Ave. and the soundproofing wasn't that great. I find that typical in downtown Seattle though, so it wasn't that much of a surprise.

Food
We ate dinner at the restaurant in the hotel and it was really good. The kids thought it was neat to have a booth that had our own personal TV! Our included breakfast consisted of our choice of a beverage (including Starbucks coffee!) and either two cold items or one hot meal of our choice. It was a great value. The hotel has a snack store in the lobby - Starbucks for purchase there, too. Very expensive - so watch out. $2+ for a candy bar. OUCH!

Service
The service here was great. Speedy valets to get your car. Speedy and friendly check in. Great staff in the restaurant. They provided umbrellas to use when it was raining. It was all good.

Pool and workout room
My family used both and were very satisfied.

Location
The location is great to be in the center of whatever you may have planned. We walked to a Sounders game, plus were still within walking distance to the Great Wheel. It wasn't as close to shopping like I've been in the past, but it's still a great choice for a location.

Parking
The valet parking is a bit of a pain, because you don't have the comfort to go back and forth to your car to load/unload items at your leisure. I could see this being a deal-breaker for some people, especially during busy times. We were lucky that the hotel was dead.

I think I would come back here with my family if I got a good rate, and maybe if I could get a quieter room next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pokee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned, we do have a great restaurant, The Bistro, open for breakfast and dinner, as well our fitness center (open 24 hours) and an indoor pool. Even though we are in a city area, please feel free to give us a call ahead of time and we can try to keep you in a quieter room for your next stay.
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Courtyard at Pioneer Square met all my expectations from the warm welcome of the staff, to a comfortable room with nice linens and good restaurant attached. I was in Seattle for Business and I found this a lovely place to land each night after long, long days. The hotel is centrally located so I was able to see some of the sights of Seattle in my very limited spare time. This hotel felt much more upscale than you might expect for a Courtyard. I loved the renovated old, building. It had lots of charm and all the model comforts.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and it was a home away from home! We hope to see you again on your next visit to Seattle where you can see more of the sights!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We loved the suite. The bed was top quality. The bathroom was better than good. Lots of room. A dining room table and chairs. A loveseat and chair, with a hassock. A nice desk area. Microwave and a small, empty refrigerator. There is a Starbucks across the street, so the below average in-room coffee service has a close alternative. We bought a bottle of prosecco from the lobby's small refreshment area. Beware of the $27 valet parking though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bothell_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for your review of the Pioneer Square Courtyard. I’m glad that you enjoyed your suite. As you mentioned, valet parking is $28 plus tax for an overnight stay. Although our valet parking will be the most convenient, there are other parking options nearby, for example other parking garages and street parking. We hope to see you again soon!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel
Pioneer Square
Silver Cloud Hotel - Seattle Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square

Address: 612 2nd Ave, Seattle, WA 98104-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pioneer Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Seattle
#37 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $146 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing