We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location in Seattle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Ranked #42 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
181 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent location in Seattle”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our stay in Seattle. We both thought this hotel was wonderful. The front desk staff was very helpful with recommendation and providing the best possible stay for us. Very easy walking distant from Pike's Market, Safeco or Citibank Fields, light rail station, and wonderful restaurants in the area.
We stayed in a studio, and loved the size of the room; along with how clean the room and hotel were maintained.
I saw a few reviews mentioned safety walking through a "sketchy" area to the fields, and we had to chuckle at the neighborhood in question. There was a mission in the area, with several homeless people outside. But that area was a beautiful area with cobblestone streets and great stores and restaurants. My wife said she would have felt safe walking alone from the hotel to the fields.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtdman37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am happy that we were able to provide you with a great stay! I appreciate the compliments about the Front Desk Staff and the hotel overall. We will see you again on your next trip to Seattle!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    325
    84
    14
    10
See reviews for
159
219
50
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We used some Marriott points for a night here and it was perfect for what we were looking for -- especially the upgrade to a room with a view of the city and Mt. Rainier! The service was great, the room was clean and spacious and the location had easy access to buses, trains and the waterfront. The neighborhood is an older part of Seattle which was cool to explore, too. Definitely exceed our expectations of a typical Courtyard property.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floors and you can get a nice view of Mt. Rainier
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleyshurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again on your next Seattle trip!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is in Pioneer Square, within walking distance from the Amtrack Station (~ 5 blocks) and to the fun/touristy Pike Place Market (~7 blocks) and numerous restaurants (though the hotel Bistro is a good place for coffee and breakfast along with beers/food at night). The staff and rooms are nice and helpful with maps and directions. The area around the hotel is ok (up and coming) and it is in a fairly central location for city sightseeing, though good walking shoes are a must in Seattle!
A Starbucks is located across the street (and of course, everywhere in Seattle!).
Our room unfortunately faced scaffolding that apparently has been present for awhile. Through it we were able to see glimpses of the water.
The hotel is in walking distance of the Seattle waterfront to catch a ferry to Bainbridge Island. We really enjoyed the ferry ride and magnificent views of Seattle (and Mt Ranier in the distance).
The hotel is very near the rail link to Sea-Tac and takes 35-40 minutes; it is inexpensive and reportedly the best way to the airport (rather than taking an expensive taxi & getting caught in traffic).
All in all, a good stay at the Marriott. We are Marriott regulars and try to stay at them when possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagoannie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. Your review is very accurate in regards to where many of the attractions are located in terms of the hotel. It sounds like you were able to thoroughly make the best out of your trip! We hope to see you again on your next visit to Seattle!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here over the weekend and it was the worst hotel we have ever been to. The service was horrendous, the rooms were not ready at checkin time, without an apology. The room was nice enough, but not great. Not super clean, two pillows didn't have cases. The room was dark, especially because of the scaffolding that surrounds the building due to construction. As unimpressed as we were, the worst thing was that we were woken up early in the morning by a housekeeper knocking on the door repeatedly before leaving our bill under the door. Completely unnessesary, as our bill had already been paid. For 300 dollars, this hotel did not even come close to earning its value. In the end, it was decided that we would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beccaanddoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. Our check-in time is 3pm; however I know this past weekend we were behind in cleaning all the rooms in time. All I can say is this is not a normal occurrence, and we have already changed some of our procedures to make sure it doesn’t happen again. I will pass on your comments about the room to the Housekeeping Manager as well. Please feel free to contact me if you do decide to stay with us again. I promise a completely different experience on your next visit.
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in a suite as there were 4 of us in a corner room which was very nice and roomy. We were on the 4th floor and found traffic a little noisy but then..you are downtown. Nice view of city and we even had a glimpse of the water. Easy walk to stadiums and other waterfront attractions. Not too many hills to walk up from waterfront. Beautiful historical building. One con was that the sofabed had no sheets/blankets so we had to call the front desk but they were very accommodating. A bit pricey but that is downtown Seattle in the summer. Had a great recommendation for breakfast from the staff. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher/ south floors if you don't like traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments, it is much appreciated. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back. We will hopefully see you again soon!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We booked a room at the Courtyard because we had tickets to a Mariners game. Though the location is good for a 5-10 minute walk to Safeco through the downtown, this hotel experience didn't really cut it, especially considering the cost ($350 for a one night stay, including parking).

On the plus side: location. Again, you're a five to ten minute walk through the busy downtown to Safeco and the football field. Our room & the hotel itself was also very nice, it looked like it had been recently redone. All the staff we encountered were friendly.

However, for the cost of this stay, there were a few things that seemed strange/subpar. The front desk, while very friendly, failed to mention that while walking to Safeco, there's a bit of a rough area that visitors may want to steer themselves around...especially when returning at night. When you head out the front of the hotel and make your way down 2nd towards the stadium, make a right at Yesler instead of continuing down 2nd, as things get a little sketchy from that point on. You should be able to follow the crowds...take a left down Occidental after that, we took that on the way back at night & it seemed fine.

If you are in a room facing 2nd, you may experience a noisy night post-game -- my husband's sleep was interrupted a few times by people screaming on the street below. You may want to request a room on another side of the building.

There is no free wifi in the rooms, just the lobby.

For breakfast, the on site restaurant is like a Starbucks with a kitchen -- there's a Starbucks counter where you order, items on the menu include their breakfast sandwich and oatmeal, with a few non-typical things like French toast. Kind of an odd experience and hard to describe, but weird for a major hotel chain in a big city.

Considering the cost for this one night stay, including $20 for parking alone, not sure the experience is worth the value. Just wanted to add it seems difficult to find a decently priced, decent hotel in Seattle...everything seems to be either an outrageously priced boutique or an overpriced chain with no parking. Looking forward to finding the exception to the rule!

Room Tip: If you are going to a football or baseball game, you may have a noisy night if your room faces 2nd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sketchy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. I’m sorry to hear that your stay was not what you expected it to be. Our staff should have mentioned to you the best and safest way to the stadium and this will be discussed with them. However I do want to mention that we do have complimentary Wi-Fi throughout our whole hotel, not just in the lobby. Again, I apologize for this miscommunication. I hope you decide to stay with us again. Please feel free to reach out to us if you do.
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Travelling to Seattle on a regular basis recently for work I have had the pleasure of staying at the Seattle Marriott Courtyard hotel.

The hotel itself is very well located right near pioneer square, making it quite far away from the space needle (30-40 mins walk) but as its quite a bit cheaper than most in the area its well worth the extra 10 mins walk.

The rooms are quite nice with either two doubles or a king, but all are very comfortable beds. The top tip for the hotel is to try to get a room with a view over the water. The views are quite spectacular and far better than facing another building where the local workers can watch you sleeping in the morning…..

The facilities are as you would expect, average restaurant but passable if you can’t be bothered going to a decent restaurant (of which there are 20-30 within a 5 minute walk), there is no room service though, OK Gym but it’s a little bleak as its in the basement so there are no windows, they do offer free coffee which is nice.

The staff are super friendly, the reason many of my colleagues come back again and again. Personally I find them friendly and helpful, but not any more than most hotels (but certainly not less either).

All in all the Marriott Courtyard downtown is a very good choice in downtown Seattle. It has all the features, great views (from 25% of the building), ok facilities and super friendly staff. For the price and comfort of the rooms, it can’t really be beaten.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea, if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of the hotel! We always love hearing that guests like the hotel enough to repeatedly stay with us. Our water view rooms are always in high demand and a beautiful view like you mentioned. I’m glad to know that you are able to enjoy our many hotel amenities. We will hopefully see you again soon!
Laura Schles
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Executive Hotel Pacific
#66 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square

Property: Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Address: 612 2nd Ave, Seattle, WA 98104-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pioneer Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Seattle
#37 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#38 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing