We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Ranked #42 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Pros: Great location, easy to get at from the airport by light rail train, in the center of Pioneer Square; close to the public market, downtown, other attractions near waterfront, and bus stations; very clean rooms; and nice/professional staff.
Cons: Tiny lobby, not much room to walk around, especially for visitors with toddler(s). The streets/blocks heading toward downtown area are very nice and cleaning but the ones on opposite direction are generally messy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripReviewer290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwenLeinbach, Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for your candid review of our services and location. We are fortunate to be close to public transportation and many of Seattle’s great attractions. Your compliments to our staff are most gratifying as are your comments regarding the quality of our accommodations.
The foot print of this historic building (built in 1904) did not afford an expansive lobby area therefore, I must apologize we did not provide the running room a toddler needs to burn off steam.
Please consider us again when traveling to Seattle for business or pleasure, we are respectfully, at your service.
Best regards,
Owen Leinbach
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

555 - 561 of 751 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Courtyard Pioneer Square. Our room was a king with a bay view, and we were on the 12th floor on a corner. Great view. They have full blackout curtains that are floor to ceiling, and the room has a mini-fridge. Coffee is available using a one-cup coffee maker in the room. The room had a really nice HDTV with a good selection of channels.

In the lobby, coffee and tea are available just about all day. There is a mini-store there for necessities.

We chose the included breakfast option, and the breakfast was fine. It's not 'all you can eat' which in our case is a good thing. Breakfast is in the restaurant in the building. The people there couldn't have been nicer.

The hotel is a short walk from the light rail system, which we used to get in from Sea-Tac. There is valet service available at the front door.

The hotel has, but we did not use, a health club and pool.

It is a decent walk to Pike St or Seattle Art Museum.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpmcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwenLeinbach, Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Many thanks for allowing us to be your "home away from home" during your recent trip to Seattle. Your compliments are appreciated as is your business. We look forward to your return and thank you for taking time to share your experience.

Regards,

Owen Leinbach
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is an upscale Marriott Courtyard, with terrific security for women traveling alone. Located right behind a light rail station, it was easy to get here from the airport. We walked to Pike's Market and downtown shopping. Lots of restaurants in the area. The only downside was the breakfast, it was not the typical buffet or sit down meals, it was just like a coffee house with sweet rolls, bagels, etc where you order at the counter and then serve yourself. We chose to eat at other places. The bar was quiet in the evening. The staff was very helpful, we borrowed wine glasses for the room, and got extra towels. They got us cabs when we needed them. Very good value hotel in Seattle. Just upscale enough to be special place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RLRaceGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwenLeinbach, Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Your review is very much appreciated! Safety and Security (especially for the female traveler) is one of Courtyards true pillars and I am pleased you found this to be true. Your compliments to our staff will be shared and I trust on your next visit, you will give the Bistro another try. Our chef's offer a full compliment of menu offerings, including; eggs Benedict, French toast, breakfast burritos as well as egg's just the way you like it.

Again thanks for your business and for taking time to share your experience.

Owen Leinbach
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was really pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The other reviews I had read were not the best, but the price and convenient location were why we had decided to stay here. I will definitely stay here again! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it is still not a 5 star hotel by any stretch, but it was one of the nicer Courtyard class hotels I've stayed at. Pay the extra $ for the valet and just know that you need to do that going in. Staying anywhere downtown is a pain to park, but here if you do the valet it's great. Very nice, very quick, you can text your valet number and they had my car ready fast every time we needed it. Staff were all extremely polite and helpful. Room was very nice, clean and setup well. Price was great.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olytrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwenLeinbach, Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review your stay. Your compliments to our staff and hotel are most appreciated and I hope we will have the opportunity to be of service again!

Regards,
Owen Leinbach
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for one night only but everything went smooth, from check-in to valet parking, business center use and borrowing an umbreall when the rain was pouring. Perhaps the parking was a bit too expensive but at the same time it's the same price at every hotel in the big American citites.

We also had breakfast which was a bit pricey but definitely worth it. Well cooked and great service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vinceremo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwenLeinbach, Owner at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Many thanks for taking time to share your experience at the Pioneer Square Courtyard. Your compliments are most appreciated and we look forward to your return. Our goal, to provide a productive, enjoyable environment for all our travelers appears to have been meet on your stay! We will continue to make this our focus for all.

Regards,

Owen Leinbach
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel which is located downtown Seattle. Very clean and modern interior. We found the staff to be helpful and friendly. It is walking distance to Pike Place market and the monorail station that will bring you directly to the Space Needle.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwenLeinbach, Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Many thanks for your complimentary review. Your observations of our staff customer focused attitude and how our facilities are kept in show condition are most appreciated. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your return.

Regards,
Owen Leinbach
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I chose to stay at the courtyard after a Christmas party. If was within walking distance to the party and easy to find. The check in took a little longer than I expected, since I had already booked and paid for the room in advance. The charge to park your car was a bit steep considering there is no place to park around the hotel and you have to remember to text your valet or you will end up waiting a while for your car. The room was nice and pretty clean. The windows were dirty and I couldn't enjoy my view but the sheer curtains fixed that. When getting a drink I found that my glass was chipped and the piece of glass was still inside. Glad I noticed before filling it with ice. Upon checkout the valet charge was even higher than quoted due to added fees but the front desk clerk was very nice and patient while we processed my transaction. Overall the staff was friendly but I am not sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwenLeinbach, Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

First of all, thank you for your business. Your compliments to our staffs are appreciated as are your pointed comments regarding the broken glass and concerns for not fully disclosing the total cost of parking. These are areas which I will address directly to ensure that future travelers will not be “surprised” nor be in harms way. Your concerns are valid and your feedback is appreciated as it will allow us to improve. If you do give us another opportunity to be of service, please contact me in advance so I can ensure your stay is everything you expect and more.
Regards,
Owen Leinbach
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 103 in Seattle
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square

Address: 612 2nd Ave, Seattle, WA 98104-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pioneer Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Seattle
#37 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#38 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $166 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing