We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near Pioneer Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Ranked #42 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near Pioneer Square”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed here after our cruise to Alaska for one night to see Seattle. This was a good location near the public free transportation to Westlake for the Ducks and interesting people watching. Pioneer Square and the Underground tour are about a block away and we walked down to Pike's which is about 7 blocks but we took a cab back because it was all uphill. Overall it was fine for what we needed. They don't offer free breakfast to Marriott rewards members maybe just better rooms? the General Manager Gerry was fantastic. I wish the rest of his staff were as great as he was. about 50/50 on friendliness of the staff at check in and when we went to the front desk to check on whether rooms were ready and ask questions, etc. My husband and I were not overly impressed with their customer service except for the General manager. (Probably why he is the General Manager. )

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccpt95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwenLeinbach, Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We certainly appreciate your selection of our hotel for your recent, “post cruise” stay in Seattle. Your compliments on our well appointed rooms and convenient location to many of Seattle most popular attractions is welcome news. As you pointed out, our General Manager leads our “hospitality sprit” from the top down. Your interactions with our other desk team members did live up to this standard and I am sincerely sorry we missed the mark. To improve our service I would welcome a chance to communicate with you at a time of your convenience, please reach out to me by phone or e-mail so I can better understand your experience. Thank you again for your business and candid remarks.

Owen Leinbach
Assistant General Manager
206.676.3712
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    327
    84
    15
    11
See reviews for
164
220
51
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Excellent customer service, velet staff were excellent (July23-24), however, it helps if the driver would use the emergency/parking brake when parking the vehicle, instead of just slamming it into Park. Rooms a little breezie because the fan blow across ceiling and then down. Nice short walk to Safeco Field.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwenLeinbach, Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your experience, your business and feed back is most appreciated.

Regards,

Owen Leinbach
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I've always liked Courtyard by Marriott properties, as they are reliably clean, friendly, reasonably priced and well equipped with all the things a business traveler typically needs (wi-fi, business center, gym). This one is a head about the crowd, however. It is the historic Alaska Building, a 15 story "skyscraper" built in 1904. At the time, it was the first steel tower and the tallest building in Seattle. It was completely renovated and opened as the Courtyard by Marriott in 2010. The building retains much of its historic character. The original exterior of the structure was maintained, as were the marble lobby, original crown molding, window framing and wood pillars. The rooms are not large, but they have very high ceilings and large windows, and are very nicely appointed and furnished. The free internet connections are very fast. The restaurant serves some very good food, and there is often a lively bar scene at night. The staff are as friendly as they come. It is very close to Pioneer Square and the light rail (40 minutes by light rail to the airport), and not a totally unreasonable walk from Pike Place Market. This is my go-to business hotel for Seattle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mactude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwenLeinbach, Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your review of our hotel during your recent stay. Our rich history and dedicated service team are here for you on your next trip!

Regards,

Owen Leinbach
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hotel has all the amenitites that we needed.....cafe for breakfast, bar for drinks, coffee in the lobby and a block away from the Light Link Rail. The valet parking is expensive which is typical of most hotels in metropolitan areas. We were there for two days and used the light rail which was very convenient. Our original room was large but faced a wall. We asked to be moved for a better view and the staff were very accommodating. From the moment we drove up to the valet until the time we left, we were treated by an extremely friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel. The only drawback is the night activity in Pioneer Square is rather scary. I would not recommend walking in the area in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roccgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwenLeinbach, Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review you recent stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott in Seattle. Your word of caution for travelers to be alert at night is a good call, as it is in most large cities. The compliments to our staff’s and the quality of food/service you enjoyed is most appreciated. Our access to the Seattle Light Rail Link is a great option for travelers who do not need a car as we are just one block from the station, for a $2.75 ride to Seattle International Airport. We look forward to hosting you again on a future trip to Seattle.

Regards,

Owen Leinbach
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

great hotel in a restored historical building. Very clean rroms and our king suite was very spacious. Be sure to ask for a room on floors 10-15 as they have water views. Happy hour at the Bistro was nice and affordable. Indoor poll was also nice and clean. 20 minutes to the market and the baseball stadium.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Many thanks for your kind and complimentary review of your recent stay at the Pioneer Square Courtyard in Seattle, WA. We strive to provide a great guest experience with a clean, well appointed building and we are delighted you got what was expected and more!

Regards,

Owen Leinbach
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Handy location for the train to the airport and for access around the city.
Maybe not the best area to walk around at night, especially a block down in Pioneer Square.
Nice reception area with attentive staff always at hand, separate business area with free coffee available.
Suite rooms were smart and large with a huge bed, a pull down sofa and kitchen.
The bar was always busy with good staff and bar meals were good quality.
There was a gym and pool downstairs but I never got that far (!!) although colleagues did say they were good.
Would stay again for the quality but would prefer a better location nearer the city centre.

Room Tip: High up and south facing gives a view of the stadiums, east view gives the Columbia building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToonBarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Many thanks for taking time to review you recent stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott in Seattle. Your word of caution for travelers to be alert at night is a good call, as it is in most large cities. The compliments to our staff’s availability, when you need them and the quality of food/service you enjoyed is most appreciated. Our access to the Seattle Light Rail Link is a great option for travelers who do not need a car as we are just one block from the station, for a $2.75 ride to Seattle International Airport. We look forward to hosting you again on a future trip to Seattle when the south end of downtown meets your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here every week for 9 months in 2011 while working on a project in Seattle. This was my second home and the people at the Pioneer Square Marriott made it feel like just that. There was always a friendly smile and hello whenever I passed through the lobby and they were great about getting me checked in quickly and had my checked bag either waiting for me in my room or at the front desk. The building itself is very nice and has been recently renovated. The rooms are in excellent condition and I did not have a bad experience the entire time I was travelling out to Seattle and staying at the Pioneer Square Marriott. It is also in a good location for getting to most stuff in the Downtown Seattle area, bit of a walk to get into the middle of downtown but there is a lot of good stuff close by.

Room Tip: Try Tats about 2 blocks down, great Philly cheesesteaks and other deli sandwhiches. Also try Fuel, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the Courtyard by Marriott in Seattle. What a pleasure it was to learn of your experience with our staff, we are fortunate to have a caring team who genuinely enjoy what they do. Your comment on the hotel being your “second home” is very flattering and I hope we will have the opportunity to host you again when your leisure or business plans bring you back to Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
2,003 reviews
Executive Hotel Pacific
#66 of 100 in Seattle
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square

Property: Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Address: 612 2nd Ave, Seattle, WA 98104-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pioneer Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Seattle
#37 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#38 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing