We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a Renaissance than a typical Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Ranked #40 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“More like a Renaissance than a typical Courtyard”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

This hotel is in a restored historic building next to Pioneer Square in downtown Seattle. Perfectly located, the hotel is certainly not your typical Courtyard. Except for things like room service and concierge service...the hotel was similar to a Renaissance property. The staff were excellent....each one....from front desk, valet parking, housekeeping..... I had a corner room with a view of the waterfront, Pioneer Square and the Stadium (with a perfect view of the fireworks). High speed Internet was both fast and free. Rooms were very modern and tastefully decorated.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveler11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    332
    87
    15
    12
See reviews for
175
227
51
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We chose this hotel for the proximity to the Stadium, The hotel itself is very interesting (an old bank), but our room was quite small. The bed was comfortable (bedding was wrinkled - looked slept in), but we had NO view. We were on the second floor looking out onto the roof of the main floor and surrounded by tall brick buildings which meant the room was always dark. The most disconcerting thing for us was the filthy glass that I removed from the plastic wrap with a sticker prominently claiming "sparkling clean". We handed this to the front desk at checkout, and frankly I don't think she took it seriously enough. I ate breakfast in the Bistro and it was fine. Wouldn't rush back.

Room Tip: Higher rooms might not be so dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 154914AlbertaBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We were in town for a wedding and this location was just a few blocks away. Beautiful and clean interior with old character of the building. Recommend using the "BestParking" app for your iPhone to locate parking spots in the area (see photos), as meter parking rates fluctuate throughout the day. (Valet is about $34 after tax, for 24 hours, in/out privileges)
We upgraded to the breakfast for an extra $20 per night. The value of our breakfast was more than that for the mornings we were there. (free breakfast for children) Not the best quality of food as we had the breakfast plate and sandwich, but had the French toast the 2nd morning which was tastier.
We had the King Suite and had they provided the Pack-n-go crib. No problem with noise from the street. Large bathroom space. Coffee in the room wasn't very good but they have Starbucks coffee from their bistro downstairs anyways!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I spent 3 nights here in early December 2011. My main reason for booking this hotel was its proximity to the football stadium. I was arriving in the afternoon for a 5:30pm game and wanted somewhere close so I wouldn't have to worry about getting to/from the game after a cross-continent flight that day.

Rooms: A little on the small side, but nothing to complain about. There was limited closet space and very little space to walk around the room. There was a small sofa which was rather uncomfortable to sit on for any time. Good HDTV on a swivel so you could watch it from the bed or the sofa. My room was on the 7th floor overlooking 2nd Ave. It was quite noisy with sirens and buses outside. I'd recommend trying to find a room not facing that street. Overall, the room was a pretty standard Courtyard room (which is a good thing). One thing I found very unfortunate was the level of soundproofing between rooms. You could listen in on normal conversations in the rooms on either side. It made getting to sleep a bit difficult one evening through no fault of the people in the other room.

Amenities: Excellent fast and free wi-fi. Free papers available each day. There was a small selection of snacks and beverages for sale by the reception desk. I did not have a chance to try any food or drink from the onsite bar/cafe.

Location: This could be a strength or weakness depending on what you're planning to do in Seattle. For a football, soccer or baseball game, it's outstanding (10-15 minute walk to the stadiums). If you plan to use light rail/buses to get around Seattle, it's about a block and a half walk to the Pioneer Square transit station. If you're walking to Pike Place or that area, it's about a 10-15 minute walk. In the evenings, the area right around the hotel is pretty dead. I would have preferred a place with a bit more evening activity in the area (but made the conscious decision to stay here to make travel to the football game easier). The area right around the hotel is a bit rough in places (especially heading south). I didn't feel unsafe, but did walk with purpose and pace in this neighbourhood.

Staff: Absolutely incredible. Everyone was so very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank halifaxns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Check-in was quick and fast with an extremely friendly staff member. The location was great and close to where I needed to be. The large clean bathroom was a plus when I entered the hotel room and the decor was plain but very nicely done. The bedroom area was small with a king size bed, but for 1 person it served it purpose. The flat screen tv was large and very clear. The biggest drawback of the hotel was the noise level of the room. I could hear every vehicle and every noise from people on the streets. I thought the window was open but it was not. The windows on the street side view need to be better insulated so even late at night you can't hear every noise from the streets.

Room Tip: ask if the room view is facing the street, if so ask for a different room or near the top floor wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronandmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

The accommodations were above average, especially for the price. The staff was helpful and friendly. The location was super. The valet parking was convenient, but pricey. Nice job overall, thanks!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baldgreybeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Prob one of the most convienent hotels Ive stayed at as my journey to see all NFL stadiums. I was able to take the light rail from the airport to an exit near this hotel with a very short walk that cost a few dollars compared to a cab or airport shuttle or rental. This hotel was a quick walk to Qwest Field, Pioneer Square, and waterfront and Pikes Market..

I wish the rooms were a little bigger.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raidersh8ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Executive Hotel Pacific
#65 of 101 in Seattle
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square

Property: Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Address: 612 2nd Ave, Seattle, WA 98104-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pioneer Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Seattle
#37 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#38 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing