We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Pineapple!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Great Pineapple!”
Reviewed October 20, 2010

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights in October and we only have good comments about the hotel. For starters, wi-fi and parking are free. Free. The Maxwell is a brand new hotel located close to the Space Needle - one can easily walk there. The staff was helpful and friendly and fast!
The rooms are well decorated and clean, and we enjoyed the pineapple cupcakes and coffee served to guests in the afternoon.
When in Seattle, stay at the Maxwell!
PS. Seattle is GREAT!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macktheknifeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,750
    701
    113
    20
    20
See reviews for
831
984
111
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Reading through previous reviews on TA alerted us to the Maxwell Hotel, which we selected for our 4-night stay on the basis of the many favourable recommendations. No problems finding the hotel by car, although you must follow the driving instructions from I5 on the hotel website precisely as there are many one-way streets in the area.

We had been a bit concerned about limited parking spaces based on previous reports, but we needn'y have worried. The (free) underground car park has (approx) 50-60 spaces so there was never any problem getting a space during our stay. Yes the spaces are narrow by US standards, but we had no problem reversing our full-size rental car into a space.

The large lobby of the hotel is very strikingly decorated, with lots of bright colours and looks very stylish. There are lots of chairs and tables, but as there's no bar, there was no particular reason to provide so much furniture in this area. Check-in was fine and the receptionists were very helpful and friendly - really making us feel welcome after a long flight.

Our standard "Queen Aria" room was more than adequate for our needs, and was like the rest of the hotel, absolutely spotless and new looking with very attractive furnishings and decor. We also liked the little touches such as the popcorn and the microwave. The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept fine despite some jetlag.

The hotel has a free business centre with 2 PC's plus printer, which was extremely useful for making travel bookings and last minute research on things to see - a really helpful facility that all hotels should have.

The local area is very quiet (in a good way), but well located for easy access to I5, and on foot to the Space Needle/monorail. There is a (limited) selection of about 7 or 8 restaurants/cafes in the area plus some fast food places, mainly about 4 blocks to the west, so within about 10 minutes walk. There's also a Thai restaurant right next door to the hotel which was pleasant enough on a rainy evening. As the hotel building is still very new, there are some unopened retail/restaurant units on the ground floor facing the street, so maybe one day there will be more dining choices on the doorstep.

We would definitely recommend the Maxwell Hotel and hope to visit again one day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I rented a king room for $130 with free parking. It was nearly as large as a studio apartment, clean, modern, and comfortable. The location on lower Queen Anne is a nice break from the hassles of downtown: quiet, but still walkable to good restaurants. The cavernous lobby and long hallways were a little empty, in fact the whole hotel reminded me a bit of The Shining, but I didn't see any blood pour out of the elevators :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dweezilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

I spent a lot of time researching Seattle-area hotels and came across the Maxwell hotel on TripAdvisor. The reviews were great and after looking at other options, I found that the Maxwell was a bit more affordable for my budget. I made the reservation online and within 2 days, received a phone call, confirming my reservation. I really wanted a room with a view but there were none available when I made the reservation, so I included a note on the reservation form, explaining that I was coming into town for my birthday. A few days later, the manager called to wish me a happy birthday and also to let me know that he personally upgraded my room (free of charge) to a view-room. My original reservation was for two nights, but the day I arrived, the hotel offered a third night at an extremely discounted rate. I decided to stay an extra night and was really happy with my decision.
Upon arrival, there were pineapple cupcakes and coffee in the lobby which the hotel provides every afternoon. I thought this was a very nice touch. While the hotel isn't in the heart of downtown, the location is great, within walking distance from several restaurants, stores, etc. and just one block away from the Seattle Center. I went to a concert at the Key Arena one night and the hotel is just a few mins walk from the venue. McMenamins (a great Irish-inspired pub) is right next door - good food, great drinks, and great staff. We went every day for happy hour!
The rooms were wonderful -- huge tv, walk-in shower, separate sitting area, refrigerator, coffee, and popcorn. Comfy beds -- my only compliant would be the noise level. Because the rooms have hardwood floors, we could hear the people above us walking around, very early on Sat and Sun mornings. The hardwood floors are nice but it can be noisy.
Free parking and free wifi are hard to come by in Seattle so it was nice to have these amenities.
All in all, a wonderful hotel and I would definitely stay at the Maxwell again. See you at the Pineapple!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alberta842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

The website made it look great. But you get what you pay for. It was average. The thing that put me over the edge was the fact that the bedding smelled of dryer sheets or fabreeze or something and there was no way to get away from it. We had to switch hotels because it made me feel so sick. Our room was near the elevators and so we could hear them "bing" all night and people coming in and out of them. The decor was cool.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MuffetMardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

The hotel was at a great location, quite area, esay access to Space neddle. the staff was excellent and very friendly and helpful. Very clean rooms with comfortable beds. Would stay again

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesfire415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peshtigo, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Clean, elegant and great customer service. THE BEST BEDS I've ever slept in! Good exercise room/pool. I wish I could've stayed here longer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beamer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 101 in Seattle
1,517 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#3 of 101 in Seattle
2,042 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#5 of 101 in Seattle
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing