We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel - A Perfect Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #8 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2010

My partner and I stayed at The Maxwell Hotel on an overnight trip to Seattle. Before the trip I had spent many hours looking at hotels and found it difficult to find well priced accommodation with good reviews. The Maxwell caught my interest because of the middle range price and the free parking. It was FABULOUS! I would recommend this hotel to everyone, even my mother who is extremely picky on where she stays. The decor was funky and modern, and the cupcakes in the foyer was a great touch. The room with the hard wood floors, extremely comfortable bed, flat screen television and well designed bathroom was exceptionally clean and comfortable. I loved the modern feel to the hotel and both my partner and I had the best night sleep we had in a long time. The room had a mini-fridge, microwave, quick and quiet coffee maker and complimentary popcorn! We also loved the complimentary bicycles and had a great time riding around seattle. the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The location, which is a little out of downtown, is actually perfect as the monorail is a 5 minute walk and adds a little fun riding it downtown for $4 return. There is also a about 4 restaurants on the same street, which we didn't eat at, but they looked busy when we walked past.

The whole experience at The Maxwell Hotel was fantastic! A great place to stay in Seattle that made our trip perfect!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,651 - 2,657 of 2,817 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed here for a business trip and we couldn't be happier. The rooms are BIG and pleasent and the service was GREAT! Two downsides to staying here were that the key cards get demagnatized VERY easily and the rooms are hard wood floors so you'll hear everything above you of if not on the fifth floor. We didn't get a chance to check out the pool but it looked nice from the window of the room we were staying at! Free parking and WIFI a great bonus! Great places to eat in the neighborhood were Sushiland and Bahn Thai. The music and movie house up the street was also fun to hang out in and get movies on the cheap to watch in the room.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blas-Herrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed at the Maxwell Hotel for 4 nights. We loved the decor and location - in fact, this was the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in! The area is quiet, but close to so many activities and restaurants. We were very excited to see wood floors, because it looks great and is definitely more hygenic than carpet. Our only real complaint is that we were awakened each morning by the people above us 'tromping' around. It sounded as if they were actually running around the room. I'm not sure if there is anything that can be done about the noise with this flooring. Otherwise, we loved our stay at the hotel. Perhaps next time we'll request the top floor.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyWanderer025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed for three nights and were very happy with the rooms and service. The hotel is on the north side of The Seattle Center (10 mins. walk to The Needle and Monorail) in the quiet Saint Anne neighborhood. The free underground parking (under the hotel) is a bonus. The facility is new and was well designed. I didn't have any issues with the hardwood floors in the rooms causing noise from people walking in the room above, but the room doors are very substantial and do close with a loud 'thunk' unless you shut them by hand. The smallish pool was OK; the exercise room was small but well equipped, including a spinning bike. Coffee and small cup cakes were served each late afternoon in the lobby; a nice touch. There is no restaurant on premises, just a coffee/snack bar - but there is no shortage of places to eat in the vicinity, and we got menus from reception and had dinner delivered in room from a local pizza restaurant.

The front desk staff were helpful when we needed assistance.

I paid an average of $141 a night for each of the two rooms (taxes included) via Expedia. I consider this to be an excellent value hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonPBethesda_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

My family of four (2 and 4 year old) stayed two nights in early July with another family of four (6 and 8 year old) and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was conveniently located within walking distance to the monorail (which we used to get downtown and to the Pike Street market). It was also close to the Queen Anne area/Mercer Street with its interesting restaurants and shops. The hotel was clean, comfortable and had the bonus of a swimming pool (which the kids thoroughly enjoyed), free parking (which saved us at least $25 each day), and free cupcakes and coffee served in the lobby in the afternoon (which is just a nice treat)! Would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here next time we are in Seattle (which will be soon because we love all the great things to do there).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeoutwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

This hotel has only been open for a few months and the whole place is still gleeming with a brand new air about it. The decor is quirky but fabulous - there are plenty of comfy arm chairs in the large airy reception area where you can enjoy a coffe from the in hotel coffe shop. The rooms were large and beautifully decorated with gleeming wood floors and free internet. The bathrooms were spotless and the beds exceptionally comprtable. The hotel does not have a separate bar or restaurant but the young and very friendly staff at reception were able to suggest any numbers of places close by where to eat. We were not very impresed with the Irish bar one block away but Tilikum Place for lunch/brunch and Toulouse Peteite for breakfast/bruch were exceptionally good.

The hotel has a lovely feel about it. It seems to be situated in a good area and we had no concerns about walking from the monorail station after dark.

Definately a very good find.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

This was a great find. Despite being outside the city center this was a great place to stay. Large comfortable rooms with all the amenities, very helpful and friendly staff, and a convenient coffee bar in the lobby. We loved the decor, somewhat a new Hollywood glam, and thought the spaciousness of the rooms was great. The staff were very helpful in recommending places to eat or whatever it is you need. The place is a little outside the city center but walking or public transit are accessible and easy. Space Needle and some good restaurants are a few minutes walk. I think a benefit would be that you could easily park here, though we didn't, for people who use this as a home base to travel to other nearby destinations.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsmosley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 104 in Seattle
1,583 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#17 of 104 in Seattle
2,320 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 104 in Seattle
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: $138 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing