We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great service, loud flooring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great service, loud flooring”
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed at the Maxwell Hotel for 4 nights. We loved the decor and location - in fact, this was the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in! The area is quiet, but close to so many activities and restaurants. We were very excited to see wood floors, because it looks great and is definitely more hygenic than carpet. Our only real complaint is that we were awakened each morning by the people above us 'tromping' around. It sounded as if they were actually running around the room. I'm not sure if there is anything that can be done about the noise with this flooring. Otherwise, we loved our stay at the hotel. Perhaps next time we'll request the top floor.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyWanderer025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,750
    701
    113
    20
    20
See reviews for
831
984
111
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed for three nights and were very happy with the rooms and service. The hotel is on the north side of The Seattle Center (10 mins. walk to The Needle and Monorail) in the quiet Saint Anne neighborhood. The free underground parking (under the hotel) is a bonus. The facility is new and was well designed. I didn't have any issues with the hardwood floors in the rooms causing noise from people walking in the room above, but the room doors are very substantial and do close with a loud 'thunk' unless you shut them by hand. The smallish pool was OK; the exercise room was small but well equipped, including a spinning bike. Coffee and small cup cakes were served each late afternoon in the lobby; a nice touch. There is no restaurant on premises, just a coffee/snack bar - but there is no shortage of places to eat in the vicinity, and we got menus from reception and had dinner delivered in room from a local pizza restaurant.

The front desk staff were helpful when we needed assistance.

I paid an average of $141 a night for each of the two rooms (taxes included) via Expedia. I consider this to be an excellent value hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonPBethesda_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2010

My family of four (2 and 4 year old) stayed two nights in early July with another family of four (6 and 8 year old) and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was conveniently located within walking distance to the monorail (which we used to get downtown and to the Pike Street market). It was also close to the Queen Anne area/Mercer Street with its interesting restaurants and shops. The hotel was clean, comfortable and had the bonus of a swimming pool (which the kids thoroughly enjoyed), free parking (which saved us at least $25 each day), and free cupcakes and coffee served in the lobby in the afternoon (which is just a nice treat)! Would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here next time we are in Seattle (which will be soon because we love all the great things to do there).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeoutwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff,Wales
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

This hotel has only been open for a few months and the whole place is still gleeming with a brand new air about it. The decor is quirky but fabulous - there are plenty of comfy arm chairs in the large airy reception area where you can enjoy a coffe from the in hotel coffe shop. The rooms were large and beautifully decorated with gleeming wood floors and free internet. The bathrooms were spotless and the beds exceptionally comprtable. The hotel does not have a separate bar or restaurant but the young and very friendly staff at reception were able to suggest any numbers of places close by where to eat. We were not very impresed with the Irish bar one block away but Tilikum Place for lunch/brunch and Toulouse Peteite for breakfast/bruch were exceptionally good.

The hotel has a lovely feel about it. It seems to be situated in a good area and we had no concerns about walking from the monorail station after dark.

Definately a very good find.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area, ca
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2010

This was a great find. Despite being outside the city center this was a great place to stay. Large comfortable rooms with all the amenities, very helpful and friendly staff, and a convenient coffee bar in the lobby. We loved the decor, somewhat a new Hollywood glam, and thought the spaciousness of the rooms was great. The staff were very helpful in recommending places to eat or whatever it is you need. The place is a little outside the city center but walking or public transit are accessible and easy. Space Needle and some good restaurants are a few minutes walk. I think a benefit would be that you could easily park here, though we didn't, for people who use this as a home base to travel to other nearby destinations.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsmosley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We spent 2 nights at the Maxwell and found it to be perfect for our family. We stayed in a queen suite--two queen beds and a sitting area. The free wi-fi, parking and in-room mini-fridge made this a great spot for us. The location is nice, it is close to get on the monorail at Seattle Center and ride to downtown. It is also walking distance to restaurants and to a large grocery store for drinks and snacks. We parked the car and never needed it. I've also stayed downtown (Alexis Hotel) but honestly preferred this location and the fun and colorful vibe of the Maxwell.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landlockedks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We booked the Maxwell because it's part of the Watertown / University Inn group which we've stayed at and liked before. If you're looking for elegant furnishings and 1 block from the Space Needle, this is your spot. The lobby and rooms were immaculate, the staff was helpful.

But if your looking for free breakfast and a shuttle service, look elsewhere. We found the Maxwell to be a smart, trendy, elegant hotel, but not as practical as most places that we stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABQ-Sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 101 in Seattle
1,517 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#3 of 101 in Seattle
2,042 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#5 of 101 in Seattle
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing