We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in downtown Seattle!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We just came back from a visit with family in Seattle and had a very pleasant stay at the Maxwell Hotel. There's something to be said for a brand new hotel...everything is so clean and fresh. We especially loved the large walk-in shower, and the bathroom itself was very roomy with great lighting (women always appreciate that), upscale toiletries. The bed was so comfortable...not sure if it was a pillowtop, but it was wonderful. They have miniature cupcakes in the lobby in the afternoon...nice touch, along with coffee. Underground parking is FREE...you don't find that anywhere in downtown Seattle and that is a huge savings. The hotel is close to the Seattle Center and the Space Needle, and buses are also free in downtown Seattle, so if you don't want to walk to Pike's Market or Pioneer Square, just leave your car and grab a bus. We're going to stay here again when we visit at Thanksgiving...you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,692)
There are newer reviews for The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,560 - 2,566 of 2,692 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2010

We recently had a two night stay at the Maxwell accompanied by our 5 year old son. To start: free, off road parking in an area 2 blocks from the Seattle Center. Yay! Plus loads of interesting restaurants a few blocks up the hill.

Our room (which they graciously upgraded and made sure it had a view of the Needle) was of a very generous size - 2 queen super comfy beds and a sofa bed. Spacious bathroom and nice shower - only needed a night light (for our nocturnal wanderings). There was a fridge and a microwave - which we filled with breakfast items from the amazing Metropolitan Market 2 blocks away.

Our son made use of the small but nice and clean pool at the lobby level. He had it all to himself and had a blast. He also enjoyed the free cupcakes in the afternoon.

Very helpful staff - made a reservation for dinner at the restaurant atop the Space Needle for us. Definitely a must! Wonderful food, free trip up and access to the observation deck. Brilliant. Cute little bunch of rides for the kids at the base of the Needle.

An easy walk from the hotel to all the attractions in the Center was probably the best thing about this hotel, vacation wise. No need to drive at all as there's also a little monorail to downtown right there. Science Center and Scifi museum were our favorites. If you have time to get to the Museum of Flight, it was brilliant!! Children's Museum was so-so.

Remember to bring an umbrella as the hotel hasn't received theirs yet!

We had a great time and will be staying there again anytime we're back in Seattle.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treetattoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

As a frequent traveler to Seattle, I was eager to try the very well located Maxwell during my most recent trip to attend a concert at Key Arena. I could not have been more thrilled with the location. The access to Seattle Center was super quick and I was at the arena or on the monorail to downtown five minutes from my door. My first impressions of the hotel are that it is stylish, spacious and welcoming. The staff was lovely, except for the maid who twice failed to see my "do not disturb" sign and knocked anyway, and the tiny cupcakes in the afternoon are a memorable touch. The rooms are unique and very comfortable for sleeping, working at a desk or watching the absolutely enormous televisions, not so great for eating in or reading as there is no "tea table" or really good cozy chair. I tried the DVD player but could not get it to work which was a disappointment. The wood floors were very attractive and I had no problem with room noise around me. As someone who loves a long soak after sightseeing, I guess the lack of a tub in the bathrooms my biggest drawback to this new property. While the open showers are hugh and aesthetically pleasing, it is impossible to get really warm in them because they do not trap heat. I thought a dip in the pool might take the place of a good bath, but that too was chilly and ridiculously small. It was my bad luck to be swimming at the same time as a rowdy family of five with dive bombing kids and there literally was not room for all of us to enjoy the water. I longed for a hot tub. I also wished for a few more food options coming in late from the concert or early in the AM. The tiny espresso bar in the hotel has mostly sugary junk food, sodas and juices. How about some upscale herbal teas, better baked goods or something savory like a mini quiche? Fortunately there are tons of eateries and a really fine upscale grocery store and deli within a few blocks.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainbirdreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Brand new hotel near Seattle Center, free parking, affordable, clean, friendly staff, within walking distance to numerous restaurants/bars, nice neighborhood. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

This is a brand new hotel. The lobby is trendy and clean. The staff was very eager to help, and we put them to the test, asking lots of questions about the surrounding area. If you took a Holiday Inn-type value hotel and crossed it with a boutique hotel, Maxwell is what you end up with. You get a great value, good parking, and trendy, new decor. The room had some sort of faux hardwood floors, which look nice, but don't muffle much sound. It is located about two blocks from the Space Needle, where you can catch the monorail for $2 and get to the shopping district very easily. If you can handle hiking a couple of very steep streets, walk to Kerry Park at night and get some great photos of the Seattle skyline!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerBama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

The newness is refreshing, the decor is chic and modern, the staff was very nice, the prices were lower than most, the location was good, the parking was FREE! This place has a lot of positives.
However, there were some negatives about our visit that we couldn't ignore.
1. It is a LOUD hotel. They have beautiful hardwood floors in the rooms, but that means you can hear your upstairs neighbor clomping around at all hours. Also, and even harder to ignore, was that the doors are very heavy, and don't have any slow-stop close, so throughout our entire stay, any time anyone in our hall closed the door it was easily heard in our room. SLAM!
2. We got "upgraded" to a room with 2 Queen beds instead of the 1 King we'd reserved. Who wants to spend the night at a hotel and go down a size in bed? So my husband and I ended up having our own beds for our anniversary celebration. :( Lame. Plus this "upgrade" was supposed to be a "view room" and our view was of a parking garage. The Space Needle was directly behind a big tree.
3. No restaurant in hotel = no room service for breakfast (or anytime, for that matter).
4. No movie channels, or movies to rent on TV. Might not usually be a big deal, and they have a DVD player in the room, but who goes to a hotel with their favorite DVD packed?
Overall, it was "fine."

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

Stayed for 1 night and it was nice! Bonus: Free parking in building, many amenities nearby
Only con: Weak wifi signal in rooms!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 102 in Seattle
1,540 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 102 in Seattle
2,704 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 102 in Seattle
3,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paramount Hotel
#5 of 102 in Seattle
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: $176 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing