We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Modern hotel, good location for restaurants” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
Ranked #14 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Modern hotel, good location for restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I spent 1 night at The Maxwell Hotel with my husband. Our room was trendy, very large (maybe too large) but comfortable and a very good nights sleep. The hotel is a little out of the downtown area of Seattle however they offer a complimentary shuttle to make it very easy for you to get there. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is in a great location to many restaurants within walking distance. Maybe a little expensive but a good stay regardless.

Room Tip: This hotel is not in the downtown area but it's very accessible to downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I'll thank the team for being so helpful. Please come back and see us again soon.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,497
    630
    95
    16
    18
See reviews for
694
882
96
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed at the Maxwell Hotel for meetings at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, which is only 7 minutes walk away. The hotel is also close to the Space Needle. My room included free wireless internet, coffee, bottled water, and microwave popcorn. It had a refrigerator and microwave oven. The room was very large and so did not feel especially cosy, but was well appointed and distinct from your standard chain hotel room. My room was connected to the neighboring room by a lockable door that conducted quite a lot of noise from next door. This interrupted my sleep a couple of times, but this is my only criticism and was a relatively minor issue. Cupcakes and coffee were provided in the lobby each afternoon. Staff were helpful and knowledgable about the local area and Seattle. I took the Shuttle Express from the airport to the hotel (USD 18), and a hotel-arranged private limo from the hotel to the airport (USD 42); both worked well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GHJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello GHJohn! Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We enjoy having the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation guests stay with us and try to take great care of you. I'm so sorry about the noise from the connecting door. We only have a few of these in the hotel so hopefully you won't have to worry about that noise again. We also will be able to see which room you stayed in and put you in a quieter room next time. We hope to see you again soon!
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lakr City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Wife and I stayed here for 2 nights while in Seattle. Was a great place to stay. Room was very nice with modern and trendy touches. Friendly staff. Offerred free shuttle service to area attractions, which allowed us to just park (in their free parking!) and explore the city by foot or their shuttle. Also had bikes to use if needed, we will use those next time. This hotel was very close to city center, an easy walk. Also had a lot of nice places to explore like Yeti Yogurt! We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slckevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Great review! We want to give you a tremendous thank you for staying with us. It sounds like you enjoyed the complimentary shuttle, friendly staff, and the hotel design. We hope to see you with us again soon.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I love where this hotel is located and the rooms are very comfortable and staff is friendly. Would not want to stay any where else. Restaurant in lobby is very good. A+++++++++++++, It is close to the needle, ride the ducks which we went on and all the other places close by the needle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
What a great review! We truly appreciate your response and wouldn't be here without great guests like you. We very much would like to see you again soon.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston WV
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is a gem! A block from Seattle Center, down the street from great bars, restaurants and 2 grocery stores, and you can rent bikes! The decor is bright and modern, and there's coffee everywhere--Pineapple Espresso in the lobby, K-Cups in the room, and free coffee and muffins in the afternoon. The rooms are big, clean, and the bed is orgasmic. If you get a chance to stay at The Maxwell--DO IT!!!!!!! It will be my new go-to hotel in The Emerald City

Room Tip: The only bad room is the one you don't reserve at The Maxwell
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ceddyweddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Amazing review! We truly appreciate it and hope to see you very soon. We are glad you enjoyed the location, the amenities, and the beds. :)
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I've been to Seattle many times and typically stay closer to Pike Place. We recently stayed at the Maxwell which is closer to the space needle in the Queen Anne before going on a cruise and the hotel was a great choice. The hotel also had AC which was nice since not all hotels have AC in Seattle.

The rooms were very large, new beds and the bathroom was great. After a long day on a plane they were able to check us in early (I called in advance to let them know we'd be getting there 3 hours before check in and they put it in their notes and had the room ready for us, which was a huge surprise.) The staff was very helpful, something I'm not used to in the DC area.

The hotel also has a shuttle that will take you around town - reservations are a must as space fills up quickly since they also pick up at their sister hotel. The driver was a font of knowledge about the city and I learned some things I didn't know before.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, and will go back the next time I'm in the area if I get to choose my hotel and don't have to use a room block.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have less street noise since there are several neighborhood bars in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melglaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed our large rooms, AC, early arrival, and the shuttle driver. He definitely knows a great deal about the city and isn't afraid to share it which we appreciate. We certainly hope to see you back with us soon.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in a great area and I would recommend to normal travelers, but we travel with dogs and this hotel said they were dog friendly. My comments are only with respect to dog friendly. The up side was that online they showed pet services that were good. We used a dog groomer to get our mutts washed and dried. The down side was that we were required to sign a form that said that we wouldn't let our dogs use any of their property nor their neighbors property for their personal needs. When we asked where we could let our dog use some area we got a bewildered look and told to go two block away, which we did. I wasn't expecting to walk two blocks in the morning first thing to relieve my dogs. To their defense and their neighbors defense, they really only have concrete around them. The Maxwell allows dogs but they are not dog friendly.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello Bill H. Thank you for staying with us here at our nice hotel and we appreciate the recommendation for normal travelers. We are so sorry that we didn't give you the greatest impression with our dog friendliness. We have dog treats at our front desk, free disposal bags, dog bowls, doggy beds, and more. It's a shame that we weren't able to convey just how friendly we are to our four-legged friends. The team just wasn't sure what to say at that moment and I have since spoken to them. We have plenty of grassy areas within 20 feet of the hotel that is not on our neighbors property that your dog can certainly go on. We just ask that you clean up after your dog which is normal these days. I'm so sorry for the misinformation and for the unpleasant feeling that you took away.
All my best, Woody Braden - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 102 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#12 of 102 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Property: The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing