We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple but just what we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simple but just what we wanted”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very friendly, clean, comfortable (no frills) hotel.

Stayed one night with our two young sons. Very convenient for visiting the Space Needle and with several decent local restaurants.

Only down side is that the view from the back of the hotel was a little dilapidated - but not a problem just not very scenic.

Overall great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for visiting us here at our friendly and comfortable hotel. We are glad that we took great care of you!

Please come back and see us again soon.

Warm regards,
Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,632
    667
    103
    18
    19
See reviews for
754
936
106
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location, walked to the needle and Chihuly Gardens. Parking was easy. Checked in at 9:45am and they had a room available. Great place. Went to the Thai garden that we walked to and had excellent food. The beds were extremely comfortable and the tv was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for the great review!
We are glad that you explored the area and enjoyed all of the amenities of the hotel. It's also nice to check into the room early!

Come back and see us soon!

All my best,
Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Built from the ground up, this property is located very close to the Space Needle and surrounding attractions. It was clean and adequate. The soaps and lotions in the bathrooms are attached to the walls so there is not much mess there. They use a Tommy Bahama shampoo, conditioner and lotion....you may want to bring your own if you are particular. The towels were fresh and new. You need to call or ask for a blanket to be brought up as they have a duvet and sheets but no other blanket on the bed. There is a humming in the walls on one side of the building but I used earplugs which blocked it out. You might consider it white noise but I think it was more disturbing than that as my roommate could not sleep. The Hotel is located in what is considered lower Queen Anne so you need to transport to Pike's Marketplace. There is a restaurant that we did not try but I would recommend if I went again called Crow. We did not eat in Queen Anne at all but tried to get back downtown for meals. The cabs were not expensive. They did serve complimentary coffee and cupcakes in the afternoon. Overall the staff was very friendly. We did not use the complimentary shuttle because it did not seem to going when we were ready to go. There is a monorail that will take you from the Space Needle to downtown and drop you at Westlake which is the shopping district. I would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: "South side may not have the humming noise. Upper floors are quieter."
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EandBtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful and expansive review! It truly helps travelers know where we are located and what we have to offer. I hope that next time you join us you can try the Rock restaurant and utilize the complimentary shuttle. It seats 13 people and usually is running to downtown once an hour. Come back and see us soon!

Very best,
Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The staff is amazing and this hotel is in a great location. It's far enough away to make you feel like a local but close enough that you can walk to the big attractions. We had a beautiful room and the parking was much appreiated!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collegegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello Collegegurl! Thank you for your amazing response! We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel, the location, and the complimentary parking.

Come back and see us soon!

Very best,
Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed four nights at The Maxwell in Seattle. We were very happy with the friendly service and the clean, comfortable and tastefully appointed rooms. I loved the hardwood floors and the walk in shower. All the Tommy Bahama toiletries are provided in pump dispensers so there is less waste and you don't have to fumble with little caps and tubes. The hair dryer is on a very short cord but, if you sit on the footstool in front of the mirror by the closet, you'll find the shelf and plug-in there were conveniently installed for hair styling. The free WiFi was a bonus although sometimes slow. A grain of salt here, we are used to 100MB per second download rates. The hotel has a complementary shuttle to many of Seattle's attractions. We found that it was very easy to walk to downtown, Seattle Center, the water front, Pike's Place Market and to Kerry Park on Queen Anne Hill. The food at The Rock (the hotel's afternoon and evening dining establishment) was great. It is true that there is only a small kiosk in the hotel for breakfast but there are lots of little cafe's open for breakfast that are within 2 - 3 blocks of this hotel. Try Citizen Coffee; we found their cappuccino to be fantastic. Cafe Ladro and Cafe Zingaro are also close but they have more limited breakfast menus. Tully's Coffee and black tea are complimentary with the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouBell64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello LouBell!

Thank you for the wonderful review. We pride ourselves in taking great care of our guests and we are so very happy that you and your husband enjoyed your stay!

Come back and see us soon.

All my best,
Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Clean, friendly hotel with extremely limited food resources. If you want a bed to crash in it is fine but don't expect to find breakfast anywhere close the next morning. A miniature espresso bar has limited food but can only serve and cook for one at a time - it is painfully slow. I waited in line and there were four after me. It took nearly 20 minutes to get second rate fast food and they have no trays so if you want to take food for a family you need to take multiple trips to the lobby. I would not stay here again and would only recommend to those needing a clean overnight in this particular location. It is not a base for a vacation or business more than overnight and if this is your first trip to Seattle there are better options in more convenient locations and with better eating options.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank phudsonmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you found the hotel to be clean and friendly. We do apologize about the small size and limited options in the cafe for breakfast. The area around the Maxwell hotel is full of coffee shops and eateries so we will be faster to recommend alternative options. We hope that we can make your future stays with us more enjoyable!

All my best,
Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in late April. Upon arrival the gentleman at the desk was very friendly offering us coffee and cupcakes (that were set out for all guests). They offer free parking (first come basis) which we had no problem finding a spot. The hotel was in a great location. We walked most of the time but when we took a cab it was usually no more than $10 to get anywhere. The rooms were exceptionally clean and really beautifully done. They had free water, Keurig coffee and popcorn too! The rooms had microwaves and mini fridges. Overall an awesome experience and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to visit Seatlle without breaking the budget.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello Jamie D!

It's great to hear about your recent stay with us. We are glad to offer a friendly welcome and great freebies like a Keurig, cupcakes and coffee from 3pm to 7pm, and complimentary parking. It looks like you didn't have any trouble getting around town but we also offer a complimentary shuttle to many terrific locations here in Seattle.

See you soon!

Very best,
Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#21 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing