We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How lucky we were to find the maxwell!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“How lucky we were to find the maxwell!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

After searching and debating about our options in seattle we finally chose The Maxwell. Our choice was based on multiple factors; online reviews, affordability, location, free parking (in a secure underground parking), indoor pool, free shuttle within a 3 mile radius and walking distance to the Seattle Center. Since I had never been to Seattle I did not realize so many things were located together at the Seattle Center. For those of you who are visiting for the first time, the Space Needle, Science Museum, children's museum, key arena, children's theatre, monorail, glass museum are all located right there together. All of them walking distance from The Maxwell. The neighborhood is great, we felt safe walking day and night.

From the time we walked in the staff was wonderful! They treated us like gold our entire stay. We asked multiple questions and they would look everything up for us and give perfect advice. The best part was checking in early without any problems and the next day AFTER checking out they allowed us to leave our car parked there the entire day, allowed my brother who came up from Tacoma to park there all day, and even allowed all of us to utilize the shuttle.

All of the previous reviews about decor, cleanliness, and Pineapple Hospitality sums it up well. Those were my opinion also. I just wanted to add a review to give more info than I had read prior to booking.

Can you say amazing!!! You would be crazy to stay anywhere else! And yes, the pineapple cupcakes are awesome! I will be back and I will make sure to tell everyone the ONLY place to stay in Seattle is The Maxwell!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello Wendy M!

We are glad that you chose us as your Seattle hotel and we appreciate your wonderful feedback. The Seattle Center area has so much to offer and we are glad that you took full advantage of the area. It's nice to see family and I'm glad that we were able to accommodate parking for your brother and provide the shuttle to give easy access to the city. I hope that you had one of those unforgettable days!

The team strives for high service and to make your comfort it's number one priority. I'll let them know that they succeeded and that they have made a lifelong guest!

Come back and see us soon.

Very best,

Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,743
    699
    113
    20
    20
See reviews for
824
983
111
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida City, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Hotel is in an excellent location right outside the Seattle Center site (Space Needle, monorail, etc.). Rooms are large, very comfortable and clean, and nicely appointed. Very friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely stay here on any future trips to Seattle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 138robertj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello!

We appreciate your terrific review of the Maxwell Hotel! I'm glad to hear that the location, comfort and cleanliness, and friendly staff will keep you coming back in the future.

We are here to take great care of you!

Warm regards,

Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My family loves to visit Seattle Center a couple times a year and The Maxwell is by far the best hotel we have found in this area. Beds are comfortable, the decor of the hotel is fun and modern. Location is perfect! It is in a fun area with many restaurants nearby and a short walk to Seattle Center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sastein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for the feedback Sastein!

We are very pleased to hear that we continue to impress you and that the hotel is a perfect fit for your travel plans. The Seattle Center area is one of the best Seattle has to offer and it's worth the visit.

Thank you for continuing to join us here at the Maxwell Hotel! We are here to take great care of you.

All my best,

Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

From check in to check out, this was the best hotel experience I have ever had. Desk staff was very friendly, efficient and competent. The room was beautiful, the beds were comfortable, and the jetted tub was wonderful. The location was excellent, a block away from the Seattle Center and monorail, 2 blocks from a full service QFC grocery, and a block away from stairs leading up to the Queen Anne neighborhood, where we went for a lovely walk when we woke up in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debstevew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review!

As hoteliers, we strive to go above and beyond for each and every guest. It's terrific to hear that we succeeded and that you enjoyed your stay, location, and comfort of the hotel. We just thanked our staff (as we do quite often!) for their continued excellent service.

Come back and see us soon!

Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you want to be a bit off the main beat, and enjoy the lower Queen Anne district, The Maxwell is your place. A 10 min walk--if that--to the Seattle Center (Space Needle, EMP, monorail), made this location perfect. Our double queen room was lovely and fairly spacious. The amenities included--too many to list--with the price of the room far exceed those that many of the "upper end" hotel chains offer. Yet, we felt like we were in an "upper end" hotel. The lobby is very trendy yet comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and polite. I can't say enough about the free parking. That's just unheard of in Seattle until you are several miles away from downtown. We were able to check into our room early (we arrived on a Monday), parked our car in the gated, underground lot, and didn't take it out once during our 5 evening stay! Walking in Seattle as well as the public transportation makes this city such a great destination spot. The hotel offers free shuttle service (both drop off and pick up) within a 3 mile radius which saved us from not only losing our great hotel parking space but also the parking fee at the Woodland Zoo (we slipped the driver a modest tip each way which was still cheaper than the zoo parking fee!). Even though the pool was small, it still offered some evening fun for our two kids. The Maxwell is not pretentious and caters to business travelers, couples, and families. We love Seattle and will definitely stay at The Maxwell again and again!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the outdoor parking spaces (I guess this would be the northeast side), not the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hello Samantha B.!

What a wonderful review! We enjoy our guests feedback and we also strive to go above and beyond so thank you for taking the time to tell others about your terrific experience.

I also love Seattle for being an extremely walker friendly city and the complimentary shuttle doesn't hurt on those not-so-perfect-weather days.

We hope to see you back with us soon!

Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Tammy is a veritable treasure of info on all things Seattle. The staff, rooms, free parking, cupcakes were all great. My only complaint was the noise from the hallways. The doors were thin and we were often woken up in the middle of the night or in the mornings. Didn't sleep well for 3 nights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbraden, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback!

We are glad that you enjoyed and appreciated the staff, comfortable rooms, free parking, and complimentary cupcakes. Not to mention Tammie's excellent service. :) We aim to please and I'm glad that we took such great care of you.

We completely understand the importance of good sleep and, next time you come and stay with us, we will be sure to tuck you away in a nice quiet room so that you can enjoy your slumber.

We hope to see you soon!

Woody Braden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Loved our stay here!

This place is super cute and a great location! Rooms are of modern hip decor, parking is free although it fills up at night due to compact cars parking in full car spaces, and the staff is really friendly.

It has a dog friendly floor, they provided food & water bowls, poo bags, and dog beds that my dogs fell in love with. Chanel preferred the dog bed to sleeping in my bed :)

I love this place and refer it to all my friends who are planning an overnight stay in Seattle.

Also loved the Kuerig Coffee maker and the pineapple afternoon cupcakes. Brilliant customer service!!!

I encourage you to stay here on your next stay in Seattle.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi_rosenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to send out some pineapple love! We're delighted that our four-legged guests also loved their time with us. Please tell them "woof, pant, pant, pant. woof" from all of us at The Maxwell Hotel!

See you back here soon!

Marco Baumann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 101 in Seattle
1,514 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,041 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#5 of 101 in Seattle
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing