We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect for us”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was a perfect hotel for us. It was in a quiet but trendy and central neighbourhood, it allowed dogs and was very laidback, and because it wasn't downtown we were able to take the dogs for walks in the neighbourhood. The rooms are beautiful, the staff is very friendly and keep the place immaculate, and the beds are really comfortable. We had no complaints at all (oh, except could not use the wi-fi in the room, not sure why). There is also a gym and a pool, and you can borrow bikes. We are going to do that next time. The free parking is the icing on the cake. There is a shuttle to downtown but we walked there and back easily. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roundtheworld71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Roundtheworld71,

We’re DELIGHTED that you are already planning your next trip to Seattle and The Maxwell Hotel! We will make sure to have those bikes in top notch shape for you!

Thank you for leaving us a great review. We really appreciate you using your time to talk about our hotel. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

See you soon,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,633
    667
    103
    18
    19
See reviews for
754
937
106
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
217 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Excellent choice for a unique Seattle experience near Seattle Center and Space Needle. Free parking and an easy walk to the monorail. The rooms are nice with king size beds, wood floors, Kuerig's in the room, and a mini fridge. Bring your DVDs as each room is furnished with a player and flat screen television. There is a small pool and exercise room - but really, who needed it when you could easily walk to fun Seattle attractions. There are great rooms with a view of the Space Needle. Also, aside from the in room restaurant, there are great neighborhood eats nearby. The rooms were clean and I slept great - there was very little noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Space Needle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharalDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
SharalDc,

Thank you for this wonderful review of our hotel. We’re really glad to read that you had a relaxing & peaceful stay while you were our guest.

Great guest tip regarding the DVD’s by the way! Also, we keep a stock of DVD’s at the front desk for guests to browse through and borrow during their stay. So IF you do forget a DVD, please feel free to borrow one of ours.

We hope to see you again soon!


Your friend in hospitality,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great hotel by the Space Needle. Free parking, though on a first come first serve basis, and no need to drive into downtown Seattle as they have a shuttle. They did say on their website they had a pool so we brought our swimsuits but it was so small you couldn't actually do any swimming in it. More like something to just get wet in. Has a restaurant on site which was handy as we didn't feel like going out for dinner. Served pizza, hamburgers, etc. and was fine. The rooms were spacious and beds were comfortable. The only problem was that when we tried to connect with the wifi on our IPad, there was no connection. We called down to the front desk and they gave some sort of lame excuse that there was a problem with Apple's IOS6 operating system. Strangely enough, we stayed at two other hotels the previous nights and had no problem. They didn't seem terribly concerned about helping us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlazeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
BlazeVancouver,

Thank you for your review of The Maxwell Hotel. We appreciate you taking a few moments of your time to do so. We’re really happy that with the exception of the WiFi, you enjoyed yourself at the hotel. I am sorry though to read that you felt brushed off in regards to our explanation and handling of the issue. I assure you we absolutely were concerned by the lacking wireless service. We spend all of last week working with our IT team to install all new equipment that would provide a much more consistent wireless signal for our guests. I am happy to report that our wireless is now working as advertised.

We hope that the next time you need a place to stay in Seattle you will choose us again. I feel confident that you will be pleased with our wireless service, thus making the ENTIRE stay a success!

Your friend in hospitality,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here twice. Nice rooms, free parking, free wi-fi, staff extremely helpful and welcoming. Kuerig coffee machine and mini-fridge in each room, which is awesome. No complaints, will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GozerTheTraveler_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
GozerTheTraveler_X,

Thank you for being a repeat guest! It means a lot that we’ve become your hotel of choice when travels bring you to Seattle.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Your friend in hospitality,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This was the 4th time we stayed at the maxwell it used to be our favorite. But something has changed at this hotel. The staff is certainly not as friendly as they once were. We will not return to the maxwell though we now come to Seattle at least 3 times a year . You have lost,a good customer due to the untrained staff you leave at the front of the hotel. The two rude girls at the desk Saturday night the 16th of feb need to be retrained on dealing with distressed customers .

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We're very concerned about your most recent experience. Obviously, this is not the experience you or most of our guests have had. I'd like to speak to you personally to find out more about your stay with us. We pride ourselves on offering all our guests a positively memorable experience. Anything short of that is simply unacceptable to us.

If you would consider contacting me at your leisure directly, we would appreciate the opportunity of finding out more and winning you back as a guest. tsuddith@themaxwellhotel.com

Thank you for your feedback. I hope to have the opportunity to discuss with you.

Regards,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My only quibbles were the creaky upstairs-neighbor noise, and the fact that the wi-fi I'd been counting on did not work once during my stay. (They promise they are replacing the server, so this should soon be a non-issue).
Apart from that, it's very comfortable and stylish, and your room feels like a suite thanks to a carefully-placed wall: you don't see the bed the instant you walk in. The bathroom has tons of counter space, no steam issues, and the towels were somehow the best hotel towels I've ever used. The toiletry dispensers were mounted on the wall, so no little bottles to take home -- but I guess it's greener that way, so okay.
When I checked in, they asked if I had any dog allergies [no], but if they did in fact give me a pet room, I sensed zero evidence of it. Very clean.
The neighborhood is great, and free parking is worth its weight in gold there, so I highly recommend the place. (Park at either the entrance or very-end of the garage for closest hotel access.)

Room Tip: If you make just one request: top-floor. My upstairs neighbor's comings and goings made me need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srs-seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Srs-Seattle,

Thank you for leaving us and any future guests such excellent insider information regarding The Maxwell Hotel. You’ve done a great job detailing the hotel and our amenities.

You mentioned the WiFi inconsistencies and we’re happy to announce that our system has now been fully upgraded with top of the line equipment. It seems to be working much better now. Thank you for your patience during our downtime.

Thank you again for your detailed review. We really look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you need a room in Seattle.

Cheers!
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I completely agree with the previous glowing reviews: We did the 3rd night free rate, and were kindly given a free upgrade to a larger room with a sitting area facing the Space Needle. Clean, quiet, free parking, cupcakes, comfy beds....Many hotels nearby were practically hugging the highway, so we were very happy to have the quiet, yet still being so close to Seattle Center and some great restaurants.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laylaymowm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Laylaymowm,

We’re a fan of YOU! Thank you for taking a few moments to comment on your recent stay at The Maxwell Hotel. I appreciate you mentioning that our hotel is set a bit further back from the busy roads. This information is helpful for future guests questioning how quiet their stay may be.

We hope that the next time your travels bring you to Seattle, you stop in and stay with us a while.

Cheers,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#21 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#3 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing