We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109 (Magnolia / Queen Anne)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Liked It A Lot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Booked the Maxwell based on reviews on this site and am glad I did. Good points were as other reviewers have said: attractive rooms with nice little details, quiet, comfortable, good location with lots of nearby options for food, drink and groceries, pleasant staff, free parking and wi-fi etc. No complaints although a bar/restaurant offering breakfast would be good. We usually stay in the middle of downtown but would definitely stay here again. It is not ritzy and it does involve a bit more walking but it is a bustling, residential neighborhood which made a nice change from the more touristy/business core.

Room Tip: Our room at the back of the building was very quiet (no view of the Space Needle).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozza01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Lozza01,

1) We’re thankful that you found our hotel based on our reviews here on TripAdvisor.
2) We’re delighted that you left a review for other guests, like yourselves, to discover us!

Thank you for giving us a chance! We’re really happy that you liked us, our neighborhood and our amenities. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel the next time you are in Seattle.

Regards,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,315
    578
    81
    14
    14
See reviews for
607
785
89
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Maxwell for a weekend over the Christmas holidays and had a lovely time. Our room was stylish and fun, and very comfortable.
We had a tasty pizza in the hotel bar, and the beer sampler was fun.
The mini fridge allowed us to keep our own milk for our breakfast cereal, since we prefer making our own breakfast to hotel breakfast. A highlight of our trip was discovering the Metropolitan Market several blocks away, which was like Whole Foods but more affordable. The location of the hotel was generally fantastic, it was a ten minute walk to the space needle, and a half hour walk to the pike place market.
Some downsides were: the wifi was not accessible to iphones or iPads, the room heater was very loud, and there was no bathtub.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Mary M,

Thank you for this great review! We’re really happy that you and your husband enjoyed yourselves. The Metropolitan Market is a fantastic addition to the Queen Anne neighborhood; we’re glad that you found them.

We’re sorry to read that you experienced an issue with the Apple iOS not working on our network. Our IT team has been out to the hotel and revamped our entire network. We’re happy to relay that between the recent Apple iOS update mixed with our new equipment, our WiFi is working as advertised!

We’d love to welcome you back to the hotel the next time you are in Seattle. Should you make a future reservation, please mention your desire for a bath tub as we do have a few rooms in the hotel that have a tub.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed in The Maxwell this past weekend to attend a seminar at the Seattle Center. It was an opportunity to explore a part of the city that neither of us had really done before.
If you are looking for a clean, decent and well above average hotel just outside the heart of the city, then this is it!
A five minute taxi ride to Pike Place Market (ok maybe a THREE minute taxi ride), in the Queen Anne district of Seattle, this little gem was perfect for an urban experience.
We could walk to Seattle Center and pretty much any type of restaurant you can possibly think of.
In spite of not having room service, there is an array of restaurant menus at the front desk that will deliver to your room.
There is a fun pizza and burger joint in the hotel and a small coffee bar if you like, which are both decent options, but if you want a really solid breakfast and excellent coffee, CITIZEN is a five minute walk down the street.
Our room was so clean, I couldn't help but wonder if it was brand new and never been slept in. The linens were crisp, the bed was cozy and the towels were so plush, they must have been brand new.
Being a collector of hotel bath products, I was a little disappointed when I discovered that the available products were dispensers bolted into the walls, but thought that was a very "environmentally friendly" way of distributing very nice Tommy Bahama products.
The decor is quite modern and tidy and overall tied in with having an urban experience of Seattle.
We didnt get a chance to use the pool and gym facilities but I did poke my head in to check it out. Nothing overall exciting about it, but definitely ticks the box in the way of cleanliness and good selection of equipment.
I would definitely pick this place again to stay in for future adventures in the city, just outside of the action.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Kelly S,

This is a fabulous review! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed account of The Maxwell Hotel from your recent stay.

While I assure you the room you stayed in is in fact 3 years old, we do make it a point to keep it as pristine as the day we opened our doors! Thank you for noticing.

As a hotel bath amenity collector myself, I can understand your disappointment in not being able to bring home our outstanding Tommy Bahamas collection. However, I really appreciate that you recognize the environmental impact we make by not disposing of countless little plastic bottles each year. Should you stay with us again in the future, let us know and we may be able to get a couple sample sizes of the amenities for you! That can be our little secret. Well us and anyone else reading this!

We hope to see you again soon!

Your friend in hospitality,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasadena
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was a charming hotel right adjacent to Seattle Center. We walked about 1.5 miles to downtown, first walking through the magical Seattle Center, and it was an easy walk. The hotel was charming, spacious, with great attention to detail. Loved the decor and the staff. Needed a recommendation for lunch, and were delighted with the choice. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Mglmgl,

Thank you for your charming review of The Maxwell Hotel. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel and location to be “Perfect”!

We look forward to your return.

Cheers ,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a great hotel, great location. It does have a restauraunt ! The Rock" right off the lobby. But who needs it... there are fantastic restaurants all around it including La Petit Taulouse (BEST FOOD EVER) and McMinnamin's for craft brew. Too bad Phil C didn't check it out. Walk to a great grocery store (to buy your own breakfast for the room etc), the space needle and glass gardens. They take pets and have a wonderful lobby and pool and bikes!. Interior dacor is very upbeat and happy. They have coffee makers, microwaves, fridge, umbrellas & irons all in the room. Stayed many times for many reasons. Great staff who will Google anything for you. Wish they had a jacuzzi but oh well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woody B, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you so much for the review! We appreciate it very much and please come back soon.
All my best, Woody Braden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel was OK, but I just wasn’t as impressed as many others here seemed to be. What particularly bothered me was the lack of a real restaurant in the hotel - just a bar/pizza joint. They don’t even offer breakfast except at a small coffee kiosk in the lobby (not complimentary). To find someplace better to eat you have to walk through the neighborhood. I expected better from a hotel that presents itself as a bit more up-market. Otherwise there was really nothing to complain about, but nothing that really stood out, either - except the very friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Phil C,

Thank you for your review of The Maxwell Hotel. We’re sorry to read that the onsite restaurant, The Rock Wood Fired Pizza, did not excite you. We’ve had generally positive feedback about their offerings. As for the breakfast options at Pineapple Espresso in our lobby, we do provide pastries, breakfast sandwiches and other dry breakfast options. While you are correct that we do not offer a “complimentary” breakfast, we do make up for that with our complimentary WiFi, onsite parking, bicycle rental and in-room microwave/refrigerator.

I am happy to read that our friendly staff did stand out to you. I hope that if you return to Seattle you would be willing to give us another chance. We do believe that we have a lot to offer.

Your friend in hospitality,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

we celebrated our first wedding anniversary in seattle & the maxwell played a big part in our perfect week! it is NOT located in the central downtown area but is about a mile & a half walk (a nice one at that). we utilized the maxwell's awesome shuttle service almost every day during the day & walked back to the hotel. at night the cab ride was about $7-10 depending on where you were headed from downtown. capitol hill, queen anne, and the city center are all a minimal walk away (if you are in to walking like us). we even took a walk uphill to kerry park (steep walk) in about 20 minutes. the hotel is clean, inviting, and the staff was cheery & extremely helpful. they have bikes to rent for guests, free cupcakes in the afternoon, and a convenient coffee bar for a latte or expresso. it was awesome! the walls are slightly thin, but it's hotel living and not your home. we didn't have a problem at all, but i can see if you are a light sleeper and had a noisey hotel neighbor how it would be.

unfortunately, there is a teeny-tiny negative. the wifi & internet access for apple products is "a problem they are looking in to" according to the front desk. my brand new laptop could not grab the wifi at all & my iphone was hit or miss so i relied on my wireless service provider. i know this might be a big deal for someone who may be visiting for business.

all & all this hotel is great! would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtraveler337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Jtraveler337,

First off, CONGRATS! We are honored that you selected The Maxwell Hotel to play a small part in a very special date! We’re glad that you enjoyed the hotel and our city while you were here celebrating your 1st Anniversary.

I do want to take a moment to apologize about the wireless internet. We absolutely recognize that it was not up to par and because of this we’ve revamped the entire system. We are happy to announce that we now have much more stable WiFi throughout the hotel.

Again, thank you for allowing us the opportunity to be your hotel during your anniversary celebration. We hope that the next time you are in Seattle you will select the Maxwell Hotel once again.

Warm regards,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 stars 2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 1000
#4 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,748 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#29 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Property: The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing