We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #12 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Lovely hotel - rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. Unlike many hotels, it feels good to be in these rooms. Beautiful lobby too. Great location - walking distance to Space Needle, Chihuly, EMP museum, and monorail to Pier. We would definitely stay again. Only negative is The Rock restaurant - waited a long time for very mediocre food. But there are so many dining opportunities nearby that there is no need to rely on the on-site restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Patricia K,

It’s so nice to hear that our rooms “feel good to be in”. Thank you for your review of The Maxwell Hotel. We’re happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and our location to area attractions.

I am sorry to read that you did not receive great service at the onsite restaurant. I will be sure to share your feedback with their owners and managers. They are very receptive to all feedback and I am certain they would be disappointed to know that a guest left with a bad feeling.

Despite this hiccup, we’re glad that you and your family enjoyed your time at The Maxwell Hotel. We hope to see you again.

Your friend in hospitality,
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,074 - 2,080 of 2,897 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Maxwell Hotel is a pleasant, well-appointed and well located hotel that is a very good value. Rooms are good sized and very comfortable, and it is one of the only "luxury" hotels that offers free underground parking, an additional $25-$35 savings right there. I have stayed at the Maxwell numerous times and always had a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilbanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Lilbanjo,

Thank you for your review of The Maxwell Hotel. We’re very happy to read that you find us to be a great value. Our return guests always have a special place in our hearts. Thank you for continuing to make the Maxwell your hotel of choice while in Seattle.

Until next time!

Warm Regards,
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

First, as the title indicates, I would like to have been able to give a 4.5 rating to this hotel as a 4 is lower than I actually like. I would give it a 5, but I am one of those people who looks at a 5 as indicating absolutely nothing could be improved so I think I have only given a 5 maybe once in my life.There are always little things that could be better.

Second, this was my daughter's and my second trip to stay at the Maxwell in the past year. Both times, we were attending concerts at Mccaw Hall on the Seattle Center grounds (and additionally attending the King Tut exhibit on our last stay). We found the hotel to be clean, cute and very comfortable. Well described by the reviewer who called it “fun & funky”. As two women traveling alone, we felt safe both in the hotel and in its environs. We walked to and from our various events at the Seattle Center, even well after dark and never felt the least bit uncomfortable. There are many nice restaurants within walking distance. It is very easy to walk into the middle of the Seattle Center, take the monorail and just walk to Pike Street Market and the surrounding area of downtown Seattle. We chose to do that rather than use the very nice and flexible shuttle service the hotel provides just so we could go look around and decide spontaneously exactly where we wanted to go next. From my perspective, the very slight inconvenience of travel to those areas is far outweighed by the ambience of the Queen Anne neighborhood where the Maxwell is located and the proximity to concerts, exhibits, Seattle Center/Space Needle attractions and neighborhood restaurants, as well as the tantalizing Queen Anne Metropolitan Market (which provided us delightful pastries and hot food for breakfasts we could eat there or take back to our room since the in-house restaurant at the Maxwell is not open for breakfast).

As to the hotel itself, as aforesaid the decor is fun and the rooms are scrupulously clean and exceedingly comfortable and fairly spacious. Yes, one can quibble that the view of the Space Needle may be only that portion of it that towers above the parking structure, there is some road noise (but really not that bad) if you stay on the "view" - Roy Street side of the hotel, the in-room wi-fi is sometimes overwhelmed and is NOT meant for streaming, but those are all very small gripes for what is otherwise a wonderful hotel that you can get great value from, especially as compared to downtown hotels. Love their business center ... the computers there do not experience the vagaries of in-room wi-fi; love their cupcakes in the afternoon.

As to the service, we have ALWAYS had top-notch service both in the reservation process and after check in. Our first trip, we drove and were pleased to learn there was free parking. We parked our car on arrival and never moved it in all 4 days due to the easy availability of ways to get around. Our second trip we took the train, and were picked up and dropped off promptly and courteously by the hotel's shuttle.

I would recommend anyone stay here (although I hope you won't fill up the hotel when our next trip takes place ... leave room for us). I can’t imagine going anywhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oreg0n_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Oreg0n_Traveller,

Back to back amazing reviews! We’re so grateful. Thank you so much for writing this wonderful review of our hotel. We wish you could have given us 4.5 stars as well. ; )

We are delighted that The Maxwell has worked so well for you and your daughter. It’s great that you feel safe at the hotel as well as within our neighborhood. We believe Queen Anne to be a fantastic little hamlet here in Seattle. Thank you for commenting on the restaurants and other attractions in our local.

In regards to our internet, this is something we’re constantly working on. Currently, our IT Director is researching new technology that will allow all of our guests a better WiFi experience. We hope to have all of our WiFi updated by the end of February.

We look forward to your next visit! Thank you for making the Maxwell Hotel your home away from home while in Seattle.

Cheers,
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at The Maxwell Hotel this past December. I am so happy with our experience there. First of all, we got a great deal on a two queen room through Orbitz, only $138 for the night. I think it was the time of year that had a lot to do with that though, because I checked prices again for this summer, and for the same room, it's at least $100 more per night! That's out of our tight budget, but I understand summer is a busy time.

Our room:
We stayed in a two queen room. The decor was fun and funky. Bright splashes of color mixed with black and white bedding. The beds were comfortable. Room was clean and spacious. There was a desk, flat screen tv, fridge, microwave, chair and ottoman.
Our view was part parking lot and part houses/apartments behind the hotel.

Bathroom:
Very clean. Neat shower with no door. The shower is set far enough back, so that when you take a shower, no water gets on the floor. Pretty cool. The towel rack is inside the shower as well, so when you are done you don't have to step out to grab your towel. Speaking of towels, I'm not sure what this hotel does differently than others, but these were some of the softest, plushest hotel towels ever. That might sound like a strange thing to notice, but most hotel towels are thin and scratchy, and do a real number on my sensitive skin. But these were so nice! Anyway, it just made me wonder why can't all hotels keep their towels so soft??
The toiletries were Tommy Bahama brand, but they weren't individual sized. Rather they were in dispensers on the wall.

Over all:
The lobby was nice. Check in was quick and easy. They offered little bite size pineapple cupcakes which I thought were really cute. They also offer a free shuttle that we took to Pike Place market. Parking in Seattle is a nightmare! It was nice not to have to drive. Parking at the hotel is free, which is a big deal. Some other hotels were charging up to $30 a night extra in parking fees.
No breakfast of any sort offered, but with a fridge and microwave in your room, you could always prepare simple items in there. The location is nice. Not far from many of the touristy spots.
We didn't use the indoor pool, but we did take a peek at it. It was very small and ordinary.
They have a computer below the lobby that we used to check in for our flight the next day, so that was handy.

Over all, we really enjoyed this hotel. I'd definitely stay there again, and have recommended it to two of my friends planning to visit the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethanneU4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

BethanneU4,

WOW! This is a very detailed and wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking the time it took to write this out. I really believe this will be very helpful to potential guests that are perusing TripAdvisor looking for a hotel in Seattle. We’re very grateful that you took the time to write this all out. Also, we’re glad you liked out towels! We take great pride in keeping them soft and fluffy!

Thank you for highlighting our complimentary parking at the hotel. We truly believe to be a great benefit of our hotel. I do want to point out though that it is on a first come first served basis as we do not guarantee a spot.

We hope to see you again soon!

Your friend in hospitality,
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was my first trip to Seattle and I chose to stay at the Maxwell Hotel. Everything exceeded my expectations there. The only thing that is missing is food. They don't have any continental breakfast or vending machines. Other than that it was perfect. Great location only a short walk to the Space Needle. Located very a couple minutes to downtown.

Room Tip: The higher floors have an excellent view of the Space Needle and surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Bernard M,

We’re very happy that you found the Maxwell Hotel. Thank you for commenting on your recent stay. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay.

While we do not offer a continental breakfast, our espresso stand in the lobby does offer coffee, pastries, parfaits and breakfast sandwiches at reasonable prices.

Thank you as well for leaving a tip for future guests of the hotel. We know potential guests viewing TripAdvisor comments appreciate these tips/notes.

Warm Regards,
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just returned from a weekend at the Maxwell in Seattle and it was absolutely perfect. Our request for a fifth floor room was honored, which was great because it had nice view of the surrounding area. Our room was spacious and very clean. Very happy with the heating system in the room as we could really control the temp well, not too hot or too cold and not too noisy as some hotel systems are. The beds were so comfortable....and lots of pillows. The staff were all friendly and helpful with directions. Plenty of free parking underneath the hotel. We also found that the hotel was within walking distance of many attractions and also the downtown waterfront area. Not a short walk, but only about 30-40 minutes, which was fine and allowed us to see more of the city. And the rate was very, very reasonable for the quality or the hotel.
Overall we were very pleased with our stay and will absolutely stay here again when visiting Seattle.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdcparunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Cdcparunner,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of The Maxwell Hotel. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be a great fit for your needs.

Our Air Conditioning unit seems to be a hot topic these days. We really appreciate you commenting that you found it to be user friendly. This feedback will be a help to any future guests who review TripAdvisor.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in Seattle.

Cheers,
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Perfect location, just blocks away from the Space Needle and PSC. This is a small, boutique style hotel that is classy and cool, with a definite artsy vibe. Concierge service was first-rate, helpful and friendly. I liked being able to book their shuttle for free trips within 3 or so miles of the hotel. The rooms are very spacious and clean with high-quality bedding. Complimentary coffee and cupcakes in the lobby every night was a sweet treat. I would love to return here anytime and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Space Needle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Blondie95746,

Thank you for spending a few moments of your day to share your experience at The Maxwell Hotel. We’re really happy to see that you enjoyed yourself. Word of mouth recommendations are such a powerful marketing tool for us and it means so much that you would consider recommending us to your friends and family.

We hope to see you again soon!

Your friend in hospitality,
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Mayflower Park Hotel
#17 of 105 in Seattle
2,357 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 105 in Seattle
1,601 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 105 in Seattle
2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 105 in Seattle
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: $165 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing