We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, not-so-nice hood.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #8 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel is pretty nice, but the location is uninspired. I prefer staying downtown when I am in Seattle, so I can be in walking distance of the Market and the restaurants around it as well as attractions including the Art Gallery. On this stay we had tickets for a baseball game, and had to hop the Monorail, then some sort of rail transit to get within walking distance of the stadium.

The hotel had a shuttle, but it was already booked. Given their remoteness from the action, I think more than one shuttle would be in order.

We found the surrounding neighbourhood very dreary. Lot's of big parking garages for Seattle Centre, and not much in the way of restaurants and shops. In fact, we pretty much explored everything the neighbourhood offered in about 20 minutes of walking and found it all underwhelming. We had dinner one night at a nearby Indian restaurant, and the people running it and cooking the food may well have been sleepwalking.

The one thing I really detested about the hotel was the toiletry set up. They feature Tommy Bahamas toiletries, which are fairly nice, but you had to reach into a corner to get them from a dispensary. I really prefer the "single serve" variety.

Also, there is a pizza-type restaurant in the hotel, and a little coffee kiosk for breakfast foods and snacks. I don't eat wheat, and the kiosk had a few alternatives, but I didn't set food in the pizza place. Even if I wanted to eat pizza, the place seemed to be out of context for the ambience of the hotel.

The owners of the hotel have tried to create an attractive environment, and they have succeeded for the most part (though as I said I hated the toiletry set up). If you have business in the Seattle Centre area, this would be an enjoyable hotel to stay in.

But, if you want to stay in the heart of the action, or in an interesting neighbourhood that really shows Seattle at its best and most vibrant, think about staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieLeeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

BonnieLeeW,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to comment on your stay at The Maxwell Hotel back in October. While we’re sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy our neighborhood, we are happy that the hotel met your expectations.

A lot of our guests enjoy the quietness that our location brings. Being only a few blocks from the hustle and bustle of downtown we feel that we provide the best of both worlds. Close proximity to lots of restaurants, hot spots and things to do, all while tucked away in a sleepy quieter part of town.

Our apologies you were unable to make use of our shuttle. We do ask that all of our guests who intent to use the complimentary shuttle, do so by making reservations early in the day. (You can also call ahead and request a time.)

We hope to have a chance to serve you hotel needs again in the future.

Regards,
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,008 - 2,014 of 2,818 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very nice hotel with amazing decor!The location is far from center,but it's not so far,so you can get to the downtown without problem..The room is cool,big bed.Have stayed 4 days. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. It was great experience in Seattle.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kier8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Kier8,

Hei! As a Finn myself, I LOVE hearing from our Finnish guests. We’re delighted that our hotel allowed you to comfortably explore Seattle. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again!

Kiitos,
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We did a staycation for New Years at the Maxwell. What a great, new hotel find in Seattle. The rooms were great, well designed and decorated. The staff was very helpful with restaurants and getting transportation. It was great to walk 2 blocks to watch the New Years firework display at the 'Needle. We will be back.

Room Tip: Get a Space Needle view room, you also get a nice view of downtown at least from our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallKirklander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

TallKirklander,

With so many options here in the city, we’re delighted that you chose The Maxwell Hotel as your hotel for your “Staycation”. Our proximity to the Space Needle certainly does make things easy for the New Year festivities! We hope to see you back next New Years! (As well as any other time throughout the year!)

Cheers,
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just came back with my family (my wife and 2 kids) from our 4th trip to Seattle and this was probably our best experience in this town. The hotel is very modern and at a walking distance of the space needle, museum of music, Chihuly glass gardens , the childrens museum and a whole lot of different restaurants. You can also walk to the light train station and get to down town in 5-10 min (Pike's market etc). Parking is included which was a big plus for us because usually in down town they charge you an extra $35-40/night on parking fees. The only "but" is that they dont have any restaurant for breakfast (they do for dinner/lunch).. but in any case there are plenty of starbucks, mc donalds or even you can have breakfast at the market. A small suggestion/comment from my wife was that the water from the pool was a bit cold... but other than that i would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauricio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Mauricio M,

To you and your family, THANK YOU! We’re delighted that our hotel was a great fit for the four of you. We consider ourselves a very Family Friendly property and location. It’s refreshing when the things we believe of ourselves, end up being the feelings our guests share as well!

While the onsite restaurant does not serve breakfast, we do offer breakfast sandwiches and pastries at our lobby espresso stand. Our apologies about the pool temperature. I will check with our maintenance staff to ensure it’s at its correct temperature.

Thank you again for this great review. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Warm Regards,
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Small neat hotel! I like the location as it it just outside of the downtown hustle and bustle yet at the same time is close to it all - shopping, pubs, nite life etc. Have stayed here twice and would again! Very clean rooms and 'cool like that' decor style!

Room Tip: When staying here it has not been for a 'great view' but yet neither is the view poor either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zengeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Zengeza,

As much as we appreciate your review, we appreciate your repeat business even more! Thank you for continuing to stay with us when you need to stay the night in Seattle. We look forward to your next visit.

Your friend in hospitality,
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We just returned from our stay at the Maxwell and enjoyed everything about our week there. The room was very spacious and nicely decorated in a hip Seattle sort of style, the bathroom was plenty big also and had a great vanity - no need to pile your stuff on the floor. The beds were very comfortable and the in-room coffee was better than most I've had at "continental breakfast" elsewhere. During the time we were there, the hotel offered a "stay 2 nights and get the third free" promotion which saved us quite a bit (I called the hotel directly to book that). In all, we wouldn't hesitate to book there again; we've stayed in plenty of hotels with amenities not nearly as nice as this one at a higher rack rate. if you haven't been to Seattle before, the location is great also.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

LupnerAV,

Thank you for this fantastic review of The Maxwell Hotel. We were very happy to have you in house for such a long stay. The Third Night Free promotion you booked through the hotel is slated to run through the end of March. Should your travel plans bring you back to Seattle, we’d love to have you back as our guest.

Cheers!
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Really nice modern boutique hotel within easy walking distance of the Space Needle, the sky train into Downtown and the trendy Queen Ann Avenue. The guy on the front desk when we arrived could not be more helpful and the room was huge and comfortable. We thought this place was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

BigT_11

Thank you for taking a few moments to provide your review of The Maxwell Hotel. We’re happy that you found our hotel to be well staffed, a value for your money and convenient for your needs while on vacation.

We look forward to your next visit!

Regards,
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 104 in Seattle
1,583 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#17 of 104 in Seattle
2,320 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 104 in Seattle
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: $137 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing