We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip & Friendly in A Great Neighborhood!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
Ranked #13 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
silverdale
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hip & Friendly in A Great Neighborhood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Nice, modern & clean boutique property in a terrific location in the Queen Anne neighborhood, within walking distance of everything the Seattle Center has to offer! (Space Needle, numerous museums including EMP, Key Arena for concerts, the Chihuly Garden & Glass - a must see!) You can catch the monorail from there to the city center downtown in just minutes, or its a healthy walk for the adventuresome. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, most particularly don't miss Toulouse Petit - delish! The staff was super friendly & accommodating, when we checked in to our "city" view room on the 3rd floor to discover we had to peer thru numerous power lines & over the parking garage, upon our request they promptly delivered a set of keys to a new room for us on the 5th floor with a less obstructed view! Both rooms are ideally set up, immaculate & the decor inviting! Bed, pillows & linens were comfortable, & parking was easy & free!! We will most certainly stay again!

Room Tip: If booking a "city view" room, request the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbabeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
What a wonderful review of our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. We appreciate that you highlighted such detailed information about our neighborhood for potential future guests to review. We agree that the Chihuly Garden and Glass is a MUST SEE! In fact, we are actually partnered with them on a hotel package. Please see our website for more information about that.

Thank you for leaving the tip about our 5th floor rooms for future guests as well. I would just like to point out that our 5th floor is our SMALLEST floor with only 7 rooms actually being “City View” rooms. Due to this, we do not always have the availability for guests to upgrade to the 5th floor. We were happy to upgrade you that evening as we did have the availability at that time.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!


Happy Travels,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,419
    606
    90
    16
    15
See reviews for
658
840
95
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

After several disappointing stays with name brand hotels, we found the Maxwell by their customer ratings online. They are very accommodating, and the Hotel is set up to make everything easy, from check-in to parking. There are several 24 hour premium grocery stores nearby and tons of things to do around the area. The bed and the sheets were very well done and comfortable. I will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Tim,

As a traveler myself, I understand your desire to keep us a secret. As a hotel manager, I LOVE that you shared your review with all of the TripAdvisor community. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did. We look forward to your return.

Cheers,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I came to visit his family in Lynnwood and they took us to Seattle one night and we ended up asking them to just leave us in the city. I found a fantastic deal on Hotel Tonight for your hotel and I couldn't believe how amazing your hotel was!! I chose your hotel because I am a huge fan of boutique hotels and you had great reviews! There was another hotel that I was interested but you came before them on the top hotels in Seattle. :) It is also really close to the monorail.Your entire hotel was so spacious and so clean! The rooms and entire hotel were practically gleaming. My favorite thing about your room was that the soaps were in dispensers. Way to stay green!

When I checked out I mentioned to the front desk that I drank a bottle of water and the lady told me it was complimentary. That's fantastic but I wish the front desk gentleman who checked us in would have told us that. In fact, we weren't informed about anything about the hotel. :( And since it was a last minute stay we were bummed you didn't provide toothbrushes.

Great stay all throughout though. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
StephanieAN,

Thank you for leaving us such a great review of our hotel. We’re happy that you found us on such short notice and enjoyed your stay. We’re glad to see that you enjoyed our “Green” efforts as well. We work hard to be as green as possible in this industry. It’s nice when these efforts are noticed.

Our apologies for not informing you that the water in your room is complimentary. We place complimentary water and popcorn in each of our guestrooms. Please feel free to indulge on your next visit and if need be, we’d be happy to bring you extras!

Your friend in hospitality,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is a fun and funky hotel in a great neighborhood. Walk to the Space Needle or hop on the Monorail to the Westlake Center. The hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly. The hotel provides a free shuttle to many local attractions and David, our driver, was amazing and helpful! We reserved the Maxwell Ensemble suite and it was clean and spacious. We were on the third floor and while we had a view of the space needle, I think the best views are on the fifth floor. The free Wi-Fi is a nice benefit but it was very slow with constant dropped connections. This was not a huge issue for us as we were visiting for a weekend and we had our smartphones. The room service provided by "The Rock" restaurant was reasonably priced and very good. Be sure to have David drive you to upper Queen Anne to enjoy all the wonderful shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdxfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for the great review of The Maxwell Hotel you’ve posted on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of our shuttle to get around and see the unique shops, restaurants and all the beauty Seattle has to offer. David appreciates the kind words you shared about him for the rest of our potential guests to see!

Our apologies for the WiFi issue. This is a known issue that our IT Department is working on right now. We hope to have it solved very soon.

We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed in The Maxwell Hotel Seattle for 4 nights last November from 3rd-7th with my husband. It was a great experience in Seattle and a pleasant stay at The Maxwell .
First of all the hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The check in time was one hour earlier which I didn't expected at that moment. Secondly, the hotel is Earth friendly, which provides fair quality shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and lotion. It also provided an umbrella, one bag of popcorn, and two bottle of water each day. The best thing is FREE Parking and FREE bike rent. Walking distance to Space Needle, EMP Museum, and Pecific Science Center.
The only thing need to improve is the night table that is too small between 2 beds for share. Another thing is I would recommend a shower curtain between the shower and the bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenLuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
HelenLuan,

Thank you for commenting on your stay at The Maxwell Hotel back in November. We’re happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, as well as our Earth friendly amenities, bike rental and complimentary parking!

We hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

There is no closer hotel to MacCaw Hall than the Maxwell, which is why I've stayed there several times. You can see the space needle from a view room. On the lower floors you also get a view of the parking garage for McCaw Hall, which shows just how close you are.

I love this place when I am in Seattle for a weekend of opera. The staff are helpful, the bed comfortable, and they have a Keurig coffee maker in every room. The hotel is conveniently located to several restaurants, including McMenamin's.

This boutique hotel is has a spacious lobby with a small coffee bar. The only drawback is the closet space, which is why I don't stay here if I am in Seattle for an extended period of time. The closet is open air and tiny, so it has a limit as to how much clothing you can hang,

If McCaw Hall or Seattle Center is your destination, definitely check out the Maxwell Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DigitalRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
It seems we both share a love of our neighbor, McCaw Hall. Thank you for pointing out how close we are to their fantastic venue. We are glad to be your hotel of choice when you come to Seattle for the Opera.

We’re sorry to read that our closet space doesn’t work for you on longer stays. If you are interested in staying with us for a longer period of time, our Maestro Suite offers a full California-style closet that would fit enough clothing for a stay of several weeks. We’d be happy to show you the room if it is available on your next trip to Seattle.

Hope to see you soon!

Your friend in hospitality,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitsap, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Maxwell Hotel has the most convenient location I’ve ever experienced. So many activities are in close proximity.The Maxwell Hotel is definitely the place to stay after that next big event at Key Arena or Seattle Center. There is so much to see and do in that area, especially this time of year with the Nutcracker at the Pacific Northwest Ballet, Teatro ZinZznni shows, events at the Key, Pacific Science Center, Chichuly Garden and Glass, Children’s Museum, Winterfest at the center, and of course the Space Needle, Monorail, EMP Museum, and the International Fountain.
We enjoyed the on-site restaurant, the fitness room and pool, the complimentary parking, complimentary Starbucks drip coffee and pineapple minicupcake, complimentary transportation within a 3-mile radius, and friendly staff.
The Maxwell Hotel is a great place for families, couples, or just you and the girls. You can even bring your pet!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better view of the City, the Space Needle, or Queen Anne hill. Larger room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Diane,

Thank you for such a great review. Not only do we here at The Maxwell Hotel thank you, but I would imagine most of the Queen Anne neighborhood of Seattle thanks you as well. You really did a great job listing all of the outstanding aspects of this neighborhood.

We’re happy you were able to take advantage of all that Queen Anne and Seattle have to offer. We hope to see you again soon.

Cheers ,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 stars 2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#14 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,890 reviews
Hotel 1000
#11 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,820 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Property: The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing