We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We concur with the positive reviews of this hotel, awesome location, very clean, well maintained, newly updated and modern. The restaurant/lounge equally as good. The only cons were, when arriving at 8:45 on a Monday evening, we wonder if the front desk staff felt as though we were returning guests. She was very pleasant and accommodating, however she did not advise us of the included amenities (free microwave popcorn, water in the room and DVD's at the front desk), Wi-Fi access password, or that they don't use hotel info binders in the rooms, it's all online now. We did however discover all this when we asked a very helpful gentleman at the front desk the next day. A nice touch, fresh half & half cream in the room fridge for your coffee/tea, and a Keurig coffee maker. Another small thing, the hardwood floors are very nice, except when the people above you are walking back and forth early in the morning. They have a nice little take away eatery/canteen at the entrance that's open from 6:30am till 4pm. We went to get a quick breakfast snack the morning we left, but the only employee was on a 30 minute lunch break at 10:45? Minor points for the overall pluses of this hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: Suggest requesting a top floor facing South. Hardwood floors can be a little noisy if above you, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Mike and Lynn,

We really appreciate your review. Thank you for taking a few moments to share your thoughts with the traveling community. We’re enjoyed reading your review.

I do apologize that you were not provided accurate property information during your first encounter with our staff. I was happy, however, to read that our staff was very helpful for you during the remainder of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maxwell Hotel the next time business or leisure brings you back to Seattle.

Cheers,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,373
    590
    87
    16
    16
See reviews for
641
810
91
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Maxwell Hotel is a great Boutique Hotel right in the heart of The Seattle Center. It is an easy walk to Pike Place Market, The Monorail, The Space Needle and other great activities and areas of Seattle. The Hotel itself is very modern love the decor of the lobby and rooms! They give you a complimentary bottle of wine on your stay, nice touch! Friendly and knowledgeable staff, Clean rooms, European Showers so no doors-kind of neat but not so sure about that...Tommy Bahama Soap and Shampoo and Conditioner. We had a view of the Space Needle from our room. Had a corporate event held here, good food and drinks. The Rock Pizzeria is attached, pretty good food, had a burger. Love the coffee and cupcakes reception from 3pm-7pm, complimentary of course. Downfalls of this hotel: No room service (but you can walk up to Pineapple Espresso) and their wifi connection is very slow, hard to connect too, it kicks you off alot. Overall, however, great place and I will be back!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of The Space Needle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hopefully you we’re completely sleepless in our hotel! We’d like to think that you were able to take advantage of our comfortable beds. Kidding aside, we’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also glad to read that you found our location to be a perfect fit for your time in Seattle.

Thank you for this thorough review. You certainly hit a lot of our highpoints. That will be very helpful to other travelers researching our hotel. I would like to take a moment and clarify a couple of things from this review though. We do not provide a complimentary bottle of wine to each of our guests, but we do provide complimentary parking, cupcakes, coffee, popcorn, bikes and WiFi to all of our guests. Also, you mentioned that we do not provide room service, this is half correct. The hotel doesn’t provide room service, however the Rock Wood Fired Pizza does provide room delivery of their menu items.

Again, I want to thank you for your review of our hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Yours in hospitality,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nice hotel. A little weird with all the pineapples all over the place. However, clean and nice staff. Nice to have hardwood (or laminate floors) in a hotel. Kind of takes the gross factor out of carpets in hotels. Overall nice experience,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking a few moments to comment about your recent stay with us. We’re glad you enjoyed our flooring choice. We strongly believe that our decision to go with a laminate floor allows for us to keep our rooms cleaner than had we chose carpet.

The Pineapple is the international symbol for hospitality. We’ve adopted it into our logo and culture as our way of showing the world we know how to create positive lasting memories through providing authentic hospitality.

We hope to see you again the next time you visit Seattle.

Your friend in hospitality,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at the Maxwell one night while in town for an event. The place is adorable, decor is fun, people are friendly and the location can't be beat. Also, the room was immaculately clean which is my top priority. The neighborhood was great with lots of small restaurants surrounding the hotel and walking distance to the major attractions.

Room Tip: I had a room with a view of the space needle which was very cool. However, I only spent a little ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aztraveler443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review of The Maxwell Hotel. We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable time with us and found your room to be immaculately clean.

Cheers,
Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, MT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed for three days on a recent business trip. Rooms were great- everything I needed at hand and appealing, modern decor. Location in lower Queen Anne a block from Seattle Center was really a plus. Monorail five minutes away. The staff was friendly and helpful. Loved the decor, the bikes available for use and the cupcakes and coffee in the afternoon. Nice pool and small work-out room available as well. Will definitely stay there again next time I am in Seattle.

Room Tip: The view of the city and Space Needle really made it a Seattle visit- worth the extra if it's in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcgall19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay enough to come back another time! We appreciate you mentioning all of our offerings. (Bikes, fitness center, pool and location)

We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,
Tyler Suddith - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Overall I would recommend this hotel. Rooms were nice and whole hotel appears to be updated. Free shuttle was a big bonus and use of bicycles is a nice touch. Promimity to mono rail and arts venues is very good. Only two things keeping me from rating it a 5 - wifi didn't work most of the time and the gym was very disappointing for a hotel is size. Really need to upgrade the gym and add equipment.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank argos14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West USA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Went to a concert at Key Arena. This is the perfect location...close to Key, lots of good restaurants, extremely friendly and helpful front desk staff. Comfortable beds. Frig and microwave were convenient. Room size adequate. Wifi doesn't work with new IPAD's. Recs for restaurants include Crow and Toulouse Petit. Decent price...around $165 per night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Western View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. We're happy to read that you found our hotel to be the perfect location for concerts at the Key Arena in downtown Seattle. We take pride in our service commitments; it's wonderful to hear you found us to bee friendly and helpful.

Our apologies about the internet connectivity issues with iPads/iPhones. This issue stemed from a recent update to iOS6. We've been working wiht our IT team as well as Apple's and we now have a resolution. Should you stay with us again, we would be happy to help you connect your device.

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit.

Your friend in hospitality,
Tyler Suddith - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 stars 2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 1000
#5 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,786 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,378 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#36 of 101 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality

Property: The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing