We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in a Fun, Quaint Neighborhood!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, SC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in a Fun, Quaint Neighborhood!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This as our first trip to Seattle. We wanted to stay downtown as we didn't want to deal with a rental car on this adventure. The Maxwell was highly-rated on TA, and after additional research on the hotel, I was sure that this was the place for us to stay in Seattle. The Queen Ann area, where the hotel is located, has a funky, unique vibe that we really enjoyed. It's easy to walk downtown to the hot spots (Space Needle, etc). There's also a bus stop within 3 or 4 blocks that we used often to get us where we wanted to go. We also used the (complementary) hotel shuttle a few times - very convenient. About the hotel: The staff is outstanding! They were so helpful during our entire stay. They knew that this trip was to celebrate my (40th) birthday, and at check-in they upgraded our room. We had a beautiful view of the Space Needle from our room. We will definitely stay at The Maxwell when we return to Seattle in the future. A few (small) beefs that I had with the hotel: When I went to use the iron for the first time, I found that it was broken (literally about to fall apart) and unusable. This thing should have been trashed long ago! I took it to the front desk and when we returned from dinner later that night, a new(er) one was waiting in our room. I applaud the quick remedy, but it should not have been an issue to start with. Staying on that (wrinkled clothing) note, the hotel has those crappy (tiny) ironing boards in the rooms. Those things aren't worth even trying to use! We ended up putting a towel on the bed and ironing on it. Can regular-sized ironing boards cost that much more??? Finally, in the bathroom, the shower was nice and large, but it lacked a door/curtain (on purpose). This was interesting, yet unpractical as we had to "waste" some of our extra towels each time we showered, as the floor would be wet from the splashed water (even though we tried to splash as little as possible) and we'd have to spread towels on the floor to avoid slippage and wet feet. That being said, overall we were very pleased with the hotel. Its excellent ratings are well-deserved.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on an upper floor. They gave us a room on the top floor. No noise issues at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chucktown_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,713
    692
    111
    18
    20
See reviews for
798
975
110
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Fun and quirky. Decorated in a fanciful style that automatically will put a smile on your face and put you in vacation mode. The rooms are laid out a bit different that a usual hotel room, with a curved blue wall that allows for a larger walk in doorless shower. Staff could not have been more helpful. A convenient shuttle will take you anywhere within about a 3 mile radius until 6PM. You must reserve in advance, but we had no issues doing so. It even took us to the light rail center for a trip back to the airport. The location is close to Seattle Center, so walking to those attractions was a snap. It is also located within a lovely, safe residential area, with 2 different grocery stores a short walk away, making it easy to fill the fridge for breakfast and snacks. There was a small store where you could purchase breakfast items, and they were of good quality. An attached music themed restaurant is a fun find with good food. And - free afternoon pineapple cupcakes.

Room Tip: Ask in advance if they have any rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smarusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

There's a rather odd flair to the wall colourings and paintings in vast lobby and hallways of the Maxwell Hotel. Once in your room though, classiness takes the forefront. The rooms are large and tastefully decorated. You get a big-screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, and the bathroom countertop is made of granite ... or maybe marble. Add to that its great downtown location and you've got a winnner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack-Dru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was in Seattle on business and my wife traveled with me. We were looking for a hotel that was near downtown and on the north side. The Maxwell was one of the better hotels I have stayed in (and I have to travel a lot). The staff were great. The hotel clean. The room were not the largest, but they were very comfortable. The hotel provided free wifi, water, popcorn in the room, great coffee and those little pineapple cupcakes. I have been critical of other hotels for charging customers for every amenity (I don't typically stay are those again). The Rock Wood Fired Pizza was hooked on to the hotel. Really good food and again, great staff (and a good happy hour on Sunday and Monday). We were a little concerned getting there the first time since we were not familiar with Seattle. We took the train from SeaTac airport ($2.75 pp), then took the monorail ($2.25 pp) to the Space Needle (great brunch on Sundays) and then walked to the hotel. It was very easy and we really enjoyed the walk. I also took a taxi to work (I was there on business) and we took it to downtown when we left. The complimentary hotel shuttle runs 8-5pm (reservations needed since it only carries a few people). Overall, this will be our hotel of choice in Seattle. It is away from the crowds of downtown. We felt completely safe walking around the hotel. The little place in the lobby where you can get coffee and breakfast food was OK. For the price and convenience, it was fine. We stayed in room 344 for 4 nights. No complaints.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camcolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Having arrived in Seattle via Amtrak at 11:15 a.m. we were checked-in and enjoying our well-appointed room before noon! The rooms are clean and well-designed, the beds comfortable, the towels high-quality and absorbent, and the walk-in shower was great. I appreciated the understated but elegant decor, and welcomed the laminate flooring rather than carpet.

I'm always a little bit leery when booking a hotel that isn't right downtown, but The Maxwell didn't disappoint. It was a short 2 block walk to catch the monorail ($4.50 round trip ea.) to the downtown core. If you're a walker it could easily be done on foot (8 blocks), but we had been up since 4 a.m. to catch our train so enjoyed the ride on this visit.

Apart from the pub style restaurant (beers, burgers, wraps, pizza, salads, etc.) in the hotel, there are restaurants galore (Vegetarian, Thai, Irish Pub, etc.) within a block or two of the Maxwell. We opted to eat at the hotel pub and found the food good and the prices reasonable. A small kiosk in the lobby also offered breakfast bagels (eggs with choice of ham, bacon, sausage, etc.) for take away, which suited us perfectly. The rooms have a small fridge and microwave which also come in handy. In addition to a Keurig coffee machine, the hotel also provide bottled water and microwave popcorn packets in the rooms.

We found that all the staff were very pleasant and eager to assist. The only thing this hotel left me wanting was to package it up and take it with me to every city we travel too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimplyFengShui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was my first stay at the Maxwell, and it far exceeded my expectations. The room was quite large and very well-maintained. The refrigerator and microwave in the room are a nice convenience when staying for several days. The location is great. It is a few blocks from the Space Needle and the Monorail (which gets you to Westlake in a couple of minutes). In case one is not feeling up to venturing far for dinner, there is an onsite Italian restaurant, and a few Thai/Chinese places nearby. The hotel also has a limited menu "espresso bar" that is open till 10:00 p.m. And it scored very high on a criteria that most hotels seem to not really get: ample and conveniently located power outlets so that you can charge misc. electronic devices (without having to unplug the lamp for example) while still having them within reach for use.

Great for business as well as leisure travel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ek_yayavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Highly recommend the maxwell hotel. Got to the hotel to check in but room was not ready yet. When the room was finaly ready it was worth the wait, very clean room, room was bigger than i expacted. Walk in shower was a major plus and the bath room had shampoo, hand soap and lotion in its own container. Staff was very friendly and the hotel restaurant was great. The hotels a few block from the space needle. I would difinitely stay at the maxwell hotel again.

Room Tip: highly recommend a room with a view of the space needle
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 101 in Seattle
1,495 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,020 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#5 of 101 in Seattle
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing