We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meet, and stay, at the Pineapple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #8 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Spent three nights at the Maxwell and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We had booked a King Aria Hill room, but got moved to a room with a great view of the Space Needle.

Room was tastefully appointed, spacious, bed comfortable, and other amenities included a large flat screen, mini-refrigerator, microwave (both great for left-overs) and a coffee maker. Bathroom and shower are also good sized.

Staff were helpful, both with the check in and suggestions of places to eat or explore while in Seattle. And the location is fantastic. Lots of restaurants line Queen Anne, a scant 5 minute walk, and the Space Needle/EMP/Science Center/Monorail complex is also a 10 minute walk to the south.

The only drawback with the hotel was that while the WIFI worked in the lobby, the connection in our room was almost non-existent. It was an inconvenience but not particularly detrimental to our stay.

Given the vibe of the hotel, the cost, and location, staying at the Maxwell would be a no brainer for our next visit. A far easier choice than, say, which Queen Anne restaurant to dine at.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perducci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you for your review!

We're delighted that the staff and location of our hotel were memorable during your stay. we love to read compliments of our team!

We're glad that the intermittent WiFi failure you and others have experienced did not ruin an otherwise good stay with us. We thank you for the feedback about it, as we are continually striving to improve all our services and amenities!

Thanks again for your feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Marco Baumann
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,192 - 2,198 of 2,818 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

Friendly, helpful, attentive staff. Clean, comfortable rooms. Within easy walking distance to Seatte Center and I found longer hikes to Pike Market, downtown, Pioneer Square, international district no problem for me but there are plenty of convenient bus stops for those who don't care for longer treks. Why is there no Hi def TV? And too often no Wi Fi connection for IPad.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mottsorella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here for three days in June prior to our cruise. We found the hotel conveniently located to the space needle, pacific science museum, and the monorail (3 blocks walking). We loved the decor in the room and found the beds quite comfortable. Even though there was no breakfast, the staff recommended a nice place (called Citizen) just a couple of blocks away. We enjoyed it so much we ate there all three mornings. My 7 year old enjoyed the pool. The only negative was that there wasn't a concierge which may have been helpful since we did not know the area at all, but that wasn't a really a big deal to us. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would stay there again if we go back to Seattle.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Darlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Hotel seems nice, but no urgency in getting our room ready after checking in several times today is frustrating.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank SlatsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

We're sorry that your room was not ready for you at 3:00pm. As a guideline, we begin checking guests in beginning at 3:00pm, but cannot guarantee that all rooms will be ready at this time. We hope that you did not have to wait too much longer to start enjoying your stay.

All the very best and thanks again for your review!

Marco Baumann
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The hotel has a colourful and fun decor, and has a reasonable location. Service at the front desk was ok, but staff seemed stretched trying to do too many things at once (on phone, trying to serve several people at once,...). There is no restaurant for breakfast, so we walked to a nearby cafe. The food was excellent once we got in, but there was a long line up of people, mainly from the hotel. There is a small kiosk that sells a few things in the lobby, but it wasn't open early enough for us to get anything the morning we checked out.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AvrilN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you for your remarks about your stay with us.

We're sorry that our front desk was busy enough to appear harried. They are a hard-working group and we hope that their hospitality shone through nonetheless. We're also sorry that our espresso stand, which features breakfast items ranging from scones and muffins to savory hot burritos and sandwiches was not available upon your departure.

We hope to serve you again in the future, should your travels bring you back to Seattle. In the meantime, thank you so much and all the very best!

Marco Baumann
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Maxwell Hotel to visit with our daughter. Our stay was out of the ordinary because I arrived first to meet my daughter, later that week she had a friend arrive and my husband arrived a day later. Originally we had made a reservation somewhere else closer to Safeco Field but after my daughter and I arrived at the Maxwell we knew we wanted to stay there the whole time. I called down to Justin, the front desk supervisor and he made it possible. He worked long and hard to not only extend our stay but also found a room for my daughter's friend. It's a beautiful, well kept place that's located within walking distance to all the local Seattle attractions. But if you don't care to walk they also have a free shuttle.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious, clean and quiet!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Loved the Maxwell. Cool Art Deco theme room. The staff is friendly and very helpful. I like the location away from the stress of downtown traffic, but a nice walk to Space Needle. The shuttle to Pike's saves you money on parking. The restaurant attached, The Rock, has good pizza and a nice Happy Hour.

Room Tip: You can get a room with a view of the Space Needle, pretty at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ibwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 104 in Seattle
1,583 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#17 of 104 in Seattle
2,320 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 104 in Seattle
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: $137 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing