We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great overnight stay”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We utilized the advanced reservation savings deal and felt the price was a great one for the the city. The parking garage below the hotel was so convenient. Knew we weren't going to get a view of the Space Needle, but did have a nice city view. Roy St. is a bit noisy and our window was sprung a bit near the handle so more noise was able to enter. No hallway nor neighbor noise! Very trendy room design with the curved wall, wood floors, and interesting lighting. The open shower felt cold as the warm air escapes easily. The ironing board is a small tabletop one that is difficult to use. Comfy bed, great sheets and towels. Free internet. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,631
    666
    103
    18
    19
See reviews for
753
936
106
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Hands down, this hotel exceeded my expectations! For a first visit to the pacific northwest, the Maxwell understands the essence of what it means to create the ultimate customer experience. We were greeted warmly by the staff at the front desk and they even allowed us to check in early. The lobby is spacious and elegantly decorated. The room was amazing. From the cozy bed to the sleek decor to the large shower, all our senses were engaged. We had time to use the pool and gym, although they were on the smaller side they were clean spaces which is always nice! My spouse and I are planning to take another trip to Seattle and we will be repeat customers. Thank you Maxwell for an amazing stay and intro to your beautiful state!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ast66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I found this motel online when I needed a place to stay near Key Arena in Seattle for a music festival. From the free parking to the efficient check in, my first impressions were favorable. Add to this clean, spacious rooms with nice decor and the conveniences of a refrierator, microwave, room safe, hair dryer, even a large screen tv (which I didn't have time to use...) also included complimentary Tully's coffee, microwave popcorn and tea.
The bed was comfortable and another offering I didn't have time to use included an indoor pool...maybe next time. The biggest advantage for me besides the free parking was the fact that this hotel is in the nice Queen Anne district within walking distance of Kay Arena and other town center venues and art galleries and shops. I also liked the relatively late checkout time of 1200. Oh, and not to forget the refillable soap and shampoo/conditioner dispenders and recyle cans in the room...more eco-conscious than most places I've stayed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolores C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
150 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

When I stayed at The Maxwell there was a lot of road repair and traffic I went through to get to there and I was delighted when I made it in one piece and with a big smile on my face, said so when I entered the hotel. The young man at the desk looked at me and asked "Do you have a reservation?" No smile, no reaction, no "We're happy you made it, too." And that was pretty much how the front desk staff was: never rude, but not welcoming and friendly either. That was surprising, because before I made the reservation, I sent the manager e-mails and his response was warm and generous with information. The hotel itself is great: colorful and fun decor. Location is a quiet neighborhood setting. Free parking was terrific, but it's close enough to walk downtown (30 mins max) or walk to restaurants around the area or take the Monorail station just steps away. Room decor was funky and pleasant and overall, very comfortable with Keurig coffee maker and fridge. Housekeeping staff are great ambassadors; each morning when I saw them, they greeted me warmly with a smile.

Room Tip: If you want view of Space Needle, ask for 5th floor room on Roy Street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

This was our last stop on a month long u.s.a trip and was a great city to end in. Room was probably a bit small for our big family of 2 adults and 4children but was certainly good value. Free parking and wifi was also a great bonus. The rooms were nicely decorated and extremely clean. We managed to walk to most sights and restaurants though a restaurant/room service on site in the future would be even better. The staff were super helpful and friendly. Would certainly return to the Maxwell when we return to Seattle.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Easy location, lots of free parking, friendly service- only issue for me is I prefer to have some type of restaurnat in the lobby of hotels I stay at- this one does not (yet) however plenty nearby. Overall terrific value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiotechCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Nicely decorated, spacious, good (not great) location. Lots of nice perks like in room microwave including free popcorn, a Keurig coffee maker with real creamers in the mini-fridge, free parking & wi-fi. All the things that are annoying when hotels charge for them, the Maxwell doesn't charge for them.

The only thing bad I can say come from the fact that it is a renovated older hotel. It's pretty noisy. Everything that happens in the hallways is loud and clear in the rooms, including the early start for the cleaning staff. That said, it's no worse than you'll find at any older or cheaper hotel. I still recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cokebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#22 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing