We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in Queen Anne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Queen Anne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We enjoyed a lot this modern, recent and comfortable hotel next the Seattle Center, the Metropolitain market and the Caffe Ladro.
Plus an easy access to downtown by bus.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanManuel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,615
    656
    102
    18
    18
See reviews for
748
926
104
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Did the title get your attention? You want an honest review right? OK. Fabulous. Fabulous. Fabulous. Great deal. Nice people. We'll be back. Lots of perks - free parking, free internet, microwave in room, refrigerator in room, popcorn and water (free in room), cool decor. But just so you know this is a real review, I do want to put in my criticisms. First, the water pressure was a bit lack luster. But, if you are trying to save water, well, this is the hotel for you. And the hallways are very very cold. They could save money by turning off the air conditioning in the halls, but our thought was that was why it was so quiet - no one wanted to hang out and talk in the hallways. Enjoy your stay!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oregon_consumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claremont,ca
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

My daughter selected Maxwell Hotel for her guests to attend her wedding.
Rooms were not ready as scheduled. Some guests had to wait as long as 3 hours.
Some were promised adjoining rooms when reservations were made only to find out when they checked in there were no adjoining rooms
Some reserved for a crib and were promised one but nothing was delivered on day of check in,
One family member was so dissapointed with the overall service and unkept promises at time of reservation and was told by staff the "YOU CAN CHECKOUT IF YOU ARE NOT HAPPY HERE!!!!"
Almost half of the guests did not receive the gift bags supposedly distributed by staff to the registered guests. We were promised that they will give it to the guests as they check in. The staff even printed the guest list.
The hotel does not have a professional staff. Seems like they are all in training and still have not gone though Customer Service Class 101!.
Do not recommend staying at this hotel at all especially when the staff are ill-trained, snubbish and did not care about making their guests feel welcome!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
We're sorry that your stay di not go according to plan.

Having been among the team of staff members assisting your group, I remember the frustration you felt and we apologize that your expectations of our hotel were not met.

Please know that all of us did our utmost to accommodate your group's rooming requests and are disappointed that our hotel did not have the configuration (connecting rooms) of hotel rooms you required upon arrival.

Please be assured that our offer to find more appropriate accommodations at our sister hotels, while completely waiving any fees was intended merely to be of assistance to your group, not to have you "check out".

We regret that your lasting experience of your stay with us was marred by this misunderstanding. We hope to welcome you back in the future and trust you will find our accommodations to your liking.

Marco Baumann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

I love the bare floors, it just feels cleaner. Comfortable beds and a large flat screen television. Well decorated rooms and nicely designed bathroom. Enjoyed the complementary cupcakes and coffee at check-in. Great grocery nearby called Metropolitan Market. Really enjoyed the stay.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ravalite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Family of 4, two teens, one room - recipe for disaster? Not at the Maxwell. For us the challenge is getting one room for four of us - that leaves out a lot of hotels (esp. good cheap ones); the ones left are often very expensive - enter Tripadvisor. Tripadvisor is taking the risk out of finding hotels - we locked onto thje Maxwell and it lived up to all expectations. Very clean, great staff, lots of amenities like a pool (small? - we didn't make it there). Great location in Lower Q. Anne, near public trans., great little neighborhood and tourist sites. Nice little cafe, free minicupcakes in the afternoon one day. Key things to take from this review - incredibly friendly and helpful staff and large, well appointed and very, very clean rooms! Would go back in a second!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDig_EBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler S, General Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
I am extremely happy that everything went well for you and your family on your vacation! Family vacations make up such an important part of our memories and we, at The Maxwell Hotel, are delighted to have been a part of this memory. Thank you for taking a few moments to comment on your stay. We look forward to having you as a guest again in the future!

Your friend in hospitality,
Tyler Suddith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

The location is ideal; walking distance to Seattle Center, Space Needle, and Pike Place Market. The rooms are great; clean, hardwood floors, big bathrooms. One of the best features is the free parking!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FCPSretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our Pacific Northwest holiday (vacation), for a few days each time. The hotel was ideal for our purposes. The room was large and comfortable for a family of 5 (we had an "Ensemble Suite"). A huge TV with DVD player kept the kids happy. Free WiFi in all parts of the hotel kept my husband and me happy. All the beds were very comfortable, the room was attractively decorated and the bathroom was spacious and well-appointed (shower, no bath - not that that was a problem for us).

No food served in the hotel, except for a 24-hour espresso stand, much appreciated by me, jet-lagged as I was, and which also had cinnamon rolls and banana bread, eagerly devoured by the kids. But there are several nearby places to eat, and very helpful desk staff to advise which would be appropriate. Some restaurants even deliver takeaway (takeout) right to your room, which made all the difference on that first night with very sleepy children.

In fact, all staff were exceptionally helpful, fulfilling our many requests and queries and even locating a lost item from our first stay to return it on our second.

The hotel is conveniently placed for the Space Needle (obviously a must when visiting Seattle) and the Monorail takes you to Westlake (near Pike Place) for $4 return (round trip). Not that it is a long walk, but the monorail is also an experience not to be missed from a tourist itinerary of Seattle.

I can't comment on children's activities because we were too busy being tourists to explore them, but I believe there are some available.

Room Tip: Ensemble suites accommodate up to 6 people (in 2 queen-size beds + one double fold-out) and have a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racheinderbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,560 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#22 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing