We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic comfort in a walkable neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Chic comfort in a walkable neighborhood”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This is a modern, new boutique hotel located in Queen Anne, just a couple of blocks north of Experience Music Project and the Space Needle. (I think it may be related to Sheraton? Our bed was so comfy that I tried to take a photo of the Beautyrest mattress label, and I saw Sheraton tags on the sheets.) Staff were professional and efficient. Lobby has plenty of chic chairs & sofas for groups to linger. I found two grocery stores, a pharmacy, and a post office within walking distance, and there are several restaurants nearby. All in all, very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineCND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,714
    692
    111
    18
    20
See reviews for
798
976
110
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We spent 4 nights at the Maxwell and quite enjoyed the room, the ambience and the people. We were greeted by Adriel, who checked us in and was extremely knowledgeable about the area and Seattle in general. The hotel is well situated just outside of downtown, a couple blocks from the Space Needle and Aeattle center, right across the street from Teatro Zinzanni and a short walking distance from a network of restaurants and a grocery Mart. The only thing better than the location, is the hotel itself.

The rooms are spacious, clean and quiet and decked out with a big screen LG tv and a dvd player (dvd's can be borrowed from the front desk library). The hotel is
decked out with modern furnishings
and great colours. The wifi Internet is fast, and the parking is not as 'limited' as noted in other reviews (about 100 stalls).

A fantastic find that will have us back.

NB- regarding the 'overrated' review below. I was at the front desk when the gentleman was there. He was treated with much respect and consideration, in fact I was impressed with how Jacob handled the situation. He found the guest another room quickly, and worked hard to satisfy a client that was simply looking for more.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauder_Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Within blocks of the space needle. Very friendly staff. Comfortable beds and bedding. Sophisticated yet colorful decor.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Not what I expected. Decided to stay here because of the excellent reviews. First I was disappointed when I entered the lobby. It was missing the ambiance of a four star hotel. Next, after checking in, unpacking, and returning from a day at the Seattle Center, our air conditioning was not working. I callled the front desk and they sent a repairmen. He was unable to fix it so we went to the front desk to inform them that I needed another room. Jacob at the front desk was very apologetic and said hewould be able to get us some breakfast vouchers or discount the room for our troubles. But after calling his manager, Tyler, he said that he was told just to give us another room because we already had a good rate. So me and my wife, after a busy day out in town, had the pleasure of packing up us and two teenagers, moving to another room, and upacking all for the fun of it. Cute little hotel but not up to the standards of the top hotels. Not what I expected!

Room Tip: If you want a view of the Space Needle and not a parking garage or power lines, ask for the 4th or 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jas034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
We're very concerned with the impressions you were left with after your stay at our hotel.
Please be assured that we do not make decisions about how to treat our guests based on the rate that they pay.

We're very sorry to have given you this impression. It runs completely counter to our spirit of genuine hospitality and we do not tolerate this attitude.

Thank you for takign the time to post your review and once again, we sincerely apologize for the manner in which your family was treated. If I may of service to you in the future, please contact me directly at mbaumann@staypineapple.com.

In the meantime, thank you for your feedback and all the very best!

Marco Baumann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The boutique hotel added to our first trip to Seattle. The hotel is just two short blocks walking distance from the Space Needle and the EMP. From here you can take the mono-rail for $2 into the city centre. The room was lovely, very modern and large. Soft furnishings added to the comfort in and contemporary design of the room. Staff were very friendly especially Adriel at the front desk. She gave us lots local tips that very spot on, from places to eat and entertainment for night time. Free coffee/tea and delicious lemon cupcakes in the entrance hall was a lovely touch. It's a hotel with the 'wow' factor.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the space needle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_Melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We picked the Maxwell based on Tripadvisor input and its immediate propinquity to the Seattle opera house. It is more expensive than our traditional hotel for opera trips (the Mediterranean Inn down on Queen Anne) but were attracted by the positive chorus of reviews.

I can't do more than confirm the very consistent pattern of other reviews. This is a sparklingly clean modern boutique hotel. Rooms are very tastefully put together and spotless. I roamed the room desperate to find at least one little thing wrong somewhere, and had to settle on a tiny spot on one bathroom wall. Seriously, someone has worked very hard to give to rooms and the hotel a coherent and attractive style, right down to the water glasses. Free coffee, morning newspaper and WiFi are provided.

There are good to OK restaurants all around within walking distance (the Toulouse Petit Kitchen is a must). Downtown is quickly accessible by bus or monorail and for the adventurous is walkable.

Room Tip: View rooms are primarily on the street side of the hotel; back side views are uninteresting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

It doesn't look like much from the outside, and the street is a bit of a dump, but once you enter the hotel, you are greeted by a huge and beautiful lobby with a very trendy and modern feel to it. The service is great and felt very professional.

My room was also very nice. Great décor and it felt very 'fresh' and new. Indeed, the hotel hasn't been around for that long, so everything still has that new car feel to it. The bathroom in particular was gorgeous and spacious.

While I could see the Space Needle from my room, there wasn't much of a view outside of that. You have a huge parking structure right across the street. The hotel is located close to the Seattle Center which is pretty convenient. There's also a large 24hr supermarket and 7-11 close by, as well as several restaurants and a few shops.

The room had a huge bed and large LCD TV with many channels, including HBO. The Wi-Fi was also fairly good.

Nothing to complain about! The Maxwell is a great, modern, hotel in Seattle and feels very luxurious for the rate.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasmus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#32 of 101 in Seattle
1,495 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,021 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#5 of 101 in Seattle
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing