We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Belltown Inn(Seattle)(Great Value!)
$282
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$274
$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown(Seattle)(Great Value!)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$288
$254
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$415
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mediterranean Inn(Seattle)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown(Seattle)(Great Value!)
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$220
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$325
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$579
$454
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,939)
Filter reviews
2,939 results
Traveler rating
1,951
785
148
32
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,951
785
148
32
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscupcakespineappleseattle centerspace needlerock restaurantfree shuttlequeen annemicrowave popcornhardwood floorstommy bahamatoulouse petitdvd playerwalk in showerevery afternoonkerry parkwalking distancecomfortable beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,578 - 2,583 of 2,939 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2011

It doesn't look like much from the outside, and the street is a bit of a dump, but once you enter the hotel, you are greeted by a huge and beautiful lobby with a very trendy and modern feel to it. The service is great and felt very professional.

My room was also very nice. Great décor and it felt very 'fresh' and new. Indeed, the hotel hasn't been around for that long, so everything still has that new car feel to it. The bathroom in particular was gorgeous and spacious.

While I could see the Space Needle from my room, there wasn't much of a view outside of that. You have a huge parking structure right across the street. The hotel is located close to the Seattle Center which is pretty convenient. There's also a large 24hr supermarket and 7-11 close by, as well as several restaurants and a few shops.

The room had a huge bed and large LCD TV with many channels, including HBO. The Wi-Fi was also fairly good.

Nothing to complain about! The Maxwell is a great, modern, hotel in Seattle and feels very luxurious for the rate.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasmus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Perfect hotel if you want to have a high quality base for exploring Seattle.

This is a boutique hotel with limited services available but if you don't plan to spend your time in Seattle cooped up in a hotel then this is a perfect base to explore a great city.

The rooms are really nicely decorated and the hotel is spotlessly clean and has a very modern and relaxed feel. Free wifi a nice bonus.

About a 20 minute (pleasant) walk into central Seattle/fish market etc, with space needle and monorail station even nearer

note - if you are expecting to use the pool for some exercise you will struggle, it is tiny!

Room Tip: worth looking for free parking voucher offers through trip advisor/expedia
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davecheesecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Family of 4 on vacation in the Pacific Northwest (M, D, 16yr boy, 14yr girl).

We were trying to figure out if we wanted to stay downtown, on the waterfront or at the Maxwell and were not sure if it was too far out of the way. It was in the PERFECT spot. The Maxwell is located just North of the EMP and the Space Needle and in a very pleasant neighborhood that had a cool vibe. We started our walk around Seattle from here and it was the perfect location to get to the Waterfront, then up through Pike Market, then up to downtown for some shopping. After shopping, we hopped on the Monorail to get back to the EMP and Needle and enjoyed the time there. After this, we hit a close by restaurant and then it was a quick walk back to the hotel.

Great price, 2 queen beds, spacious room, great location, great perk ($20 coffee shop, 4 one way monorail tickets). Got a passcode to stay at a discount in the future. Great experience and my wife and my kids were very pleased with my choice to stay at the "Pineapple".

Note cost from airport in a Town Car was $50. From Maxwell to airport was $42.

Room Tip: 2 Queen beds worked well. No other tips or tricks for us on this great rate from Expedia.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sprattman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We were so impressed. The location was perfect for us - just a few blocks to Seattle Center and the Space Needle, as well as the Monorail which we took to Pike's Market.
The front desk staff was so pleasant and helpful. The rooms are so clean - we loved the wood floors and the decor. They did not look like the typical hotel rooms.. It was nice to have a little refrigerator and microwave. and even microwave popcorn. The beds were so comfortable and we really liked the big walk-in shower. We really appreciated the free parking. The pineapple emblem on the doormat was very indicative of the welcome we received there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MauraIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Maxwell hotel is a lovely boutique hotel nestled in the Queen Anne district of Seattle - just mere blocks away from the Space Needle and the duck boats!

I was traveling to Seattle for a meeting with Google (cool stuff!) and was very impressed with their amenities, service, & style. Though I had a bit of a snafu with the reservation (double check the dates on your PDF confirmation!) but thanks to sweet Jessica Scott & the Maxwell manager Tyler Suddith it got sorted handily. YAY! Impressive!

The lobby is lovely, modern, and very welcoming with many comfy lounges & chairs to meet friends & co-workers. They do provide mini-cupcakes & complimentary coffee every day but was too busy to partake.

My room #524 was spacious, beautifully decorated, and had a lovely view of the Space Needle. Knowing that the hotel rooms have hardwood floors I requested a room on the top floor (5th) so as not to hear any footsteps over my head. I do wish they had had an area rug or two or a runner for cold feet - thank goodness for comfy slippers & fuzzy socks!

Knowing that they provided single serve Keurig coffee makers I brought my favourite K-Cups (Jet Fuel!) and I really enjoyed a delicious cup of coffee every morning! However, the BEST amenity that they provide guests is the FREE FAST Wireless Internet! It's 2011, why can't ALL hotels do this already!? /rant

The Maxwell is within walking distance of several restaurants including Bahn Thai and McMenamins Queen Anne's pub. It's also a short block away from the Teatro ZinZanni which provided an amazing evening's dinner & entertainment my last night! Make sure to mention the Maxwell when buying tickets for a significant discount! (see my other reviews)

Though getting a cab in this residential neighborhood was sometimes a bit of a challenge & a wait thanks to Helen at the front desk who arranged the night before for a town car ride to the airport. The car was lovely, a flat rate ($42), and arrived early. Now THAT's the way to go!

Honestly, I was very pleased by this lovely property with it's attentive service and would both recommend it to anyone and I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: 5th floor near elevator facing Roy street with a view of the Space Needle
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GwynethJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews