We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another vote for the Maxwell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We picked the Maxwell based on Tripadvisor input and its immediate propinquity to the Seattle opera house. It is more expensive than our traditional hotel for opera trips (the Mediterranean Inn down on Queen Anne) but were attracted by the positive chorus of reviews.

I can't do more than confirm the very consistent pattern of other reviews. This is a sparklingly clean modern boutique hotel. Rooms are very tastefully put together and spotless. I roamed the room desperate to find at least one little thing wrong somewhere, and had to settle on a tiny spot on one bathroom wall. Seriously, someone has worked very hard to give to rooms and the hotel a coherent and attractive style, right down to the water glasses. Free coffee, morning newspaper and WiFi are provided.

There are good to OK restaurants all around within walking distance (the Toulouse Petit Kitchen is a must). Downtown is quickly accessible by bus or monorail and for the adventurous is walkable.

Room Tip: View rooms are primarily on the street side of the hotel; back side views are uninteresting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,417 - 2,423 of 2,778 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

It doesn't look like much from the outside, and the street is a bit of a dump, but once you enter the hotel, you are greeted by a huge and beautiful lobby with a very trendy and modern feel to it. The service is great and felt very professional.

My room was also very nice. Great décor and it felt very 'fresh' and new. Indeed, the hotel hasn't been around for that long, so everything still has that new car feel to it. The bathroom in particular was gorgeous and spacious.

While I could see the Space Needle from my room, there wasn't much of a view outside of that. You have a huge parking structure right across the street. The hotel is located close to the Seattle Center which is pretty convenient. There's also a large 24hr supermarket and 7-11 close by, as well as several restaurants and a few shops.

The room had a huge bed and large LCD TV with many channels, including HBO. The Wi-Fi was also fairly good.

Nothing to complain about! The Maxwell is a great, modern, hotel in Seattle and feels very luxurious for the rate.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasmus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Perfect hotel if you want to have a high quality base for exploring Seattle.

This is a boutique hotel with limited services available but if you don't plan to spend your time in Seattle cooped up in a hotel then this is a perfect base to explore a great city.

The rooms are really nicely decorated and the hotel is spotlessly clean and has a very modern and relaxed feel. Free wifi a nice bonus.

About a 20 minute (pleasant) walk into central Seattle/fish market etc, with space needle and monorail station even nearer

note - if you are expecting to use the pool for some exercise you will struggle, it is tiny!

Room Tip: worth looking for free parking voucher offers through trip advisor/expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davecheesecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Family of 4 on vacation in the Pacific Northwest (M, D, 16yr boy, 14yr girl).

We were trying to figure out if we wanted to stay downtown, on the waterfront or at the Maxwell and were not sure if it was too far out of the way. It was in the PERFECT spot. The Maxwell is located just North of the EMP and the Space Needle and in a very pleasant neighborhood that had a cool vibe. We started our walk around Seattle from here and it was the perfect location to get to the Waterfront, then up through Pike Market, then up to downtown for some shopping. After shopping, we hopped on the Monorail to get back to the EMP and Needle and enjoyed the time there. After this, we hit a close by restaurant and then it was a quick walk back to the hotel.

Great price, 2 queen beds, spacious room, great location, great perk ($20 coffee shop, 4 one way monorail tickets). Got a passcode to stay at a discount in the future. Great experience and my wife and my kids were very pleased with my choice to stay at the "Pineapple".

Note cost from airport in a Town Car was $50. From Maxwell to airport was $42.

Room Tip: 2 Queen beds worked well. No other tips or tricks for us on this great rate from Expedia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sprattman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We were so impressed. The location was perfect for us - just a few blocks to Seattle Center and the Space Needle, as well as the Monorail which we took to Pike's Market.
The front desk staff was so pleasant and helpful. The rooms are so clean - we loved the wood floors and the decor. They did not look like the typical hotel rooms.. It was nice to have a little refrigerator and microwave. and even microwave popcorn. The beds were so comfortable and we really liked the big walk-in shower. We really appreciated the free parking. The pineapple emblem on the doormat was very indicative of the welcome we received there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MauraIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Maxwell hotel is a lovely boutique hotel nestled in the Queen Anne district of Seattle - just mere blocks away from the Space Needle and the duck boats!

I was traveling to Seattle for a meeting with Google (cool stuff!) and was very impressed with their amenities, service, & style. Though I had a bit of a snafu with the reservation (double check the dates on your PDF confirmation!) but thanks to sweet Jessica Scott & the Maxwell manager Tyler Suddith it got sorted handily. YAY! Impressive!

The lobby is lovely, modern, and very welcoming with many comfy lounges & chairs to meet friends & co-workers. They do provide mini-cupcakes & complimentary coffee every day but was too busy to partake.

My room #524 was spacious, beautifully decorated, and had a lovely view of the Space Needle. Knowing that the hotel rooms have hardwood floors I requested a room on the top floor (5th) so as not to hear any footsteps over my head. I do wish they had had an area rug or two or a runner for cold feet - thank goodness for comfy slippers & fuzzy socks!

Knowing that they provided single serve Keurig coffee makers I brought my favourite K-Cups (Jet Fuel!) and I really enjoyed a delicious cup of coffee every morning! However, the BEST amenity that they provide guests is the FREE FAST Wireless Internet! It's 2011, why can't ALL hotels do this already!? /rant

The Maxwell is within walking distance of several restaurants including Bahn Thai and McMenamins Queen Anne's pub. It's also a short block away from the Teatro ZinZanni which provided an amazing evening's dinner & entertainment my last night! Make sure to mention the Maxwell when buying tickets for a significant discount! (see my other reviews)

Though getting a cab in this residential neighborhood was sometimes a bit of a challenge & a wait thanks to Helen at the front desk who arranged the night before for a town car ride to the airport. The car was lovely, a flat rate ($42), and arrived early. Now THAT's the way to go!

Honestly, I was very pleased by this lovely property with it's attentive service and would both recommend it to anyone and I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: 5th floor near elevator facing Roy street with a view of the Space Needle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GwynethJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This hotel was across the street from Seattle Center. It was very easy to get around and see all the sites by walking and taking public transportation. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The "Aria" room was nice and clean and the perfect size for a couple. It had a microwave and fridge which was a nice addition. There was a free parking garage under the hotel and there were always plenty of spaces. The only downside was the tiny workout room and pool. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 104 in Seattle
1,576 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayflower Park Hotel
#18 of 104 in Seattle
2,300 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 104 in Seattle
1,824 reviews
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: $139 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing