We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun but needs a few quirks worked out.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun but needs a few quirks worked out.”
Reviewed May 18, 2011

This hotel is beautiful and the rooms are spacious and up to date! I loved the contemporary feel of this hotel. However, there are a few things that I would like to point out. Quirk #1, Upon arriving and checking in I was greeted by a rude woman at the front desk. She was short and snappy with any questions that I had. I asked her where the stairs were to get to the 2nd floor, she told me, obnoxiously, there weren't any and that I'd have to take the elevator and she looked at the man standing next to her and rolled her eyes. I thought that was a joke, I mean what hotel doesn't have stairs? Also, telling me "good luck in finding a parking space" However, upon checking out 2 days later, the gentlemen at the front desk were more than helpful with any questions I had and even with helping me locate a cart for my luggage. The maid service was also very friendly in asking how I was and if I needed anything. Quirk #2, The curtains on the 2nd floor are see thru, which meant that the people outside could see in, I even had a complete stranger start waving at me from the street and there was no way to close them. Not comfortable at all knowing that anyone could see in. Quirk #3, You can hear very clearly thru the walls and since there are nice hardwood floors, you can also hear the people above you walking around and babies crying next door. Parking wasn't really an issue, it was secured and right under the hotel so I didn't have to walk our into the rain or pay for parking. The wireless internet kept going in and out and was hard to get access to. The bathroom was amazing. It's size was perfect and it had plenty of space and counter space, the open shower was a nice touch as well. The room decor was a perfect flow with the contemporary hotel feel. The bed was soft and new, and so were the pillows. Overall, I would stay at this hotel again and I would recommend it to friends. I would just forewarn them about the things mentioned above first.

Room Tip: spacious rooms, contemporary, elevator only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gagirltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,753
    702
    113
    20
    20
See reviews for
833
985
111
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We transferred from the Grand Hyatt in Seattle to this gem of a hotel. It's near the Space Needle and Sound Experience and interesting theaters in a hip part of town called Lower Queen Anne. Beautiful, hip decor with all the amenities including coffee and mini-cupcakes during the mid-day. Parking was FREE (instead of $40 a day) and so was Wi-Fi. Beds were very comfortable and the furniture terrific. Small refrig and microwave in room, a well as a Keurig coffee machine. Walking distance to great restaurants and bars and the staff very helpful. The price was 1/2 that of the Grand Hyatt and much more comfortable. Bravo!!!! Hope the rates don't increase after all the great reviews. Would go again!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler5055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I picked this hotel based on its location and all the glowing Trip Advisor reviews. It did not disappoint. I emailed ahead and asked for a room with a view of the Space Needle and they came through even though the place was pretty full of folks there for a film festival. When we checked in, the gal at the front desk told us what was going on and said not to hesitate to let them know if it got noisy but we never head much even though we were close to the elevator. The location can't be beat. We really appreciated the coffee (and tea) machine and fridge in the room, as well as the free WiFi. Overall, a very hip but classy hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monicapsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

I was surprised to find this hotel, tucked away across the street from the new "Teatro Zinzanni" venue next to the Key Arena. It's on the other side of downtown from the Space Needle and the Pacific Science Center. This acts as an effective buffer between the hustle and bustle traffic noise so prevalent in SEA.
Locals know this area as "Lower Queen Anne" and it's an iconic SEA neighborhood. It's got its own hoity-toity supermarket (Metropolitan Market), some great coffee shops (Cafe Zingaro) and incredible restaurants like Toulouse Petit (ate their twice!).
The Maxwell has no restaurant, so you're free to roam the area to forage for food. I ate lunch at the Metro Mkt (salad bar). We even hiked up to the top of Queen Anne Hill (huffing, puffing) to the 5-Spot for breakfast.
The hotel is essentially brand new--lots of modern touches. EXCELLENT hi-speed wireless internet. Great dark-wood floors. Comfy beds. Modern finishes in the bathrooms. I'm not a TV watcher--but they're big. There's the one-cup Keurig (sp?) coffee makers in the rooms. Very nice. Special touch: they put the 1/2+1/2 in the fridge. NICE TOUCH.
Beds were comfy, towels were fluffy...there's a bedside alarm clock that holds your iPod.
I could see the Space Needle out of my window--it stuck up over the parking lot.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geefour907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

I stayed at the Maxwell to visit the attractions at the Seattle Center it was very close to before moving to another hotel for Sakura-Con, and I must say that I wish I could have stayed at the Maxwell for my whole trip!

Let me give you a quick list of the things I loved: the room, bathroom, and shower were nice, clean, and very very roomy; I found the bed to be very comfy; there were a lot of good restaurants and 2 good grocery stores within walking distance; a fridge and a microwave I made good use of; every staff member I ran into was very polite and friendly; it was good to have free wifi and a flat screen tv that got HD channels.

There were a few things that did not lessen my opinion of how awesome the hotel was, but could be a potential dealbreaker for others. You can really hear the people walk around and roll luggage on the floor above you pretty clearly. The nice big tvs in the rooms had a shelf near it that looked convenient if I had brought a video game console. However from what I could tell, there were only had composite video inputs and not the hdmi I would have preferred. Also, the hd channels on the tv weren't on the hotel provided channel listings, but were there way past of all the other sd channels and seemed to be a pretty random selection of what was there. The shower was designed to not need any sort of curtain or door, but it seemed to me that to make it work and not get water all over the bathroom the shower head was pointed towards a corner and was not adjustable at all. That made the very roomy shower seem kinda cramped as I had to huddle in the corner of the shower to stay in the water flow.

All of that said, I loved, loved, loved the Maxwell Hotel! The next time I stay overnight in Seattle, they will be my first and probably only choice!

Room Tip: Top floor for the least noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candancejade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

very good location, friendly staff, clean, modern, plenty parking for the car, fantastic room, couldn't be better.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank club97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

They really thought of everything at this hotel. First--it looks GREAT--extremely stylish. They also have Seattle touches everywhere--hidden Tim's Cascade Chips, for example. Coffee & sweets in the lobby. Everyone who worked they was extremely pleasant and they do not accept tips.

I fell in love with the hotel when I realized they had thought of the one thing I complain about at EVERY hotel--an outlet with a shelf for your phone. In fact there were outlets EVERYWHERE and they were all easy to get to.

There's a computer with internet in the basement, which I didn't realize until we left. I had to work during my stay and I forgot my computer charger, so I rented their netbook--free and an amazing feature.

I really wouldn't stay elsewhere if I had the choice!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennybento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 101 in Seattle
1,517 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#3 of 101 in Seattle
2,043 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
2,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 300 Roy Street, Seattle, WA 98109-4114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spirit of Seattle comes alive at The Maxwell Hotel. Every member of our experienced staff delivers genuine service from the heart. Our colorful and original interiors provide a warm and inviting ambience with delightful details such as our large mosaic pineapple, commissioned mural paintings and children's art tiles accenting the indoor swimming pool. Fun, creative, and unexpected touches like these make this downtown Seattle hotel an original Seattle icon. A short pace from the Space Needle and other attractions, your perfect Seattle home awaits. Staypineapple at The Maxwell Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing