We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spinasse

Spinasse
1531 14th Ave, Seattle, WA 98122 (Broadway / Capitol Hill)
(206) 251-7673
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Spinasse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 3,766 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Broadway / Capitol Hill
Cross street: 14th Avenue between Pine and Pike
Transit: The Metro buses 10, 11, and 12 stop a half block away on Pine between 14th and 15th Avenue.
Description: Opened in August of 2008, Cascina Spinasse captivated local and national attention for its authentic incorporation of Piedmontese dishes, including handmade pastas and use of local and Italian ingredients. Spinasse, is open for dinner from 5:00 pm- 10:00 pm Sunday -Thursday and until 11 pm on Friday and Saturday. We take reservations via phone or on our website.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Italian gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

What a great place for some fantastic food and wine. Great ambiance, great service and although a little intimidating for the casual diner, the waiter helped us make our selections easy and the family style eating was awesome.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SRF159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cabo San Lucas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My most amazing meal i had so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

To celbrate my university graduation and relocation for my new job, i went to Seatle for a concert and a friend recommended this restaurant. Even though it seemed a bit pricy i decided to go and check it out. And by far it is the most expensive meal i ever had BUT it was worth EACH and EVERY $ i spent.

It hs been a while since i ate there, so i don't remember all the dishes i had (though i had to take the menu at the end and it is probably still hiding somewhere).

I didn't had any reservations and they had a seat for me at the bar when i walked in. The bar tender was very nice and knowledgeable about the dishes. The whole bar had great atmosphere and i got to have nice conversation with other while enjoying this wonderful meal. The bar have a view of the open kitchen where you can see how they hand make they different types of pasta on the other amazing dishes.

When i looked at the menu eveything looked appealing and tasty so i decided to take the tasting option. What a great choice!!! I am so glad i could try so many of the wonderful dishes. All of them were fresh and full with flavors, even dishes (such as fish) that i usually don't like/eat were just as good as some of my favorites.

Even though i was quite full i couldn't resist and had to order a dessert as one of my neighbors ordered and it looked so appealing and she loved it. And WOW what a great ending for this meal.

I left the restaurant happy with my stomach full but not heavy and continue to explore Seattle happy!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hagatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Great dining experience, super friendly and knowledgeable staff. Pasta is fantastic! The section we sat in was a bit chilly but not uncomfortable. The desserts are fantastic and creative. Our group tried 3 of them, and they didn't last long. Would recommend this local gem to anyone searching for a local restaurant and not your usual chains.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank coffeesnobMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrific Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have been to Spinasse several times on our trips to Seattle. We always leave very satisfied and it has become a must go to restaurant for us.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The egg pasta with butter and sage was very simple, but excellent. There were so many good choices on the menu that we ended up ordering several different dishes and sharing them so that we could try some of everything. We loved everything that we tried. The waiter was very helpful as well and gave us his suggestions for his favorite dishes as well as wines that paired well with the food we were having. I will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spinasse also viewed

 

Been to Spinasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing