We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great tour of the waterfront and downtown Seattle”

Spooked In Seattle Ghost Tours
Ranked #28 of 147 Tours in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: REAL Ghost Stories, by REAL Ghost Hunters.Spooked in Seattle has been taking folks on a ghost adventure since 2004 with their walking tours, haunted pub tours, bus tours and even ghost hunts. Join us for a night of true stories of ghostly encounters, evidence collected on their investigations and the city's history. Tours are offered everyday at 6 and 8:15 pm with 10pm tours in October. Prices vary depending on the tour, but average $15 up to $25. Discounts on Military, Students and those over 65yrs. ID is required to receive these discounts.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great tour of the waterfront and downtown Seattle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Spooked in Seattle begins their tour every day at Ye Old Curiosity Shop on the waterfront at 18:00, so it's a wonderful activity to do after your visit to the Seattle Aquarium, or if you feel like stretching your legs after eating at Ivar's Acres of Clams or taking one of the Argosy Cruises.

I really enjoyed this tour because it gave me a wonderful introduction to the historic part of Seattle. The tour includes some very interesting stories about Seattle historic figures, and some real characters, in addition to one or two more generic sounding stories about mysterious sounds and sightings. The tour guide was really great; she painted a very vivid, historic portrait of how the city was. We walked along the streets, but were at certain points were also taken underground and inside buildings. This was also the first ghost tour I've taken where the guide kept a tablet to show us some visual aids, like old photographs of the people she was talking about or how the buildings used to look like in the period to which she was referring, and it really added something extra. I highly recommend this tour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana_Elisa_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    47
    30
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spooked in Seattle Ghost Tours are hauntingly good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Spooked in Seattle Ghost Tours isn't your average tour. The tour guides don’t walk aimlessly around Seattle trying to scare the pants off of unsuspecting tourists. In fact, those looking for a scary tour filled with mystical beings and made up ghostly tales are in for a surprise. Without giving away too many secrets, here is a sneak peak of a tour.


The tour begins at Ye Olde Curiosity Shop in Seattle, Washington and takes people on an adventure around Pioneer Square, the surrounding area, and even underground. On the night of my tour, I had the pleasure of being escorted by Ross Allison, who is one of the owners of Spooked in Seattle Ghost Tours. With over twenty years of paranormal investigation, authoring several books, appearing on national television, and teaching classes at a university level, it’s safe to say Ross is an expert in the field of everything ghostly. Therefore, he doesn't settle for fake ghost stories or planned theatrical hype. Instead, Spooked in Seattle Ghost Tours specializes in creating an environment based on facts and personal experiences.


Ross met the crowd dressed in full costume with a top hat and traditional Victorian gentleman formal wear. This really sets the mood for the adventure, but don’t be fooled. While he appears to have stepped out from another time and place, he has many modern items hiding in his tote bag. Those secrets will be revealed.


The first of his modern-day helpers come to life immediately. The tour guide wears a microphone to help the crowd hear the stories and directions. The tour starts with a history lesson on the name of the city. Along the way, there are many stops on the 90-minute tour. At each stop, brings another true ghost story. As the tour guide tells the story, they also share visuals on an iPad. These images and videos directly connect to each story and add to the mystery and depth of the tales. At one location, the guide shares evidence of an EVP or electronic voice phenomena collected while investigating the site. This audio clip made several in the crowd jump.


At several of the locations, the tour visits the inside of the buildings and gives the crowd hands on feel for the stories. Imagine hearing a ghost story and then being told, you are standing on the exact spot where a man committed suicide many years ago. Is it terrifying? Not really, but it certainly brings the brain to life in a hurry.


This isn't an experience of sitting around the campfire and telling ghost stories. It’s a history lesson, a touch of ghost hunting, a lot of laughter and excitement, and fun for the entire family. Those wanting to learn more about the ghosts which haunt Seattle or looking for a unique adventure should seek this tour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nordheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good History with Ghosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was so fun! We had a Groupon coupon - like a bunch of us in our group, so it was 2 for 1. But after doing the tour, I would pay full price anyways! Ross Allison was our tour guide. He was pretty funny and told all kinds of stories. It's a walking tour, about 90 mins, and you get to go inside a few places so you can sit down here and there. Ross was VERY knowledgeable about old Seattle history and the ghost stories that go with it.

If you're a tourist or you live here (we do) I would definitely put this on the list if you like ghosty stuff. Even if you don't, the history of the city is pretty interesting. I've lived here forever and didn't hardly know anything Ross spoke about!!

Do this! You will have a good time! And the gift shop is pretty cool too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pokerqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
1 review
“Excellent tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

my wife and i recently took the spooked tour. i was not expecting too see or hear any ghosts, but out tour guide ross is very good in telling all about the details of the haunted spots. it is not only about ghosts, but also about the history of seattle. i would highly recommend the tour to any ghost story fan.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank worldgpfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Place, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ghoulies and Ghosties and Long-Legged Beasties...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

A clear and unseasonably warm Friday night in Seattle and we met at The Olde Curiousity Shop on the waterfront to join tour guide Ross and a large gathering of spook fans for the ghost tour. As much a history of the Pioneer Square area of Seattle as a visit to haunted spots, the tour moved on quickly enough to avoid boredom but Ross gave us an excellent background to the buildings and areas where one might run into an ectoplasmic interloper. There was more than a little walking required so we were happy for the placid evening. Ross described himself as an author and researcher into the paranormal and his dialogue was serious but not solemn. In all, the tour took 2 hours and and we enjoyed it thoroughly. A good evening for visitors or natives.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leatherneck6693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spooked In Seattle Ghost Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing