We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation time off from alaska”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel
Coos Bay, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“vacation time off from alaska”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

i stayed at the american hotel in china town seattle. i had a relaxing time there also the place was very quiet. they also have cookie night and movie night there.i will stay there again the hotel was over all clean.

Room Tip: always ask to get a bottom bunk next to a window either call or ask the desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JASONALLEN77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHManagement, General Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind comments. Travel safe and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    110
    82
    19
    9
See reviews for
16
37
135
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Almost everything about this hostel was great. Everything was clean, the lounge was nice, the breakfast was good, staff are nice and helpful. The only real problem I had were the noisy doors. All the doors have some kind of latch which closed with this loud sound that reverberated through the whole floor, and was 10X noisier when guests just walked away and let the doors close by themselves. This was the bedroom doors, the doors to the lobby, the lounge doors, all of them. It wasn't really a problem during the day, but at night, guests were coming in until quite late and the noise was unbelievable, then it started again at 5-6am with the early risers. I wasn't able to sleep more than a few hours all night long.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry L, General Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your observations. Our doors are original to the hostel. They can be noisy if guests aren't careful closing them. We have posted signs asking folks to "please close doors gently". Doesn't always produce the desired resutls. Please accept my apologies for the noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The staff where helpful, location fairly convenient as was close to public transport. The hostel itself was predominantly clean (I did find my room dusty but I am sensitive to that), the rooms large. The bathrooms where not fantastic, but of adequate standard. Good communal spaces and a decent kitchen.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_traveler1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry L, General Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We appreciate your input and patronage. Thanks for the kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

i stayed three nights, i was helped with everything i asked for help with, the staff at the reception were friendly and informative, the staff in the kitchen were kind and friendly too. it was clean, safe, with many different rooms for different modes of 'hang out'.

the hostel was RIGHT NEXT to where the bolt bus drops you off, (and where all the other busses seem to originate from) and so close to the market, i walked and cycled everywhere. they stored my bike safely in the basement too.

you can get two very cheap and beautiful bus rides east and have a coffee and slice of cherry pie in the twin peaks diner where it was filmed. awesome.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank jah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry L, General Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind comments. We certainly appreciate the feedback. Cheers and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a perfect location for access to Link Light Rail from Airport, Bolt Bus, King St Train Station or bus transit centre. If you are planning to do what we did - arrive in the evening at the airport and catch the Link Light Rail into Seattle to stop overnight then catch the Bolt Bus out the next morning this is the perfect place to stop. Otherwise I would look for somewhere downtown.

We found the breakfast to be excellent - choice of coffee or tea, cereals, fruits, toast etc

The hostel was OK, but seemed like it needed some TLC and you would need to take the bus or train downtown from there.

Staff were OK but not the friendliest we'd met.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry L, General Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your detailed review. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hostel is very convenient located 1 min from the light rail station to Sea-Tac. Easy to catch a bus to and from downtown and surrounded by primarily Asian restaurants.
They provide a simple but nice breakfast which was surprising as we didn't expect much. The hostel is clean and safe.
Downside of our stay was the unfriendly and unhelpful staff. With check-in no explanation where we could find our room or even our room number. When asked what our room number was, the lady responded, like we could have know, "It's on the paper I just gave you"
It looked like we disturbed the staff in the middle of something and that we were a bother. Morning shift was the same thing so my assumption is that this is general practice.
All in all good value for money but don't expect a welcoming staff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry L, General Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments regarding the hostel. Very sorry you were disapointed with our staff. I will review this with all at the earliest convenience. Thanks again for your patronage. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
586 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

When I booked this hostel I wasn't sure I'd be crazy about the neighborhood. I had read some things that made it sounded like it wasn't in the safest part of town. Sure there are homeless people around but they're everywhere in Seattle. They'll ask for change and go on their way. They don't hassle you at all. This hostel is in the perfect location for getting around. Buses and the light rail are just across the street. Amtrak is a block away. You couldn't be better situated. There is an awesome Asian grocery store within three blocks for really fresh produce. If you're in town for a game, both the baseball and football stadiums are about a five minute walk. I really liked this place. Excellent kitchen. Free breakfast in the AM. Staff was mostly helpful, sometimes they seemed a little more interested in whatever they were doing online. But for me, that was a really minor issue. If anyone asks I wouldn't hesitate to suggest this place for a stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in private room so I can't speak for the dorms. On top floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry L, General Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks so much for the informative and detailed review. Travel safe and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Panama Hotel
Panama Hotel
#85 of 100 in Seattle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Pioneer Square
Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel

Property: Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel
Address: 520 S King St, Seattle, WA 98104-2834 (Formerly American Hotel)
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > International District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostelling International Seattle, Seattle’s premier hostel, which is conveniently located at the historic American Hotel in the International District of downtown Seattle.Renovated in 2009, Bicycle rentals, Common rooms, Computers (to check e-mail and the web, print boarding passes, etc.),Credit cards accepted,Discounts to Seattle attractions,Grocery store (one-block away), kitchen (self-serve), laundry, & library/game room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing