We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful venue and orchestra”
Review of Seattle Symphony

Seattle Symphony
Ranked #63 of 450 things to do in Seattle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a break and take in some Bach or Berlioz here.
Portsmouth
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Wonderful venue and orchestra”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We came acroos the SSO by accident whilst wandering around and bought tickets for Marvin Hamlisch's American Songbook.

We really enjoyed the evening and thought the hall was beautiful. Our one reservation was the amplification which was overdone. This was proved when the vocalist Brian Stokes Mitchell sang wonderfully well without his mike and the accompanying orchestral work was superb.
We wondered if the loudness encourages people to talk freely through a programme, which folk all around us did throughout the evening.

If you're in Seattle then do make a point of enjoying the SSO who are almost as good as our dear BBC Concert Orchestra!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank PortsmouthLegaleagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    42
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
713 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“American Songbook program is Broadway in Seattle”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Last night's Pops concert was fabulous. You would have to travel to NYC and go to Carnegie Hall to get this kind of a program, starring Brian Stokes Mitchell and led by Marvin Hamlisch.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank larrchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One of the best in the country, if not the world”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

And I'm not exaggerating. We've been to the symphony in 12 states and 6 countries and the Seattle Symphony could stand with all of them and outshines many of them. Benaroya Hall certainly contributes to their success as a quality venue does wonders, but they are fantastic in their own right. If you are even remotely a fan of the Symphony, I highly recommend that you give them a try at least once.
Also, we've sat in every area except the Founder's Tier and I can honestly say that there isn't a bad seat in the house. This venue and these artists rival any even the wonderful folks at Disney Hall in LA. I don't think you will be disappointed.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank rsqdvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Concerts!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Get a seat in the first or second balcony up close to the stage. Beautiful sounding hall.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Entertainment”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We are season ticket holders for the Pops Series. It's a highlight of our trips into Seattle.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seattle Symphony also viewed

 

Been to Seattle Symphony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing