We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the Needle”

Sky View Observatory
Ranked #8 of 448 things to do in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Santee, CA
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Better than the Needle”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I love the Space Needle for it's history, but the Columbia Observatory has a MUCH better view for much less money. Groupon had a 2 for 1 deal and my husband and I got in for just $12. The view is amazing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank riceburnergrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,382
    488
    70
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Go here for the view!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Forget the Space needle! Go here instead for the fraction of the cost, to boot! The views from the 76th floor are breathtaking.....massive windows, friendly attendants, and this site is much taller than the Space Needle. You can actually see the Space Needle from the windows and it looks so small!

It does not take long to see everything and I think if you save your ticket you can enter again later that evening, for free, to see it at night. Maybe another poster can confirm this.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank triptik123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Columbia Center”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

If you want an amazing view of downtown Seattle, this is where you need to go. The building is 76 stories high with an observation deck on the 73rd floor. While you can go to the Space Needle and get a great view of Seattle, the view from this building is simply amazing. There are large windows almost all around and on a clear day, as it was when we went in 2012, it was panoramic.
The price was more than reasonable, in 2012, as it cost us $15 for me and my wife.
Some of the photos I have included were taken from the Starbucks they have on the 70th floor (I think), but even those are awesome.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RRICGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Our second day in Seattle we stumbled on this lil gem. Well at 76 floors not so little. We were able to get a group on deal for two for 12.50 which normally is the cost of each. We walked from our hotel early in the morning and by the time we arrived it had opened (10am) just looking up from the outside showed the sheer talness of this building. .we entered and took our first elevator to the 40th floor, the elevators are very roomy and very clean, at the 40th we had to switch to another elevator that took us to the 73rd floor. This is where the observation deck is, it is enclosed with huge glass panes all the way around. The view of Seattle is amazing ! we were over a low bank of clouds that covered some of the city, but you can see for miles ..we could see as far as mount Ranier and could make out with ease the mountain ranges in the distance. This is a must see you will not be disappointed. . Make sure you take your camera.

Helpful?
1 Thank psoord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to see the City!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Nothing to dislike... It overlooks the entire city and on a clear day you can see all the mountains that surround the city. You also look down at the space needle from here, so this is the place to go if you want to be way up there!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sky View Observatory also viewed

 

Been to Sky View Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing