We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOHAI is MO'WONDERFUL”

Museum of History & Industry
Ranked #21 of 440 things to do in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Museum of History & Industry (MOHAI) is dedicated to enriching lives by preserving, sharing and teaching the diverse history of Seattle, the Puget Sound region and the nation.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“MOHAI is MO'WONDERFUL”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

For young at heart as well as young in age (5+)... So much to see, to learn... Colorful, engaging, educational... not just the history of Seattle, MOHAI contains the history of the United States in this small footprint of a building on the waterfront. Soon it will also have the winner of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation’s new approach to world’s poop problem: Toilet 2.0. Plan at least 1-2 hours, take a break, come back for another hour or more. Yes, it is that interesting! http://www.mohai.org/exhibits

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank smileysur54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    202
    45
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great taste of Seattle”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent several hours here with my parents (age 75). We thought it was incredibly interesting & beautifully designed. I would strongly recommend it to your out of town guests. It's a great introduction to Seattle and makes locals feel proud of this amazing city.
Teens and kids would probably get bored, so definitely for the over 21 crowd. Take a picnic and sit outside by the little sailboat pond and watch the float planes land on Lake Union.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArdenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“My favorite museum ever!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I loved the Celluloid gallery but the entire museum is so hands-on. I took my adult niece who was visiting from out of state and had little interest in Seattle history and she loved it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LarrysMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
192 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 489 helpful votes
“Interesting for adults, but not the kiddies”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

As members, we made our first visit to MOHAI yesterday and had mixed feelings. We liked the large number of displays and the addition of a cafe. The location on the shore of Lake Union is stunning. But, the new museum is kid boring; we found only two hands on exhibits (hammering nails into railroad ties and the periscope). Personally, I always checked out the room of photographs in the old museum. Alas, sadly, this had been dropped in the new space. The organization of rooms and displays can be confusing. There are so many little cubbyholes that the flow of the displays was lost on us. We failed to get the story being told by the displays. Finally, and this is temporary, the street construction fixing the Mercer Mess makes it difficult access parking. We knew this going there and were not put off by the three attempts we made before we actually entered the lot. Some day this will be fixed. For now, it is imperative to check out the website for directions, carry a street map, and read all the signs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FredPurdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A stroll down memory lane”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a collection of history of Seattle. There are many items to tug at your memory if you have visted, or been a resident of Seattle, in the last 50 years, or so. There are static displays as well as interactive things to do for children.
The museum is 3 stories of memorabilia, with room for expansion. It's well worth a visit, for something different to do.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bet711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of History & Industry also viewed

 

Been to Museum of History & Industry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing