We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alki Tours Groups”

Museum of History & Industry
Ranked #20 of 438 things to do in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Museum of History & Industry (MOHAI) is dedicated to enriching lives by preserving, sharing and teaching the diverse history of Seattle, the Puget Sound region and the nation.
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Alki Tours Groups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

As a local tour operator, we use the Museum of History & Industry as part of our tours. Always a big hit! - Alki Tours

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeattleTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    198
    45
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't miss this museum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

MOHAI's new location is a pain to get to, and worth every minute of the time it takes to get there and park. The new exhibits are well laid out, very thoughtfully presented, and include something to interest everyone in the family. Much thought has gone into the interactive exhibits for children, and we will be returning often. I've always liked the museum; now I love it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeattleAvidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

MOHAI is off the beaten path. It has lots of things for children -- interactive exhibits. It is also fascinating as the rotating exhibits explain the history of Seattle. However, if I only had a few days in Seattle, I would skip it. This is for people with time to spend or who live in Seattle. It's location on South Lake Union is a plus. The kids love watching the water planes take off and land. The food in the cafeteria is not great and a new vendor would be nice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seattletravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stuffed with interesting artifacts, clever depictions if events, and lots if movies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Finally went with the kids on a rainy afternoon. We only did about a third of the museum because they were getting cranky. But we're pleasantly surprised at how fun it was! Much was told in first person anecdotes, there were cool interactive exhibits, and the layout kept you moving along. Everything from pop culture, engineering, immigration issues, computers and movies. Exhibits had a touch if Seattle snark to them (don't miss the movie about the great fire!) Kept the kids (4 & 7) entertained despite their moods. The little cafe has a nice selection of options too, the cookies helped get over the grumps.

Most children are free and the admission isn't too steep for adults. And, get this, hardly any gift shop! But the one that is there features many locally made products.

On a nice day, can also enjoy the beautiful park and lake.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KCRidihalgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“First time visitor to a Seattle wonder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spent nearly three visiting this museum in its new location at South Lake union in downtown Seattle. We could have spent longer. We did not try the small cafe located on the ground floor. There was a small gift shop. The videos of scenes of movies and TV shows that featured Seattle were terrific and eye opening. I learned a lot about the city that I didn't know even after living here for 38+ adult years.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of History & Industry also viewed

 

Been to Museum of History & Industry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing