We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Butterflies were cool”

Pacific Science Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.75*
and up
Pacific Science Center General Exhibit Admission
Ranked #26 of 444 things to do in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Pacific Science Center ignites curiosity in every child and fuels a passion for discovery, experimentation, and critical thinking in all of us. Get hands-on in our Tinker Tank maker space, wander among fluttering tropical butterflies, immerse yourself in a giant-screen IMAX film, explore distant galaxies and meet local scientists and researchers. Don't miss a show in our popular Laser Dome that features a brand new laser system filling the dome with vibrant light and color! Every visit to Pacific Science Center is unique, engaging and fun for adults and children alike. In addition to our daily live science demonstrations, IMAX films, planetarium and laser shows, we feature traveling exhibits that vary throughout the year. Coming up we'll feature Terracotta Warriors of the First Emperor (April 8-September 4, 2017). Discover this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to investigate the scientific underpinnings of one of the greatest archaeological discoveries of our time: the terracotta warriors. Delve into the science and technology of priceless artifacts, behold real figures from the terracotta army and unearth the mystery hidden in the tomb of the First Emperor.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Butterflies were cool”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Would be great if you had kids. We didn't have much time here. We saw one of the IMAX movies, which was ok. Enjoyed the butterfly house. Keep an eye out for the blue one

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kerri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    434
    211
    121
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A cool way to spend a few hours in the summer”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We chose to go to the Pacific Science Center after spending the morning at Woodland Park Zoo. Our thought was that it would offer a cool place to explore during the hottest point during the day. Our daughters, ages 14 and 11 enjoyed jumping from exhibit to exhibit and trying all the hands on activities. Mom and Dad participated a little bit, but enjoyed that there were plenty of places to sit down and observe as the kids explored.

This is a medium sized science museum and it's obviously that parts (like the mechanical dinosaurs) are very dated and other parts have been recently updated. It made for a cool and entertaining afternoon. We were able to see everything that interested us in a few hours.

Parking here is in a garage next to the Science Center and isn't cheap (like the rest of downtown) however, you could easily park once and see the museum, the Chilluy Museum and the Space Needle all at the same time.

Overall I don't need a second visit here - but the kids enjoyed it and while not a highlight of the trip we certainly thought it was worth our time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jubeefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun for Younger Children”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

As others have mentioned, the PSC is currently undergoing some renovations. The outdoor fountain / water features were drained and empty. But we didn't go there to see and experience the outside. We went for the interactive and hands-on exhibits for the kids. Our boys are 6 and 8 and had a blast. The insect area was cool, and included a bee hive enclosed in plastic casing so you could (safely) see the bees working. There's also a greenhouse enclosure you can enter with lots of live butterflies. I got to hold a Russian hissing cockroach, which is something you don't experience every day! We enjoyed the tornado 3D IMAX movie. At the exit area of the theater, there's a large room with lots of interactive stations where kids can make paper airplanes, play with speech synthesizers, make a stop motion movie, create crafts from multiple crafting materials, explore how different materials affect friction, and many other fun activities. The museum also had areas for exploring space, sea life, the body, music, and a few other subjects.

The live "shows" were cheesy although the kids seemed to enjoy them. And the dinosaur exhibit seemed old and outdated, but the kids didn't seem to mind that either. There's a cafe that's useful for getting snacks or even lunch. We stayed for about 4 hours and could have stayed longer - there were a few areas we just didn't have time to visit. This is a good museum for younger kids who like hands-on interactive exhibits. Teens would probably find it a bit boring. It's adjacent to the Space Needle so it's convenient to visit both on the same day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hands-on Science Fun!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My family returned this year to one of our favorite destinations, The Pacific Science Center in Seattle. The facility is a bit on the "tired" side and several parts were being repaired when we visited. This belies the excellence and interactivity of the exhibits. There is interesting activity for all ages, from toddlers to the adults. Admission and discount reciprocity from our hometown museum membership made this a frugal choice as well. Highly recommend!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank j0ytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place to take the kids”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

They have it all. Butterflies, Dinosaurs, Ocean Tides, you can even make your own movies. Take your time there is lots to see.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tedravelstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing